We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #13 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed for two nights with my girlfriends, our first visit to Edinburgh. The staff were great, from our arrival till check out they were friendly and happy to help with anything. We stayed in a classic double,the room was lovely, great deco and very comfortable. Although the hotel is slightly out of town it is still a great location and only takes 10 minutes to get into the city centre.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhys121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    320
    78
    24
    16
See reviews for
137
809
66
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ulceby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in the suite in this hotel which is located in the basement, however the room was not dark and had plenty of light from the eye line windows. The décor with the Dunstane City Hotel is modern and a contrast to the sister hotel Dunstane House, however the standards are the same with the hotel being spotlessly clean. The only thing I feel would make the room better would be a fridge, so that fresh milk could be available with the tea making facilities.

We had breakfast included in our stay which was plentiful with a large continental selection together with a range of cooked options. The food was nice and seemed good quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickandlisa999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Rickandlisa999

Thanks for coming on to comment on your stay last year! I am so pleased you remember us favourably! You are so right about the fridges, it is something we are considering but please remember you can just call reception for fresh milk at any time and we will bring it right to you!

I do hope we get to see you again on your next trip to Edinburgh! hopefully our suite will be available for you then too!

Best wishes

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulceby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our second stay at the Dunstane House Hotel and I can say we will definitely be back. On both occasions we have been upgraded to four poster rooms, The first time to a large room (room 2) with the biggest bed I have ever seen and this time to a smaller room (room 1) but still lovely. The standards of cleanliness in this hotel couldn't be any better, the rooms are spotless with the bathrooms always gleaming. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and nothing seems to much trouble. The only thing I would suggest is a fridge in the room so that fresh milk can be available with the tea making facilities. This would make the room perfect.

We have always booked with breakfast included in our stay and I would certainly recommend it. A good continental selection is available together with your choice of cooked breakfast. As well as a full Scottish breakfast there is also porridge, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, boiled eggs and soldiers and others. This is all accompanied with tea or coffee and plenty of toast.

We choice to drive to the hotel on this visit however its location is very close to Haymarket station and about 1 1/2 miles to Princes Street / Royal Mile. We have always chosen to walk from the hotel to all the major sites, however there is a bus stop outside the hotel which has buses to all the tourist spots.

We also ate in the restaurant during our stay (Skerries), however we have reviewed this separately.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickandlisa999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hello there

What a wonderful start to the day! Thank you for the lovely comments I am delighed you choose to keep coming back to us. We love to give upgrades where possible - its such a nice surprise for guests!

I do hope to see you again soon - and we will look into fridges but in the meantime just dial reception and we will whizz some milk up to you!

Best Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I booked this hotel for a birthday weekend for my girlfriend and it was worth every penny. On arrival we were given a free upgrade to a room larger than my front room and gorgeous in every way. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was delicious. You have to try the seafood chowder starter. The staff are lovely and on the Saturday night we spent time talking with jamie and Urszula, 2 lovely people. All in all a fabulous stay and if im ever back in Edinburgh theres only 1 hotel I go

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris.stigwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Chris

Thank you so much for that lovely review. I am so pleased you go to benefit from one of our upgrades - we do give them where available and we certainly like to reward loyalty and repeat custom especially! So please come and see us again soon.

Jamie and Urszula are so friendly and they love to get to know our guests - I cant wait to tell them they got a special mention online!

Hope to meet you in person soon

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parbold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Just finished a beautiful breakfast ahead of our day in Edinburgh. Hotel is exceptionally clean and well presented and staff all very helpful.

The hotel is in a great location for the city centre and the bus stop right outside the hotel provides an easy way into the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenBaker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear KarenBarker

Thank you so much for your review - and while you were with us too! I cannot wait to tell the Housekeeper that you were impressed with her high standards! She really is excellent and has such a caring and loyal team - we are so lucky.

If we can be of service again please let me know!


Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I recently organised a trip for three, for my brothers 40th Birthday Present staying at The Dunstane Hotel. There's always a little pressure when you are the one responsible for the booking, however, as soon as we arrived the pressure was immediately lifted!
Great hotel, great staff, superb food and the Whisky tasting ... perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Animal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hi there

Thank you for your lovely comments - the staff will be delighted! I know Jamie enjoyed organising your whisky tasting in Edinburgh - we do like to do bespoke events and stays for our guests. You get the best value for money that way! The Dunstane was the perfect choice for your whisky tasting as you were able to start making your way through our selection of 70 malts in the Stane Bar!

Please let us know if you have any other birthdays coming up we would be delighted to help!

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The hotel isn't too far from the city centre - You can walk there if you like a nice stroll. Otherwise, taxis and buses are constantly on the go on the main road passing the hotel. There is a car park at the front of the hotel.

Our room was quite trendy and also very clean and comfortable. A good size too.

Unfortunately, you can only have breakfast in the hotel. Having said that, the breakfast was very good indeed with a wide array of tasty choices available. If you want other food you need to go across the main road to the sister hotel. We didn't try the food there but heard good reports from fellow guests.

We liked this well kept hotel and feel it would appeal to most.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudgeJudy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Judge_Judy

Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave your review - it is so appreciated!

I'm so pleased your were comfortable and the location was great for you. Next time you stay please feel free to order room service if you would rather stay in the comfort of your room than the Skerries Restaurant. you are correct we do not unfortunately have two restaurants but we are more than happy to offer the full menu as room service during restaurant opening hours.

Hope to see you again soon to start trying the dishes!

Best Wishes
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Property: The Dunstane Hotel
Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunstane dates all the way back to 1852 to a design of William Playfair, one of Edinburgh's most famous architects. Now a boutique hotel privately-owned and managed by Derek and Shirley Mowat, each of our bedrooms offers a fresh take on country house charm. You can look forward to restful nights in four-poster beds with subtle accents of current style. Or stretch out king-size and enjoy all the period details and in-room features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing