We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #8 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have business in Edinburgh and have found this hotel by far the best place to stay. A family-run hotel, the team are very friendly and hospitable with nothing being too much trouble for them. The rooms are well-appointed, whether single or double, and the substantial freshly-cooked breakfast sets one up for a busy day ahead. All of the produce used in the breakfasts as well as the superb dinners are "local" with particular focus on Orkney where the owners come from.

Transport to and from the airport or the City is good and with a car park attached to the hotel makes driving possible also. A walk to the City is only 15 minutes.

Well recommended to anyone visiting Edinburgh be it on business or to sight see such a wonderful City.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for posting such an outstanding review on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to hear that you are having such an enjoyable time staying with us here at the Dunstane Hotels!
We do source all of our products from local suppliers which does tend to be very popular with our guests. The owners do have a large involvement in the hotels and are continually modifying and updating both properties.

I look forward to seeing you in the coming months!

Kind Regards,

Jamie Trousdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

946 - 952 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed at Dunstane House for two weeks in November 2013 whilst in Edinburgh on business.
This is a gem of a hotel elegant and full of character. The staff are friendly, polite and courteous and always happy to help.
The standard of cleanliness is excellent and the room I was staying in was very comfortable. I ate my breakfast and evening meal in the hotel dining room each day and the food was always of a high standard and well presented. The hotel also has good free internet service which is an added bonus
There is a bus stop outside the hotel with regular service to the city center and frequent passing taxi's or if you prefer you can walk to the city center in about 30 minutes.
I would definately stay at the Dunstane House whenever I am in Edinburgh in the future and would definately recommend the hotel to friends, family and colleagues

Paul Mann

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of the Dunstane Hotels.

I am thrilled to hear that you have had such an enjoyable experience at our boutique hotel in Edinburgh. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to both the front of house staff, and of course the housekeeping team. Our new menu in the Skerries Restaurant has proven to be a great success! I am glad that you were able to make use of this facility during your stay.
I really am happy to hear that we will see you in the future, and hope that you will be able to enjoy the touristy side of the city next time!

Kind Regards,

Jamie Trousdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

First time staying at this hotel in Edinburgh and was impressed with the service and location. Rooms are probably on the small side, but well-furnished and comfortable; the centre of Edinburgh is probably around 20 mins walk away and the hotel is very close to Haymarket station and an airport bus stop. There was some minor noise detectable during the night from washing machines and the heating system which may disturb light sleepers.

Staff were very helpful throughout the stay and quickly arranged to change our room when the first wasn't up to scratch. Looking for some ice after the reception had closed (after 11pm) was informed that the ice machine was currently broken. However the night porter kindly offered to go to the sister hotel across the road and brought a bucket full of ice to the room!

Overall an enjoyable stay, and would definitely recommend for a weekend in the city.

Room Tip: Room we originally stayed in (214) was apparently "king-size" but in reality comprised of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to hear that you were impressed with the service and our central location. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all of the staff.
I am sorry to hear that the first room that you checked in to was unsatisfactory. Many hotels do have these types of beds that link together to allow rooms to be made up as either a twin or a double. I am glad that the staff were able to resolve this issue in a timely manner for you on this occasion.
I am also happy to confirm that the ice machine is working again!

I hope to welcome you back to Dunstane soon.

Kind Regards,


Jamie Trousdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Had an amazing time at the Dunstane Hotel. Our room was lovely, service was excellent and the breakfasts were tasty! Everything we wanted. I would note that its a doable walk into the city centre yet making use of the bus outside or a taxi is recommended. Was a lovely touch having a birthday card off the staff upon arrival. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC1191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hi There,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review.
I am thrilled to hear that you have had such an enjoyable stay with us here at the Dunstane Hotels. The walk can be a little far for some people, but I am happy to see that you were able to make use of the fantastic transport links too.
I look forward to seeing you again in the future,

Kind Regards,

Jamie Trousdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

After some slight confusion as to whether we were in the City or the House hotel, (directly over the road so not a big deal), we arrived to find that we had been upgraded to a four poster suite at no extra cost. The room was clean, spacious and elegant with beautiful traditional furnishings as well as the expected mod cons. The bed was beautiful and incredibly comfortable- we're normally fussy sleepers, but both got two completely restful nights during our stay. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the food was delicious. It wasn't the cheapest of hotels, but the price was reflected in the service and quality. Two very satisfied customers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dani_lou_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Dunstane House is very pleasant and elegant, if a bit worn around the edges. The service and breakfasts were excellent and there is nothing to complain about. That said, it does not quite live up to many of the reviews or the cost of the stay. While our room was quite lovely, the bed was the least comfortable of the various places we have stayed on our holiday and the bathroom was average. All in all, just fine - but for the price I'd look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbl5283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to hear that you liked the room. All of the rooms and public areas were completely refurbished in March this year. One of the benefits of the Dunstane House Hotel is the fact that we have no two rooms the same. This does mean that the decor and room shape that is allocated may not be your first choice, but I would always encourage you to speak to the staff who may have had a different style of room available.
I hope that we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Jamie Trousdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Lovely spotless hotel with parking. Only downside was the actual size of the bathroom and ensuite. We were in the eves and it was slightly cramped....others may disagre though and describe it as cosy.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikki g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of the Dunstane Hotels.

I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Edinburgh. Every room at Dunstane is completely unique both in design and in size. We try to allocate the bigger rooms as early as possible, however we do use the smaller rooms in the busier weekends. Next time please do let us know and we can move you straight away.

I hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Jamie Trousdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,067 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,008 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £98 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful corner of Edinburgh’s West End, a short walk from Haymarket and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, The Dunstane Houses is an independent, 35-bedroom boutique hotel spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Dating back to 1865, but inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, the family-run hotel combines heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors throughout Dunstane House and public ares of Hampton House have been stylishly redesigned to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. The newly opened Ba’ Bar & Lounge specialises in food made with local, seasonal Scottish produce from small suppliers, and hosts relaxed but refined all-day dining, including daily afternoon tea. It offers a wide range of fine wines, craft beers, artisanal spirits and one of the most extensive rare-whisky selections in the city, with more than 70 varieties in its vintage wall cabinet. All rooms include free WiFi, large Samsung smart TVs, Egyptian cotton bedlinens and ensuites with Noble Isle products, and many Dunstane House rooms include Nespresso coffee machines, hand-made Vispring beds and Roberts digital radios. Five unique and spacious suites are located in Dunstane House, with dramatic features such as four-poster beds, freestanding copper roll-top baths in the bedroom, or sweeping views over the Edinburgh cityscape. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing