We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parliament House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Parliament House Hotel
Ranked #77 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Fabulous hotel, clean rooms, polite and helpful staff. Perfect breakfast with a good choice to choose from. Ideal place to stop, close to Waverley station, but just far enough away to nice and peaceful being tucked away at the top of the hill. Lovely view across to the sea from our room. Thank you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bootz8389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    465
    151
    27
    15
See reviews for
117
489
52
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in a good location - less than 5 mins to Princes street. Friendly staff who are happy to help with taxi bookings etc, and the rooms were comfortable and clean. Wouldn't recommend breakfast here as it's quite expensive and there are cheaper places to eat in Edinburgh town centre. I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank EllaJane1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I arrived late in the evening after an international flight. The hotel is located in an apparently quiet backstreet. The layout is rather confusing, with lots of steps and multiple levels. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for somebody with a mobility problem. The staff were friendly and the room clean, if a bit small. Details, like a shelf in the bathroom for toiletries, would have been useful. The hotel restaurant is a 'bistro'. To my amazement I found out that it closed at 9pm, 10 minutes after I arrived. I was served, but the staff were clearly in a hurry to close up. I have never encountered a hotel restaurant that closes before 10pm. Presumably the usual clientele go to bed early. The food was good though. Breakfast was a let down. Sachets of Alpen, prunes, and the like. I felt as if I had stepped back into the 1980s. Which I think sums up this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HJWesterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This historic hotel has nice and renovated rooms. It is also very well located, with walking distance from the Edimburgh Castle as well as the train station. Beds are very soft, which can be good or bad depending on where you stand. Staff is very nice. Only warning: the elevator has been decommissioned many years ago, so if you are on the 5th floor, this can be challenging for some.

Room Tip: Elevator has been decommissioned years ago. This can be challenging for those with lots of luggage o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights and will definitely stay here again next time we are in Edinburgh.
Although we didn't eat here at all, we found the staff to be helpful, the room was clean & well equipped... but the best thing was the bed... it has to be the most comfortable bed both my other half and myself had ever slept in!
The location is great, literally 2 mins walk and you are at Waverley Station.
The only slight downside was that our room overlooked the cobbled road and as we were on 1st floor we got some slight road noise as cars rumbled past, but nothing too much considering it's in a city centre location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeaSea1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

What a lovely hotel. Close to the train station, so no trudging through the streets with suitcase in tow. On arrival the reception staff were very welcoming, allowing us to leave our cases as we were early. The rooms were perfectly adequate for our needs. We had an evening meal deal for the first night, but had to leave before we had had time for our sweets as we had booked a tour. On getting back to the hotel a couple of hours later, the waiting staff and kitchen gave us our sweets, even though they were ready to go home. All the staff were friendly, chatty and could not do enough for us. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel on Saturday 1 march 2014. What a great little hotel and really central to the main parts of Edinburgh at Calton hill. The hotel is 3 stars but I have stayed in 4 stars that we're not as nice as this one. The manager was very knowledgeable about the area and was happy to provide local knowledge and guidance of Edinburgh. Rooms were fine in line with any other hotel I have stayed in. If you are planning a trip to Edinburgh look at this hotel the decor and atmosphere was a delight.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,173 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#80 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#49 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament House Hotel

Property: Parliament House Hotel
Address: 15 Calton Hill, Edinburgh EH1 3BJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house in city center; guest rooms have been tastefully furnished in keeping with the character of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Parliament House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Edinburgh
Parliament House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing