We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parliament House Hotel
Ranked #78 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We have just come back from a long weekend at The Parliament House Hotel. Bearing in mind that we have booked in the low season the room rate was very good. The location is good ie at the Carlton Hill end of town about a 10 minute walk to the middle of Princes Street - 20 mins to the Grassmarket. The room was a reasonable size and looked like it had been refurbished within the last couple of years - we were on the ground floor so did not have to use lift or stairs. The decor in the rooms was a bit corporate but comfortable. We were on the street side of the hotel but it was quiet (although this may have been because it was also snowy and cars could not use easily) - the hotel in on a side street and so does not have a lot of traffic going past. There is a steep hill up to the hotel but this can be avoided by walking up Waterloo Place (follows on from Princess Street) and turning left into the road from the top. The staff were very friendly providing maps etc and responded well to any queries. The breakfast is good - it was included in our room rate - there is continental which is cereals, chese and meat plate, lots of fruit (ie soft fruit and yoghurt) and then toast tea etc. Also there is full Scottish which is porridge, bacon sausages, potato scone, tomatoes, mushrooms etc , a vegetarian version or smoked haddock with poached egg or kippers. The food was very nice although a bit slow coming out of the kitchen sometimes but hey you are on holiday ! There is a reception area which also serves as a bar area with fires and comfy seats which was wlecoming, there is also a restaurant called MP's (which is where breakfast was served) - we did not try this as too many other choices in Edinburgh. Hotel has free wifi which I used and which I found was fine. Overall found the hotel very good.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glynandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 859 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2010

hotel is old but still retains some character , staff very friendly and most helpful
rooms clean and comfortable nice quite location would definately use again
the breakfsat was superb and worth the money

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davis56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

We found this hotel very old fashioned but in a good location. Although our room was ready to check in at 10am staff wasn't helpfull at all. The lady on the desk directed us to our room telling us to follow the signs. After 5 minutes going up and downstairs we finally found it. Note that the lift doesn't take you to every floor so you will need to take a spiral staircase.
On departure we asked if they could look after our bags till late in the afternoon and the receptionist showed us a corner in the lobby and told us to leave them there - not even tagged and in a public area, not very safe.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quincho_Argentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Just got back from a lovely weekend staying at this hotel, tucked away on quiet side street, 5 min walk from the city centre,we didn't hear any noise. Rooms are big and comfortable, tea and coffee making facilities in each room. Breakfast was included as we were on a package trip, full scottish cooked breakfast and continental breakfast are available although quite pricy, cooked to order, nice start to the day. Restaurant was always busy, but we didnt eat there so cannot comment on the food. Waverley Station is close by.If you are looking for a nice cosy hotel that is quiet but to for away from the all the attractions of the city then give it a try. One small warning this hotel has 5 floors but the lift only goes to floor 3,steps rest of the way,so if you cannot climb stairs ask for a room on the first 3 floors. Overall a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redheadWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

I was moved here for 1 night because of maintenance issues at my booked hotel. The hotel and furbishings are old but in decent condition. Never having stayed in a 'character' hotel before, I have nothing to compare it to. However, I very much enjoyed it and the small restaurant in the basement (really). The room was small but the bed was comfy and the shower had great pressure. The restaurant served a decent steak and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sir67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

At the top of a quiet lane, in a not so quiet city is the Parliament House Hotel. The restaurants and bars of the city are only 5 minutes walk away. Talking of which, after a victory by the Scottish rugby team the bars were absolutely buzzing!

Back to the hotel now, the rooms were bigger and better than I expected and very modern with bath, shower, TV, Tea making facilities etc. Not that I spent much time there as I wanted to explore the city.

I took breakfast in the hotel (full Scottish) and experienced haggis for the first time. There was a good choice of continental items to accompany breakfast (croissants, toast, pastries etc).

I'd like to return to Edinburgh one day and hopefully stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan_Sin_Kween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We arrived in from Dublin very early in the morning, the staff we very good at taking in our bags until lunch time even tho they were busy checking people out. The lobby was cosy and welcoming. We went back later that afternoon to check in - we were sent to the J section of the hotel - spiral staircase, no assistance offered - not a major problem, but it would have been nice. Our room was small, very basic, but adequate. But oh my goodness the bathroom!!! It was truly dreadful, filthy paintwork, black marks on the floor where it hadn't been properly mopped, mould of various hues on tiles, sliding shower door obviously had not been taken off for cleaning in years. Bath panel paintwork gone black. There was something sticking out from under the bath panel, which I had to remove with a tissue - it was matted hair and dirt. UGH!! The net curtains in the bedroom and the bathroom were dirty and the blind in the bathroom window didn't work I thought that perhaps these rooms were reserved for specific cost rates and that we must have got a particularly cheap rate for this hotel. I asked the receptionist if different rooms incurred different rates and she assured me they didn't. I explained that the bathroom was dirty and could she move us. This.was not possible as they didn't have any other rooms available and that she would request a 'deep clean' in our bathroom the following day and a discount. When we returned the following day we could smell bleach and some of the mould on the tile grouting had been removed, but all the other dirt remained. As we were only there for 2 nights there was no point in complaining further. There was no discount on our bill either, we didn't pursue it. The location here is great, but would only go back ior recommend to others if we were sure it would be clean>

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#32 of 151 in Edinburgh
365 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#62 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,339 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,633 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament House Hotel

Address: 15 Calton Hill, Edinburgh EH1 3BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £68 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house in city center; guest rooms have been tastefully furnished in keeping with the character of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parliament House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Edinburgh
Parliament House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing