We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room and terrible breakfast”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #10 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small room and terrible breakfast”
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My friend and I stayed in the hotel from wednesday to sunday. I wanted a hotelroom with breakfast included with the room. The information on net said it was included. When we arrived the frontdesk informed us that breaksfast was not included, because we had paid in advanced, and it was a cheap bargain. I paid about £ 350 for 4 nights and did not think that this was very cheap. We ordered breakfast one morning, and it was the most terrible breakfast ever. We ordered fried bacon, eggs and tomato. It did not taste good. We dont recomend it to anyone, and it was very expencive. The room was on the top floor, and it was very small, and the beds very hard. It is strange how they put their stars. The room was clean. From Norway

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norway1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotel, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Thank you for your comments, which as always we do find helpful to refine our service. I am terribly sorry that your experience with us was less than satisfactory. With regards to the confusion over breakfast this is Expedias mistake in their online marketing of our hotel, I was not aware that they were not specifying that our advance purchase rate was excluding breakfast. I have since spoken to our account manager and the situation is being rectified.

With regards to your breakfast I apologise for the low standard of the cooked food, this is not usual for our hotel, we pride ourselves on our excellent breakfasts and sourcing the best local produce for it. I have spoken to the breakfast chef in question and he is being retrained by the head chef to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you again for you comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    328
    81
    25
    16
See reviews for
148
838
72
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Stayed here 24/25 march 2011 staff brill,hotel location fab,room brill,this hotel is only 5mins walk from the haymarket station,asked staff questions nothing was a problem.The room was lovely an clean with a great bathroom and a large double bed.Breakfast must be one of the best we every had,get full english well worth it.We had a meal in the sister hotel across the road lovely,definitely go back no probs we had a great 2 nights.

Sue/Steve.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooteyHulluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

It doesn't have many rooms, being as it is a converted residence. What it does is concentrate all the good stuff into a smaller space.

We stayed here around our wedding and were quite delighted with our room. It was in excellent repair and spotlessly clean. We had a four poster and the other furniture was in period keeping with the whole.

Breakfast was very good and the hotel bar was very well appointed for it's diminutive scale.

Being only a 10 minute bus ride from the heart of the town it is also vefy conveniently situated.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkBegbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in February and were impressed with the Dunstane City. It's spotless throughout - their cleaner is obviously meticulous in her work - well done !. We booked a superior room which had a nice seating area and huge TV. Room was well planned with plenty of conveniently placed electric sockets in sensible areas (i.e near the wall mirror) - How often I've been in hotels who place their mirror on the wall furthest from the socket making blowdrying hair into something half presentable a real challenge! We found all staff to be friendly, efficient and helpful - a good team . Breakfasts were of a good standard. Easy 5 minute walk to Haymarket Rail Station . The Bus stops right outside the Dunstane City and Dunstane House. Taxis can be easily hailed from outside the hotel. We had a drink in lounge of the sister hotel which is directly across the road - ( the Dunstane House) on the first night. Not perhaps the most impressive of lounges I guess but pleasant enough. We also had a meal in their Skerries restaurant on the second evening and were extremely impressed by the excellent choice, the standard of the food and the professionalism of the staff - The Manager? recommended scallops for the main course and he wasn't wrong - it was an exceptional main course. Probably best to book for the Skerries as it's diningroom isn't huge. We hadn't booked and were lucky to get the last table on a Saturday night. We wouldn't hesitate to return to the Dunstane City and would also readily consider staying in the Dunstane House across the road. These hotels are great if, like us, you don't want to stay right in the claustrophobic and noisy city centre but want to be able to reach it quickly and easily from the lovely Corstorphine area of Edinburgh. It made for a nice escape from the hustle and bustle of a day in the city centre. It really is very easy to get into the city centre (maybe 15 minutes if walking). We hailed taxis easily from right ouside the hotel a couple of times and they were roughly £6 to £9 to go into the Royal Mile - depending on the time of day/night. However, the buses run into the city every few minutes and the train station is a five minute walk from the hotel with regular trains from Haymarket Station to the City Centre.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fyrishsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotel, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Thank you very much for your comments about Dunstane City. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to suit your needs. I hope your comments are helpful to other customers and we hope to welcome you again to Dunstane City in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

A really great 4 star small hotel in a great location, the rooms are of large hotel quality but with the impersonality. Food is very good for dinner and breakfast, staff are very nice.
Can't say enough nice about the hotel. Free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArcfireSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed here with my wife for a weekend break, I found this hotel and booked based on some of the very good reviews on TA. therefore I will try and be objective in my review as this is the only fair way to do this..

positives - the hotel is spotless, inexpensive in comparison to some and nicely decorated in a modern style, towels, sheets and linen was all fresh and of good quality, freshly cooked breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, convenient for rail stations and busses, good for Rugby I should think.

negatives - standard double room was quite small. the restaurant / breakfast area is a bit small to cope when the hotel is full. The hotel is portrayed as "city" buts its not that close, you will end up getting a taxi or bus to town otherwise you will be knackered!! the bar closes too early.

We quite enjoyed our stay here, and there were no real negatives but we were looking for a special place to return to regularly but it just seemed to "miss", others may well love it and it will meet your exact requirements

I think my main gripe was that the breakfast area is not really big enough to cope when the hotel is full, and we had to wait for a table to become available, also the reception desk is in the restaurant and personally I dont want to hear / see people checking in and out approx 4 feet from me whilst I am trying to eat my breakfast. just a niggle I know but pretty irritating..

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel if a clean inexpensive place to stay is your main criteria as it does everything very well for not much money..It didnt however quite make it to one of my "special" places that I would return to again

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JangoFettl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

We booked this hotel the evening before we went. Our immediate reaction to walking inside the hotel was wow- a beautifully decorated chic boutique hotel. The location of the Hotel was excellent- just a few minutes walk or a couple of minutes bus ride to the City centre-and the bus stop was right outside the hotel. We booked a double room-room 215 which was very quiet to the rear of the property on the lower ground floor. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean with a modern fully tiled bathroom. For the guests' convenience- hairdryer, iron and ironing board and tea and coffee making facilities were provided in the room along with of course a TV. Our room was cleaned daily.

Breakfast was served in the reception/lounge/bar/breakfast area. The breakfasts were delicious! Again the decor of the room was lovely. We had a nightcap from the bar each night-a great end to the busy day. The staff were very helpful and friendly and made our stay very pleasant.

The Dunstane House Hotel opposite provided evening meals if required. We enjoyed a very tasty meal on our first night. Also in the immediate area are more restaurants and pubs to eat nearby, within walking distance without going into town.

Buses into the City (bus stop outside the Dunstane Hotel- straight outside on the other side of the road)- Buses 12, 26 and 31 arrive every few minutes-single journey into the city £1.20 each way or if you are going to make a few journeys then the £3.00 day rider will work out cheaper.

All in all an excellent Hotel-great location and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyBDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,123 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,834 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Property: The Dunstane Hotel
Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful corner of Edinburgh’s West End, a short walk from Haymarket and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, The Dunstane Houses is an independent, 35-bedroom boutique hotel spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Dating back to 1865, but inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, the family-run hotel combines heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors throughout Dunstane House and public ares of Hampton House have been stylishly redesigned to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. The newly opened Ba’ Bar & Lounge specialises in food made with local, seasonal Scottish produce from small suppliers, and hosts relaxed but refined all-day dining, including daily afternoon tea. It offers a wide range of fine wines, craft beers, artisanal spirits and one of the most extensive rare-whisky selections in the city, with more than 70 varieties in its vintage wall cabinet. All rooms include free WiFi, large Samsung smart TVs, Egyptian cotton bedlinens and ensuites with Noble Isle products, and many Dunstane House rooms include Nespresso coffee machines, hand-made Vispring beds and Roberts digital radios. Five unique and spacious suites are located in Dunstane House, with dramatic features such as four-poster beds, freestanding copper roll-top baths in the bedroom, or sweeping views over the Edinburgh cityscape. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing