We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good....and bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parliament House Hotel
Ranked #77 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The good; clean, spacious rooms, a little worn, but not too bad. Breakfast was decent cooked to order. Very good location.
The bad; PARKING! We arrived after a 6 hour drive. The desk clerk was in a bad mood. Apparently he couldn't wait to leave. His explanation of where to park was, short, and exasperating. I asked him for a clearer description, to no avail. Two right turns and into the lot. Well, needless to say, I ended up across the street from where I supposed to go. Therefore, I had to pay full price, no hotel discount. The hotel made NO, ZERO, NADA, attempt to rectify the cost. I did get a half hearted, sorry.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TheRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

- Good value for money
- Good central loaction (if travelling by train leave Waverley station via the Calton hill exit, the hotel is 2 minutes away)
- Rooms were spacious and clean
- Good choice at breakfast, food was satisfactory

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a great wee hotel. I didn't even know it was there prior to staying. It is very close to all of Edinburgh's attractions. The rooms are lovely and well appointed. I ate in the restaurant both nights I was there and the food was very good. I was on a business trip but will definitely be back for pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toosoondeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Fabulous location close to the station. Room was very clean, bed was one of the best we had slept in. Ate in the restaurant and the food was amazing. Staff polite and helpful. Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I had this hotel booked for me by my work, so when I read the reviews I wondered (enough to bring a couple of bath sheets and a kettle). As it turns out, the towels are not just "hand towels" and are a perfectly reasonable size. There was a kettle in one desk drawer and a hair dryer in another. There is a mini-bar fridge I could keep milk in. The wifi works (although it asks you to agree to 'terms and conditions' you cannot see). The room is clean and reasonable in size -- not huge, but not tiny either -- and the bed is indeed softer than I would normally choose, but comfortable.

I loved having a fire burning in the lobby; that seems a nice touch.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant a few times, but found it pricey for what it was, and did not like that there was no option for a smaller breakfast, so ended up going elsewhere after the first couple of days. We did eventually get hold of the mysterious 'terms and conditions' for the internet. Nothing strange there except that no other guest had asked to see them, which is a little strange.

There is no parking. The nearest lot is down the hill (on a street parallel to Leith street). It is *not* at the building that says parking, but another couple hundred metres on. The big P is the pedestrian entrance. You might want detailed directions from the hotel clerk the first time! If I was without a car, I'd definitely stay here again. The car made it a little more difficult.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enzos1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

It was ok , staff friendly and welcoming, nice reception area and breakfast was good, bad points.....noises from the heating or boiler system made tapping noises all night in the room, stop serving food at 9pm so stuck if you arrive later, breakfast not included in the rate.

The room was small but adequate for what we needed, good location though.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jasminedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Fabulous hotel, clean rooms, polite and helpful staff. Perfect breakfast with a good choice to choose from. Ideal place to stop, close to Waverley station, but just far enough away to nice and peaceful being tucked away at the top of the hill. Lovely view across to the sea from our room. Thank you.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bootz8389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,548 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
891 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#74 of 151 in Edinburgh
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament House Hotel

Address: 15 Calton Hill, Edinburgh EH1 3BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £79 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house in city center; guest rooms have been tastefully furnished in keeping with the character of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parliament House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Edinburgh
Parliament House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing