We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This must be a boutique hotel - a hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #14 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This must be a boutique hotel - a hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times and the standard improves year after year. My recent visit last month was a wonderful experience. From the moment i arrived at the front door and saw the outstanding classic interior, i knew i was in for a more than confortable and restful stay in this opulant establishment. It would appear that the whole hotel has been refurbished to a magnificent standard and i stayed in one of the newly created room/suite. What a tasteful and individual rooom it was. Breakfast was perfect in my view and i look forward to my next visit.

Ian Brown

Room Tip: Ask for the one of the newly created bedrooms that have just become available from feburary 2012
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    317
    75
    24
    16
See reviews for
135
797
66
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Dunstane City hotel for 2 nights to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and it was a treat!! I am very choosy (clean clean clean!) and was not disappointed, the room (and hotel) was beautifully decorated, just my cup of tea. The service was excellent, the staff ever so helpful and always very smiley. We had taken the 'Romance' package and the bed was nicely 'rose petaled' and the chocolates / champagne we excellent! Great meal at The Skerries Restaurant on the Friday night, good locally sourced produce. Breakfasts were generous (served in our room!) and with good selection of hot and cold. Bus stops immediately outside the hotel allowing ease of access to the city centre, frequent service. Free on-site parking.

Brilliant, couldn't ask for anything more!! I recommend you give this place a try, it was fabulous, we will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Large Superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotel, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Hi There

Thanks so much for your lovely comments about the hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your anniversary was a memorable one.

We are very lucky with our Housekeeping team they are excellent and keep the hotels to very high standards indeed. I am pleased that this was evident to you.

You are correct it is well worth the extra for the superior rooms!

Hope to welcome you again soon

Samantha Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We normally stay in the centre of Edinburgh, but had to change our arrangements. This is the first time we have stayed in the Dunstane City and we were very impressed with it. Very helpful staff and very quiet despite being so near Murrayfield on a busy weekend. Ended up eating with friends across the road in the Skerries Restaurant which is well worth a visit. Will be back!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor so couldn't comment on other rooms, but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotel, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Hi there

Thanks very much for choosing to stay with us last weekend. Sometimes it is worth coming that little bit further out of the centre for some peace and quiet!

I am glad you tried our restaurant, we have recently had it refurbished and we have new chefs and new menus so any feedback is very welcome

Kind Regards

Samantha Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have just come back from the Scotland v France game and this hotel was fantastic. The decor is boutique style and even though the hotel was catering for corporates for the match the staff were very attentive. We had the ground floor room by the front door, which had a jacuzzi, we were never disturbed with noise. Breakfast great, dinner in sister restaurant across the road fantastic, everyone friendly, would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes Devon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as we’d come to see the 6 Nations Rugby and as we’d never been to Edinburgh, decided to stay a few days. The hotel was ideal for Murrayfield being only 10 minutes walk. It was quite expensive as of course everything goes up in price quite drastically for rugby weekend. It’s a good hotel, very clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful with info about places to go, buses, etc. Our room was clean and nicely decorated with good facilities and a good size bathroom but as it was a smallish basement room, with a view of a wall, we found it a little bit claustrophobic. It was also a bit difficult to find the right temperature as the room was boiling when we arrived and even after turning the heat right down, it was still a bit stuffy at night. Breakfast was excellent with everything you could possibly want, although on the morning after the rugby when the hotel was busier the tables were a bit too close together for my liking. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel as it’s very near to all the sights. Just one little thing, when I booked online it says that room amenities include coffee and selected teas and scrumptious cookies. Whilst we had the coffee and selected teas, there was unfortunately no sign of any scrumptious cookies!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hailesTotnesDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed for a weekend and found the room and service excellent. Great meal at The Skerries Restaurant - with good locally sourced produce. Breakfasts were generous and with good selection of hot and cold. Bus stops immediately outside the hotel allowing ease of access to the city centre. Buses were frequent and arrived when the electronic signboard said they would. Staff were also helpful with local information and warnings of things to be careful of ie transport re-routing due to tram works. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Our room at the back was very quiet, could not even hear the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

The hotel has just been renovated and they have done a superb job, the new bedrooms are out of this world especially the blue room. The bar area and the whole entrance has been done to a very high standard. The food is exceptional and would recommend hotel to stay in when visiting Edinburgh. The staff and owner are very friendly and are extremely helpful. The bus service is second to none, bus stop right outside the hotel. If you fancy walking to city centre it will take about 15 mins. All in all it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Property: The Dunstane Hotel
Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunstane dates all the way back to 1852 to a design of William Playfair, one of Edinburgh's most famous architects. Now a boutique hotel privately-owned and managed by Derek and Shirley Mowat, each of our bedrooms offers a fresh take on country house charm. You can look forward to restful nights in four-poster beds with subtle accents of current style. Or stretch out king-size and enjoy all the period details and in-room features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing