We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dunstane Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$276
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$319
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
US$169
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$146
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$475
US$413
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,453)
Filter reviews
1,453 results
Traveller rating
991
339
81
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
991
339
81
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskerries restaurantmolton brown toiletriessister hotel across the roadcity centremain buildingboutique hotelluxury roomlovely hotelbus stop rightfour poster bedminute walknespresso machinehaymarket stationkippersbusy roadhonesty barbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
905 - 910 of 1,453 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I booked a trip for me and my 5yr old daughter to Edinburgh and decided on Dunstane House Hotel as it looked amazing on their website page! Have not been disappointed this place is a real treasure. We stayed for 2 nights on arriving the first day at 10.30 am they gladly took our bags so we could get on with our first day of sightseeing and we did not return till 4, the young lady on reception was lovely and showed us the dining area and bar and then to our room where our bags were already there. We dined at 6.30 and my meal was lovely and they specially did a pasta dish for my daughter- excellent service from all staff. Breakfast very nice. Location not far from city centre but there is a bus stop right outside and the Manager was so helpful on explaining bus routes and times. Will definately return

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amybobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Amybobb,

Wow! What a glowing review! thank you so much for that! The staff will be delighted they were able to make your stay special! We do try to help in any way we can and even just by keeping bags I hope we are making your stay as stress free and easy as possible!

Chef loves a challenge and whipping up a kids meal on the spot keeps him on his toes! Ask for something more exotic next time!

Best Wishes

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Dunstane House Hotel is everything we hoped it would be, exceptionally clean and beautifully furnished.
Our room was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice. The management are so lovely and helpful, the location is good for the city and we really enjoyed our short stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a better room in the Dunstane House Hotel if you can.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bichonlovers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Bichonlovers

Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about your stay. You are totally right though the deluxe and luxury rooms are well worth the upgrade! We do offer discounted upgrade rates on check in if you want to leave it last minute but all our rooms are of a lovely high standard and very comfortable I hope!

Hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed for two nights with my girlfriends, our first visit to Edinburgh. The staff were great, from our arrival till check out they were friendly and happy to help with anything. We stayed in a classic double,the room was lovely, great deco and very comfortable. Although the hotel is slightly out of town it is still a great location and only takes 10 minutes to get into the city centre.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhys121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in the suite in this hotel which is located in the basement, however the room was not dark and had plenty of light from the eye line windows. The décor with the Dunstane City Hotel is modern and a contrast to the sister hotel Dunstane House, however the standards are the same with the hotel being spotlessly clean. The only thing I feel would make the room better would be a fridge, so that fresh milk could be available with the tea making facilities.

We had breakfast included in our stay which was plentiful with a large continental selection together with a range of cooked options. The food was nice and seemed good quality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickandlisa999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Rickandlisa999

Thanks for coming on to comment on your stay last year! I am so pleased you remember us favourably! You are so right about the fridges, it is something we are considering but please remember you can just call reception for fresh milk at any time and we will bring it right to you!

I do hope we get to see you again on your next trip to Edinburgh! hopefully our suite will be available for you then too!

Best wishes

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our second stay at the Dunstane House Hotel and I can say we will definitely be back. On both occasions we have been upgraded to four poster rooms, The first time to a large room (room 2) with the biggest bed I have ever seen and this time to a smaller room (room 1) but still lovely. The standards of cleanliness in this hotel couldn't be any better, the rooms are spotless with the bathrooms always gleaming. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and nothing seems to much trouble. The only thing I would suggest is a fridge in the room so that fresh milk can be available with the tea making facilities. This would make the room perfect.

We have always booked with breakfast included in our stay and I would certainly recommend it. A good continental selection is available together with your choice of cooked breakfast. As well as a full Scottish breakfast there is also porridge, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, boiled eggs and soldiers and others. This is all accompanied with tea or coffee and plenty of toast.

We choice to drive to the hotel on this visit however its location is very close to Haymarket station and about 1 1/2 miles to Princes Street / Royal Mile. We have always chosen to walk from the hotel to all the major sites, however there is a bus stop outside the hotel which has buses to all the tourist spots.

We also ate in the restaurant during our stay (Skerries), however we have reviewed this separately.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickandlisa999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hello there

What a wonderful start to the day! Thank you for the lovely comments I am delighed you choose to keep coming back to us. We love to give upgrades where possible - its such a nice surprise for guests!

I do hope to see you again soon - and we will look into fridges but in the meantime just dial reception and we will whizz some milk up to you!

Best Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews