We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic time”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #12 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic time”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived on hogmany to experience new year in Edinburgh. Room was out of this world and all the staff were excellent. Had dinner in hotel that evening and food and service was excellent together with choice of malts. Headed the short walk to Princess St for celebrations. This was our 2nd stay here and we were treated like family by staff. Highly recommend Dunstance for amenities, food & staff.



Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hello there

Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Edinburgh.

Best wishes
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    319
    77
    24
    16
See reviews for
136
806
66
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed at Dunstane City Hotel at the end of December on the twixmas package. The hotel's location is very good, a 20 minute walk into Edinburgh city centre, and a 5 minute walk away from Haymarket station. There is a bus stop directly across the road, with a frequent bus service. There is a small free car park at the front, and once parked up we didn't move it until we left. We either walked or used the bus depending on the weather. The staff at both this hotel, and the sister hotel, Dunstane House, across the road, are friendly, helpful and courteous, and made our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was very good, including the generous size portion of porridge, served in the small dining room. We had dinner at the sister hotel, which was excellent, with Scottish produce, and a large range of whisky's available. Not all the fish choices were available due to storm damage in other parts of Scotland which had affected delivery. But we didn't mind, there was a good enough choice. We had a room overlooking the rear, which was very quiet. The room was very comfortable, with a comfortable bed, lovely décor and well heated, for this time of year.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are away from the main road on which the hotel is situated, and there is no traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of Dunstane. I am thrilled to hear that you have had such an enjoyable experience despite the seafood limitations!

Hopefully the next time you visit you can try a wider range of dishes in the restaurant.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Had a great stay at The Dunstane City Hotel. Watched the squirrels running around out in the back garden area! In the centre of Edinburgh, didn't expect that. We arrived by train (Haymarket) and walked to the hotel. Nice reception with very friendly and attentive staff. As it was in the quiet season we had the hotel to ourselves. It has obviously been recently refurbished to a very high standard. The room was very comfortable. Although the beds maybe could do with replacing, that would be my only negative comment. My son and his girlfriend were there too and they said the same thing. Great bathroom.There is an 'honesty bar' which was great after we came back from the theatre to to sit and chillax. We took a taxi to the centre of Edinburgh, very cheap. There are bus stops not far from the hotel. Great if you want to go into the city but prefer to be away from the crowds when you are done. Hopefully we get a chance to revisit. There is also car park spaces at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NET62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback with us about your stay. I am so pleased you enjoyed our hotel and that you found our 'honesty bar' quick and easy to use.

I do hope you decide to visit us (and the squirrels) again in the future!

Best Wishes

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is far from the city center.  It takes 30 minutes or more to get to the old town by foot.  It will take you half the time by bus.  Dunstane House is very beautiful from the outside and is quite nice inside too.  The staff is extremely helpful although there is no room service whatsoever, which I found abnormal for the rate we paid.  The breakfast is really shameful.  It costs between 10 and 13 pounds for some toasts and all the rest is packaged or canned (cheese, cereal, etc.).  The bed isn't compfortable enough.  There aren't any restaurants next to the hotel.  This place doesn't have any "extras" like video rent, roomservice, massage, terrace, fitness etc.  Although it is a beautiful hotel, I wouldn't recommend it because you leave with a feeling of having spend way too much for a lovely empty box...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JelizaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hello there

Thank you for sharing your experience of The Dunstane. Firstly I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations however I just wanted to clarify a few things for future guests so that they are not misled. We do indeed have room service available throughout the hotel. You can choose from any drink or food item during food service times and we have a slightly smaller room service menu for the times when the Skerries Restaurant is closed. I am not sure why you thought we did not but I apologize if the information is not clear in the in room information folder.

We are a 15 minute walk from Princes Street and you are correct there is a direct bus outside that takes 5 minutes.

Our breakfast items are fresh every morning and the buffet includes items such as fresh pineapple, melon and fruit salad (none of these come from cans!).

Unfortunately we do not have a gym or spa but we do not advertise ourselves as having that facility - we do have a link with a local hotel that has a gym and spa and our guests can get discounted rates there if this is essential to your stay.

I do hope this helps to clarify a few things.

Kind Regards
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgarr, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Hotel was very cosy even it was very cold outside we were very comfortable indoors with central heating throughout, Very clean rooms, Friendly and helpful staff and very close to the city centre! Car park provided for no extra cost and bus stop is just across the road.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review!

I am glad that you had an enjoyable trip at the Dunstane city.

Unfortunately, we cannot help the weather outside! Sometimes it is better to stay in and enjoy the food in our restaurant than venture out into the Edinburgh Storms!

We hope to see you again soon,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I, having married in early December, decided to book Dunstane House as the base for our honeymoon/Hogmanay celebrations following a not insubstantial amount of research into similar establishments. We made our initial enquiries very early in 2013 and before Dunstane House had actually resolved what packages they would be offering, however they did advise that this was the case and were in contact in short order afterwards. This was pleasing as everywhere else suggested that we make contact again later in the year even though our e-mail could simply have been added to a mailing list or equivalent as we had expressed definite interest.

In the build-up to our arrival I was in contact with the hotel as I sought to arrange some extra embellishments to our stay and the staff were very helpful with advice on prices and when items needed to be ordered by. Similarly, as my wife has severe allergies to certain foodstuffs, the front of house staff liaised with the head chef to ensure that the kitchen was fully briefed on any potential issues and advised accordingly. I am very happy to say that the food she enjoyed was the same as everyone else and not a compromised menu.

Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and took us straight to our room which we found to be spacious and very well appointed. Room service was prompt and efficient and we took the opportunity to rest on one of the most comfortable beds we have ever had! After getting ready (the shower is very good, even better than ours and we have a good shower!) we took a drink in the bar which, although small, is comfortable, relaxing and tastefully decorated. Dinner on all nights was of excellent quality and cooked exactly as ordered, something we often have difficulty in achieving as steak, for example, invariably arrives overcooked in comparison to our wishes.

The staff deserve a mention as they were all impeccably professional, well attired and friendly too, organising taxis for us when we wished to travel to places in the city we were unfamiliar with and being very personable at all times; they certainly added to our enjoyment of the trip.

Location-wise, this hotel is, in our opinion, perfectly placed for a trip to Edinburgh - close to the city centre but equally far enough away for there to be no interruptions from post-bar noise and so forth. Princes Street is about a fifteen-minute walk away at an average pace and from that point you have the whole city to explore at leisure; you could certainly make it all the way to Holyrood and Arthur's Seat in an hour or less.

To sum up, a wonderful hotel with equally good staff and definitely one which we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teuwsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review of Dunstane Hotels.

I am happy to hear that you had such a nice time, especially when it was such a special occasion! Our reservations staff are very quick to help, and do try to arrange everything as quickly as possible. It is always easier if we are aware of any issues before you arrive, so that we can make the trip as enjoyable as possible. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the chef, and to all of the staff, who I am sure will be thrilled to hear this feedback.

I hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Jamie Trousdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Really beautifully furnished room, large and airy, great bathroom. Excellent location in the Haymarket area, good access to city centre or airport.

Friendly staff - nothing too much trouble. Fabulous Scottish breakfast stoked you up fro the day ahead.

Stayed at Hogmanay so the price felt unsurprisingly on the high side but would stay again.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turtle5954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Property: The Dunstane Hotel
Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunstane dates all the way back to 1852 to a design of William Playfair, one of Edinburgh's most famous architects. Now a boutique hotel privately-owned and managed by Derek and Shirley Mowat, each of our bedrooms offers a fresh take on country house charm. You can look forward to restful nights in four-poster beds with subtle accents of current style. Or stretch out king-size and enjoy all the period details and in-room features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing