We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Break”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #9 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Have recently spent 3 days at this lovely hotel for our wedding anniversary. The staff were so friendly, polite and very helpful. Our room spotless clean, comfortable and beautifully furnished Had dinner on 2 nights and it was superb. Cannot recommend this hotel enough and looking forward to returning later on in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katyoxo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Hi there Katyoxo_11

Thanks for that lovely review - I have passed that on to the staff and you have made their day!

We are looking forward to seeing you both again at Dunstane and we will have launched our new menu by then so you can let us know what you think!

Thanks again
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
There are newer reviews for The Dunstane Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

880 - 886 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

The staff were fantastic front when we had just entered the hotel, then the room we had the brown four poster room and it is more than I could have wished for on my birthday! The hotel is not too big and everything including the food was first rate. I would recommend this hotel too everyone. If you dont want to drive there is a bus stop just outside the gateway if you like to walk you can get to the walkway down to the Water of Leith and just stroll along the river bank until you come to the waterfall.

Room Tip: The four poster is really big in fact you have to shout to get the attention of your partner !!!!and...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Hello there

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Happy Birthday again and I am so pleased we were able to make your stay special and memorable. A dance in one of the four poster rooms....what a good idea! Maybe we could make a package deal out of that! We will be in touch with future 'dancing offers'!

Thanks again

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Dunstane is a beautiful period building with lots of character. It's approx 15 mins walk from the city centre but even if you don't fancy the walk there is a bus stop right outside with buses passing ever few minutes. It is also super convenient for the no. 100 airport express bus.
On arriving at the hotel we were treated superbly by the wonderful staff who are extremely obliging and helpful. Immediately we were taken on a brief tour of the hotel and offered a complementary sample of Scottish whiskey. The hotel offers a small but beautiful dining room with tiny bar to the back.
Our room was a little small but beautifully furnished with everything you could ask for. We were very pleased with our stay and I would recommend it to others without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cait0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

cait0201

Thanks for the great review, it was great meeting you and I am glad we were able to provide a convenient and friendly location for you. It means a great deal to us all when our guests take time to post a review and I have shared your review today with the team as it is useful to us to hear all feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Dunstane in the future to join us for another 'wee dram' in the Stane Bar!

Thanks again,
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Small hotel, however the standard of cleanliness was excellent. Staff very friendly and attentive. Cosy bar with excellent drink selection. We had evening dinner and breakfast which on both occasions was fantastic. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Top Marks! Thank you so much!

We are so proud of our Housekeeping team who are so thorough and conscientious in their duties we are so grateful when their hard work is noticed. Thank you for your comments on the restaurant too - hopefully you can come back soon and sample our new menu launching next week!

Kind Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is a lovely hotel, close to city centre, rooms are well presented and clean, the food is delicious, and the staff are friendly and helpful, staying here made our trip all the more enjoyable, will definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clrparton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hello

5/5!!! Thank you so much that is so nice to hear! I really hope you decide to stay with us again in the future. We'd love to welcome you here again.

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Well worth it's high trip advisor rating. It's within walking distance of Princess Street but there's a bus stop right outside as well. The hotel as had a few changes since we were last there but it's still just as good value. The bar is now smaller but overall quality has been maintained. A big plus is the staff. The chap on reception was great in finding us an umbrella for our walk into town. Would have awarded five stars except that the hotel failed to replenish our toiletries for the second day of our visit.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 1adder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi there!

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I am so pleased you feel that we have maintained our high quality and good service after the refurbishment - that is exactly what we were aiming for!

Sorry that your toiletries were not replenished - as we are a 'Green'Hotel with a Gold award from the Green Tourism Business Scheme we only replace toiletries that are under half full to cut down on packaging that gets thrown away unnecessarily on a daily basis. However if at any time you want extra toiletries that is no problem - just ask reception! We are so lucky to be able to stock the Molton Brown range that we have I am so pleased you liked them so much!

Hope to see you again soon

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband & I drove all around Scotland & on our way back to London stopped at this hotel for a night. Its a well-maintained place & the carpets were gorgeous running all around the insides. The guy at the front desk was very helpful and suggested good places to drink & dine in Edinbourgh. Just down this road, there are a lot of Irish pubs providing good choices & entertainment. We had to leave early the next morning & the staff co-operated in getting our breakfast early before the usual time. The restaurant in this hotel is interesting with an awesome collection of Scotch whiskeys. Overall, a perfect place for a night halt...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gowri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi there

Thank you so much for your lovely review! Maybe next time you can stay with us for longer and try our Skerries Restaurant which serves fantastic local produce.

We do hope to see you again at Dunstane

Best regards
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,855 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £112 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful corner of Edinburgh’s West End, a short walk from Haymarket and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, The Dunstane Houses is an independent, 35-bedroom boutique hotel spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Dating back to 1865, but inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, the family-run hotel combines heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors throughout Dunstane House and public ares of Hampton House have been stylishly redesigned to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. The newly opened Ba’ Bar & Lounge specialises in food made with local, seasonal Scottish produce from small suppliers, and hosts relaxed but refined all-day dining, including daily afternoon tea. It offers a wide range of fine wines, craft beers, artisanal spirits and one of the most extensive rare-whisky selections in the city, with more than 70 varieties in its vintage wall cabinet. All rooms include free WiFi, large Samsung smart TVs, Egyptian cotton bedlinens and ensuites with Noble Isle products, and many Dunstane House rooms include Nespresso coffee machines, hand-made Vispring beds and Roberts digital radios. Five unique and spacious suites are located in Dunstane House, with dramatic features such as four-poster beds, freestanding copper roll-top baths in the bedroom, or sweeping views over the Edinburgh cityscape. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing