We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place just a bit far”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #13 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good place just a bit far”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is an old mansion converted and has a lot of steps and all rooms are odd and fun and comfy. The staff are wonderful, helpful, funny, and responsive. It is about 30 minute walk to the center, but the JOY is that the bus stop is right in front of the hotel. AND also the bus from the airport! Also, out of the noise of the city (especially at festival), with a relaxing bar and good conversation! AND picnic tables out front so can SUN in the glorious Scotland weather.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMN_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    322
    78
    25
    16
See reviews for
139
816
67
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Quaint and dated, but great customer service. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmh8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Before my trip to Edindurgh took place, my main concern was where would i stay?
i went through reviews of many hotels before Dunstane City caught my eye, and from checking their website, i knew right then that's where i would like to stay. i booked immediately!

Upon arrival, the staff lived up to their name. Many reviews commented on how friendly and helpful the staff were. My experience was no different.

I could not fault my room at all! It was very clean. I had fantastic night sleeps on the bed.

I didn't have any problems with the location of the hotel as transportation in Edinburgh is second to none. many buses went straight into the city centre, better still, the bus stop was directly outside the hotel. and for the not so lazy people, it is only around a ten minute walk to the city centre.

I'd like to conclude by saying a sincere thank you and dziękuję to all the staff that made my stay very enjoyable.

i hope to see you all in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kent t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The airport bus stops right in front of the hotel. The city centre is a pleasant walk during the day - or short bus ride after a tiring day. So a real city hotel, but yet with the completely relaxed atmosphere of a countryside place. Our room was spacious and pleasantly decorated in a traditional style, in line with the overall feeling of the hotel.

If you want a little stroll after dinner, just turn right around the corner and find your way down to the river gorge where the Water of Leith will flush away any remaining city stress.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear - we had number 8 - are very quiet. I slept better than at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joris015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
394 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 673 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We came to Edinburgh for the Royal Tattoo and stayed three nights. We chose Dunstane City Hotel because of the good reviews on Booking.com and the availability of parking. It cost £627 for three nights bed and breakfast. We were shown to a comfortable room at the front of the house which is not a hotel but a large bed and breakfast establishment. There are no public areas or facilities. Luckily the room was of a good size. However there is no wi-fi in this room (202). There is wi-fi in the breakfast room which is locked except at breakfast time! A minor inconvenience. This was initially mentioned to reception but they were unable to fix it whilst we were there. Breakfasts were OK and only spoiled by the absence of butter for the toast - a substitute known as "Country Life - British Spreadable" is freely available. Margarine however is not butter, even in Scotland!

Dunstane City Hotel is convenient for parking and buses into town. We walked everywhere and there are plenty of pubs, restaurants, etc., at the nearby Haymarket Station area. Outside of the Edinburgh Festival/Tattoo season, prices here come down and probably represent much better value than we experienced. Without the need for car parking, there are many cheaper options.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandonDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotel, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. As always we use our guest feedback to improve the service that we provide. As a direct result of your comments we now no longer lock our reception area when the girls go to housekeeping. It used to be locked between 12pm and 3pm (please note it has always been open in the evening, late afternoon and morning for drinks and a guest lounge). As an alternative we have decided to leave it open to guest access for the televisions and lounge area.
I hope this will help enhance future guest experiences.

With regards to the pricing you are correct throughout most of the year we offer special deals and packages that are great money saving offers for customers. Unfortunately in August to remain competitve our prices do increase but they still remain on a par with the rest of Edinburgh Hotels. Just to clarify also so no future guests are mis-informed, we are a four star townhouse hotel (ranked and approved by Visit Scotland) not a B&B as we do provide a higher quality of service and a higher standard of rooms. Guests are more than welcome to use our sister hotel's facilities also (situated directly opposite) there we have a larger bar to compliment to City Hotel's smaller residents bar, A la Carte restaurant and more lounge areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We choose this place to stay in as we needed parking, which can be quite difficult and expensive to find in Edinburgh. Our visit to Edinburgh was to take in the Tattoo and we had no need of the car during our visit. By arriving early in the day we managed to park the car.
This is a small expensive B/B across the road from perhaps its sister/mother hotel. The menu for that hotel was available to us in our bedroom. While the room we had was comfortable and spacious, no other hotel facilities were available on the premises eg reception, bar, food. (I don't do room service!) The reception was in a locked room and we were dealt with promptly on arrival, and shown to our room. The reception area also served as the bar and the breakfast room and the only time it seemed to be open was at breakfast/checkout time.
It is about 20 minutes walk from Princes St so is well situated for visiting the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayfarer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sodertalje, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We really enjoyed our long weekend stay in Edinburgh and our wonderful room (No 2) at Dunstane House Hotel. We do really recommend this hotel (Room No 2) for any couple wanting a romantic weekend. The hotel is a 10 min for downtown city center and it's a nice refreshing walk after a dinner in town. It's a small hotel (some 16 rooms only) with all its charm coming with that.

Room Tip: Room No 2 with a heavinly four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pholof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,730 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Property: The Dunstane Hotel
Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful corner of Edinburgh’s West End, a short walk from Haymarket and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, The Dunstane Houses is an independent, 35-bedroom boutique hotel spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Dating back to 1865, but inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, the family-run hotel combines heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors throughout Dunstane House and public ares of Hampton House have been stylishly redesigned to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. The newly opened Ba’ Bar & Lounge specialises in food made with local, seasonal Scottish produce from small suppliers, and hosts relaxed but refined all-day dining, including daily afternoon tea. It offers a wide range of fine wines, craft beers, artisanal spirits and one of the most extensive rare-whisky selections in the city, with more than 70 varieties in its vintage wall cabinet. All rooms include free WiFi, large Samsung smart TVs, Egyptian cotton bedlinens and ensuites with Noble Isle products, and many Dunstane House rooms include Nespresso coffee machines, hand-made Vispring beds and Roberts digital radios. Five unique and spacious suites are located in Dunstane House, with dramatic features such as four-poster beds, freestanding copper roll-top baths in the bedroom, or sweeping views over the Edinburgh cityscape. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing