We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #14 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We went to edinburgh for 3 night break and could not fault anything from check in to leaving , staff were very attentive , room (20 ) and quality of food were excellent , as was location to city centre will use again next time in edinburgh .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Good Morning Ian R

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review! Room 120 is proving very popular at the moment! I am so pleased you agree! Our Luxury Blue Room is definitely one to remember!

Let me know if you wish to come and stay again and I will make sure you get it again!

Thanks and hope to see you soon!

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    317
    75
    24
    16
See reviews for
135
794
64
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

One beautiful hotel offering great luxury and ambience. We stayed in room 20 which again matched the rest of the place with its size and quality of the decor. Although we didn't have dinner here the breakfast was cooked to order and tasted great too! Just to add the staff where amazing, always polite and always with a smile, a credit to the hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BS_LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello BS_LS

What a lovely review - the staff love to be mentioned they are such a friendly bunch!!

The Luxury Blue room is such a treat - I am so pleased you were able to enjoy it. We had so much fun designing that room and it has become a bit of an icon of the hotel!

I hope you can come back and sample some of our other stunning rooms - we would love to see you again

Best Wishes

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went to Edinburgh for my daughters 21st birthday last weekend. On arrival at the hotel we were made to feel very welcome, shown to our room which exceeded our expectations. It was immaculate and pristine with a larger than average bathroom. It also had an extra room as it was a suite. Very stylish decor.
There is a bus outside every 5 minutes which takes you straight into city centre about a mile in distance, taxi back to the hotel cost £6.00
The staff were extremely obliging and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel had a very relaxed and cosy feel to it. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a weekend break.
Our first time in Edinburgh and definitely not last!! Would love to go back summer time and Christmas time. A lovely place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Stephanie B

Thank you for taking time out of your day to review us! City 19 is indeed a treat of a room - as our suite you can enjoy a lovely boutique bedroom with super-king bed and a separate living area with second television and a large bathroom with a separate power shower and bath.

Ideal if you want some extra space and luxury!

I do hope we can welcome you again on your next visit!

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codsall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We are currently staying at Dunstane House for the fourth time, the first was for our honeymoon in 2009. The staff are very welcoming, very easy to approach and nothing is too much trouble. Some staff remembered us from our previous visits and we were welcomed like family members.

We are in a deluxe double room this time (room 108) and it is simply stunning. Very spacious and luxurious and the bed is so comfortable. The decor is lovely and no expense has been spared - I wish my bedroom at home was this nice!

The housekeeping is to a very high standard, as is the food in the restaurant. Breakfast always fills us up for the whole day and the evening menu is fabulous.

We wouldn't ever consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello Ann!

Thank you so much once again for coming to stay with us! It is so lovely to see people coming back year after year - it makes my day! I am glad you got to sample a different room this time - we have just redone most of the rooms so it is nice to have feedback from our regulars who know our high standards and have something to benchmark against!

Looking forward to seeing you next year - let me know when you would like to come and I am sure I will be able to organise another lovely deluxe for you!

Best Wishes

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived about 11.30,dropped off our bags and went into the city, arrived back at the hotel and our bags had been taken up to our rooms which was great. All of the staff were very helpful and polite and nothing seemed too much trouble. Breakfast nice on both mornings with plenty of choice on offer across the board. Drinks in the Stane bar all of high standard and offered refills at the table. Stayed in the hotel on the second night for dinner, lovely food served to a high standard and presented nicely too. Overall a very pleasant stay in a nicely presented hotel with individually decorated bedrooms and a very young and helpful set of staff the only downfall being that I am unable to name them as they do not have any name badges, if I was going back to edinburgh I would definetely stay again and recommend other people to try it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julescmay29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Julescmay

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I will mention about name badges to the owner as the staff love a mention on here! It makes their day!! I am so pleased you enjoyed both your stay and your meal though, it means so much to think you would come and see us again.

Maybe try a luxury room next time! I do look forward to seeing you again

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I booked a trip for me and my 5yr old daughter to Edinburgh and decided on Dunstane House Hotel as it looked amazing on their website page! Have not been disappointed this place is a real treasure. We stayed for 2 nights on arriving the first day at 10.30 am they gladly took our bags so we could get on with our first day of sightseeing and we did not return till 4, the young lady on reception was lovely and showed us the dining area and bar and then to our room where our bags were already there. We dined at 6.30 and my meal was lovely and they specially did a pasta dish for my daughter- excellent service from all staff. Breakfast very nice. Location not far from city centre but there is a bus stop right outside and the Manager was so helpful on explaining bus routes and times. Will definately return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amybobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Amybobb,

Wow! What a glowing review! thank you so much for that! The staff will be delighted they were able to make your stay special! We do try to help in any way we can and even just by keeping bags I hope we are making your stay as stress free and easy as possible!

Chef loves a challenge and whipping up a kids meal on the spot keeps him on his toes! Ask for something more exotic next time!

Best Wishes

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Manchester, united Kinngdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Dunstane House Hotel is everything we hoped it would be, exceptionally clean and beautifully furnished.
Our room was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice. The management are so lovely and helpful, the location is good for the city and we really enjoyed our short stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a better room in the Dunstane House Hotel if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bichonlovers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Bichonlovers

Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about your stay. You are totally right though the deluxe and luxury rooms are well worth the upgrade! We do offer discounted upgrade rates on check in if you want to leave it last minute but all our rooms are of a lovely high standard and very comfortable I hope!

Hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Property: The Dunstane Hotel
Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunstane dates all the way back to 1852 to a design of William Playfair, one of Edinburgh's most famous architects. Now a boutique hotel privately-owned and managed by Derek and Shirley Mowat, each of our bedrooms offers a fresh take on country house charm. You can look forward to restful nights in four-poster beds with subtle accents of current style. Or stretch out king-size and enjoy all the period details and in-room features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing