We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parliament House Hotel
Ranked #78 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

What a great little hotel, very nice lounge with lots of character and style. Very clean and a very comfortable bed in room 203 well decorated, mini bar and tea making all in all the room was large and could not fault it. Loads of hot water and a great power shower, and free tioletries. Very helpfull friendley staff at the front desk and in the dining room. A tasty well cooked breakfast with all the trimmings. I would recommend this hotel. But for drinkers it does not have a bar. The only let down was the pre theatre meal, fab lamb but you have to pay extra for mash potato and veg. Well done to you see you again soon JohnT.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

It seems a little harsh rating this hotel as average because there is nothing much wrong with it. One gets a decent room, decent service, decent breakfast. But then there is not a working lift, you can here others through walls doing their thing, (showering), dinner menu is limited and expensive. But all in all it works for a short stay if one wants somewhere in a quieter part of town yet not far to wander in. B&B is good value and the staff are very pleasant and accommodating. I would stay again but would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thehotelinspector33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is old fashioned looking but in a "meant to be" way. It had character and the room we were in was very spacious with lovely double windows. There is no lift so if you are on top floor it is quite a walk. Room was well equipped with nice toiletries, only complaints were water in sink very slow to run away and shower had to be up really high to get a decent heat. We were going to a show at the playhouse and hotel was perfect location for that and also omni centre, calton hill, bus and train stations and central bars and restaurants.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank ScotlandLJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here last night on business, had a single room which was more than adequate, although the bed was a little short (I'm only 5.4") and my feet were hanging off the end. Having said that the room was decorated to a good standard the bathroom was modern and very clean, shower was great. I ate in the restaurant and the food was good and hot. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Lin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Was given the job of finding hotel rooms for us and two friends from America over on a trip. Wanted to avoid the large, business type hotel, plus the really expensive hotels and also to avoid bed and breakfast places. This was an absolute gem of a find. Superb location just minutes walk from Waverley Station and Princes Street, Great value for money, clean and lovely rooms, great Scottish and continental breakfast, friendly staff. So close to the bustle but so quiet. Plus, just round the corner off street parking was found which was free from 6.30pm to 8.30am the next day and you could pay and display the night before to cover for an hour or two the following morning. We stayed two nights and it meant we had only to find parking for one 24 hour period rather than two. Perfect. We'll be back! Gill from Tamworth

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A lovely friendly hotel. Reception staff very welcoming and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable although quite hot. A great location for a weekend in Edinburgh. Breakfast very tasty and plenty of choice

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

While this hotel was a lovely hotel I don't think it is up to the £250 per night room tarif advertised at reception. The good things- location- food and quirkiness of building. Bistro staff were especially welcoming and congrats to the chef who made the best homemade burger I've ever tasted!!! Breakfast was also very tasty! The bed was big and clean and comfy but the room was incredibly wArm which I found was coming from the mini fridge. Opened the windows but had to wedge something in to keep it open. Also had I paid the full price I would've expected some shortbread or biscuits along with our tea/coffee facilities. Lovely lobby which you can enjoy a drink but no bar as such. All in all a good nights stay for what we paid but if the hotel do continue to charge full rate it needs little touches like shortbread in rooms, a proper bar and more on site facilities.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lee186527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,133 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
934 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
373 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament House Hotel

Address: 15 Calton Hill, Edinburgh EH1 3BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £62 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house in city center; guest rooms have been tastefully furnished in keeping with the character of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parliament House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Edinburgh
Parliament House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing