We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value hotel”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #14 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great value hotel”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

When I couldn't get into the hotel we'd chosen I was so glad to be offered the Dunstane! It was immaculately clean, staff were warm and welcoming with a friendly check in by a young chap. We were given an upgrade to room 205 which is right at the entrance to the hotel. Did hear some coming and going but nothing to complain about. Room was spotless with very thick curtains which did a great job of keeping the very early rising sun out. The only thing I could say is I rather fitted sheets along with a top sheet but that is a personal preference. The bed was comfortable. Great big bathroom with a spa bath which looked quite new. We ate at the hotel's restaurant across the road and I had the best steak I've had in a long time. Being quite tired the next night after a big day sightseeing we ate there again and were not disappointed. A drink in the garden before dinner was very relaxing. Would I stay here again, definitely if I am lucky enough to be in beautiful Edinburgh again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pud653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    320
    78
    24
    16
See reviews for
137
809
66
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

A weekend with my son, visiting Edinburg – the hotel was much nicer than what I expected.

Small but stylish, clean, very nice staff and walking distance from old town and the castle. Restaurant and bar – very nice; however, you will not get special treatment because you are a guest at the hotel, so reserve a table before you go exploring the city. You will not regret the day and the evening meal will be a wonderful end to your day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZbigKos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotel, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our experience with us and that you would consider returning to us in the future. I am glad you managed to get a table in the restaurant. We do try to make sure all guests get first priority on tables so we offer them on check in to the hotel otherwise we do open up to outside customers too so just let us know if you want to dine and we will be sure to keep a table for you!

Thanks

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Beautiful place, walking distance to downtown, right next to a bus stop for further travel, friendly staff!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeymoonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We've just come back from a 3 night stay at Dunstane House Hotel and I have to say that the hotel is beautiful. We had booked a deluxe double and it really was stunning with a four poster bed, a big bay window with a couple of armchairs in it and masses of space. The hotel has retained a lot of it's original features, high ceilings still have the decorative cornices and the decor is very tasteful and in keeping with the period of the hotel. It's easy to relax in The Stanes Bar where there are over 75 different whiskeys and then move on into the Skerries restaurant for a really high quality meal. The whole of the hotel is spotlessly clean and the lovely Molton Brown toiletries in the rooms are a nice touch. It's in a great location for the city with very regular buses which go from right outside the door. It takes about 10 minutes to get into town but equally the walk into the city is easy if you're feeling energetic. I couldn't write this review without also mentioning the great team at the hotel. They are all helpful and will go out of their way to help. Alan the multi-tasking barman is a great laugh and again is very knowledgeable about local restaurants and the best places to eat if you fancy a change from the hotel restaurant. Sadly he is leaving at the end of this week so won't be there next time we visit, which we definitely will be doing!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elspeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotel, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Hi there

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about the hotel. I am delighted that the room was to your liking and that you were impressed with our restaurant. We will be sorry to see Alan go but I am confident that you can expect the same level of service from our other staff on your next visit!

See you soon!

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stopped here for 2 nights this month and it was such an enjoyable hotel to stay in. We received a free upgrade to the newly furbished 'Blue room' and were delighted with the standard it gave us. As well as a huge bed, which was incredibly comfortable and a big 50" tv in the room, it was incredibly well finished off -plenty of hangers in the wardrobes, lovely complimentary bathroom products (Molton Brown) and free bottles of water each day. We ate one evening meal there in their restaurant and the food couldn't be faulted - the steak was excellent, well cooked and very nicely presented. The breakfasts were plentiful, service very good and the drinks on offer at the bar were more than enough to quench our thirst, especially for single Malt Whisky's.
We were recommended this hotel by friends who stopped there last year and I would definitely recommend it now to any friends staying in the city.

Room Tip: The blue room was very luxurious and comfortable. It's on the ground floor which is ideal for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We recently stayed at the Dunstane City for two nights and were very impressed. Modern decor, spotlessly clean and good breakfasts. We had a basement room which was on the small side but had everything we needed. The bathroom was bright and clean with Molton Brown toiletries. There was a little conservatory at the end of the corridor so we made ourselves a coffee and headed along there. There was no-one else there so it was like having our own private conservatory! Evening meals are in the Dunstane`s sister hotel across the road. Although the food was very good, we thought it was slightly overpriced for what it was. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. It`s close enough to walk into town but far enough out to be away from all the noise. Bus stop right across the road - with all buses heading into the centre of town and running regularly. We`ll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StickyToffeeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotel, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Thanks

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We spent one evening at the Dunstane City Hotel, taking advantage of their discounted dining offer as well. We chose it mainly because it is only a ten-minute walk to the train station. While somewhat pricey, it is certainly clean, quiet, comfortable, and the food well-prepared. Our TV remote was not working upon arrival and by the time we returned from supper it had already been remedied by the friendly chap at the front desk. My wife left a jacket behind and, upon returning home to Canada, we received an email advising us of this. Within a very short period the staff had packaged it up and mailed it back to us. All in all, a pleasant stay and handy location for train travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Property: The Dunstane Hotel
Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunstane dates all the way back to 1852 to a design of William Playfair, one of Edinburgh's most famous architects. Now a boutique hotel privately-owned and managed by Derek and Shirley Mowat, each of our bedrooms offers a fresh take on country house charm. You can look forward to restful nights in four-poster beds with subtle accents of current style. Or stretch out king-size and enjoy all the period details and in-room features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing