We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Whisky Weekend”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #8 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I recently organised a trip for three, for my brothers 40th Birthday Present staying at The Dunstane Hotel. There's always a little pressure when you are the one responsible for the booking, however, as soon as we arrived the pressure was immediately lifted!
Great hotel, great staff, superb food and the Whisky tasting ... perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Animal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hi there

Thank you for your lovely comments - the staff will be delighted! I know Jamie enjoyed organising your whisky tasting in Edinburgh - we do like to do bespoke events and stays for our guests. You get the best value for money that way! The Dunstane was the perfect choice for your whisky tasting as you were able to start making your way through our selection of 70 malts in the Stane Bar!

Please let us know if you have any other birthdays coming up we would be delighted to help!

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

881 - 887 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The hotel isn't too far from the city centre - You can walk there if you like a nice stroll. Otherwise, taxis and buses are constantly on the go on the main road passing the hotel. There is a car park at the front of the hotel.

Our room was quite trendy and also very clean and comfortable. A good size too.

Unfortunately, you can only have breakfast in the hotel. Having said that, the breakfast was very good indeed with a wide array of tasty choices available. If you want other food you need to go across the main road to the sister hotel. We didn't try the food there but heard good reports from fellow guests.

We liked this well kept hotel and feel it would appeal to most.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudgeJudy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Judge_Judy

Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave your review - it is so appreciated!

I'm so pleased your were comfortable and the location was great for you. Next time you stay please feel free to order room service if you would rather stay in the comfort of your room than the Skerries Restaurant. you are correct we do not unfortunately have two restaurants but we are more than happy to offer the full menu as room service during restaurant opening hours.

Hope to see you again soon to start trying the dishes!

Best Wishes
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We visited Edinburgh last week (a beautiful city) and had booked the Dunstane House for our stay - or so we thought. Their web site has tabs for both Dunstane properties (House and City), and 'clicking' on the Dunstane House tab led us to believe we were booking the main house. Upon our arrival (two parties) we were told we would be staying across the street. This did not sit well with us and we expressed our displeasure. We were told we should have specified in a comments / special request area on the website which location we desired. Well, the website doesn't make that clear. The two locations should be molded into one on the website and it should be made very clear that getting a room in the main house has to be done by 'special request'. The manager at reception was apologetic but could do nothing as the main house was booked full - with just one room open (which was offered to us). It was offered, and later followed up - to move us to the main house on the 2nd night of our stay (thank you). (we received a note in the 2nd room stating it was hoped we enjoyed our 'upgrade' - which was a little humorous as the room was really no nicer than our initial room and the bathroom was actually smaller). It is an attractive property - the bar maid was super nice - and all of the staff were friendly. Room décor was nothing special. Plenty of food available at both locations for breakfast and the service was good / friendly.

Room Tip: If you are 6 ft. or taller - you will possibly hit your head while standing in the bathroom in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gosheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hello there

Thank you for taking the time to help other travelers with your experience. You are correct we do have two properties under 'The Dunstane' banner. We have the main building (previously called the House) and the luxury townhouse (previously The City). We have re-branded recently and all rooms are under one banner now and we do encourage all guests to state on booking if you have a preference. It does state this on every on line travel agent and throughout the booking process on our own website. I am in the process of going through this to make sure it is 100% clear after your comments.

With regards to room type, we do have a number of different rooms available from our largest luxury rooms to our smallest classic rooms. If you choose to book the cheapest rate on the classic room then unfortunately we cannot guarantee lots of space and a large bathroom. We did, as you have kindly pointed out, did everything we could to help you and accommodate you where you wanted to be and we also gave you complimentary upgrades on the second night for your inconvenience - I am so sorry these were not appreciated, they were given with the best of intention.

If I may suggest in future that you contact the hotel directly and speak to one of our friendly reservations team who are always more than happy to explain the Hotel to guests and deal with any requests or requirements which are obviously individual to each guest. It is so important to us that our guests receive the best experience they possibly can with us and knowing as much as we can before you arrive does help us with that.

I hope this helps to clarify a little

Many thanks
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Such a quiet and peaceful hotel! Within walking distance to everywhere or the bus stop is just outside! Staff couldn't be more helpful making your stay very relaxed! Modern furnishing and extremely clean! Breakfast was a bit pricey but overall perfect location, would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Good Morning Smucks!

What a lovely start to the day reading your lovely comments! The staff are such a friendly bunch I cant wait to tell them that it is appreciated! Our luxury townhouse does offer that quiet option for your accommodation in Edinburgh whilst still being near enough to the city centre for your convenience.

Next time you stay contact us directly as our rates that include Scottish Breakfast are a saving on purchasing breakfast on the day which you may find more beneficial for you.

We do hope to see you again soon

Have a great day!
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel is in a good location for the city centre which is only a 15 minute walk away. There are buses which stop outside the hotel for those who feel unable to walk in and there is also a bus service which stops outside and goes to the airport.

The hotel is nicely furnished and decorated and the rooms clean. Only issue I had would be to say avoid room 6 as the queen sized bed was too big for the room which made it difficult to access the bed easily on one side - not for the elderly or infirm|| The shower room was also on the small size but again clean and nicely decorated.

The breakfasts were excellent both cooked to order and served hot.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful nothing was too much trouble.|

This is a hotel to revisit and I would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Good Morning LindaR

Thank you so much for your lovely comments - the staff are so friendly and helpful here and we are so proud of them so it is great when they get a nice mention! I know they all check it daily!

Our rooms are all individual and so if you find one that is not 100% suitable for you we can try another next time no problem - just give us a phone and we can discuss the options best for you. Our Classic rooms are the smallest ones we have to give people the option on price but we do have deluxe and luxury four posters also which may be more suitable. I would be happy to assist your reservation next time.

I look forward to meeting you in person!

Kind Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We just had one night in this hotel, but will go back. Excellent rooms, great food in the restaurant and wonderful, helpful, cheerful staff. We had a good time meeting up with family. Very many thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nandl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear nandl41

Not a problem at all! Thank you so much for your feedback - we so appreciate knowing that we are on the right track! All comments are helpful.

Please contact us directly if you are planning on visiting Edinburgh again and we would be delighted to help you plan your stay with us.

I look forward to seeing you again

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The Durstane is a classy place to stay in when visiting Edinburgh. The two hotel buildings are on either side of the A8 Corstophine road. The Bus stop outside is served by frequent buses to the City. Leave the car and use the bus and for only £3.50 a day you can travel anywhere on the bus routes.
A brisk 15 min. walk takes you to Princess Street.
The main hotel features an excellent bar and restaurant. We stayed in the Durstane City opposite which was warm, comfortable, quiet and decorated to a high boutique standard.
The Staff were fantastic and bent over backwards to ensure that our stay was a success. Nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: If you need fresh air in your room, do ask the staff to ensure that your room has a window that can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshiewarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,917 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £97 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful corner of Edinburgh’s West End, a short walk from Haymarket and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, The Dunstane Houses is an independent, 35-bedroom boutique hotel spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Dating back to 1865, but inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, the family-run hotel combines heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors throughout Dunstane House and public ares of Hampton House have been stylishly redesigned to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. The newly opened Ba’ Bar & Lounge specialises in food made with local, seasonal Scottish produce from small suppliers, and hosts relaxed but refined all-day dining, including daily afternoon tea. It offers a wide range of fine wines, craft beers, artisanal spirits and one of the most extensive rare-whisky selections in the city, with more than 70 varieties in its vintage wall cabinet. All rooms include free WiFi, large Samsung smart TVs, Egyptian cotton bedlinens and ensuites with Noble Isle products, and many Dunstane House rooms include Nespresso coffee machines, hand-made Vispring beds and Roberts digital radios. Five unique and spacious suites are located in Dunstane House, with dramatic features such as four-poster beds, freestanding copper roll-top baths in the bedroom, or sweeping views over the Edinburgh cityscape. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing