We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To notch hotel”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #13 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“To notch hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night at the Dunstane. My room was modern and spotless. Very comfortable.

Location is so so, convenient to the number 100 airport express bus and Haymarket station but a bit of a walk to the castle area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Kevin H

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments on here for other users. Really glad you loved your room and our hotel. The location is great for the Airlink bus you are right and do remember for next time the bus outside takes you right to the Old Town if you don't fancy the walk or are plagued by rainy Scottish weather!!

I look forward to seeing you again

Best wishes,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    323
    78
    25
    16
See reviews for
139
817
67
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed at the dunstane city hotel as part of our honeymoon, my husband and I were thrilled when we walked in to this beautiful hotel! Our room was beautiful, it was clean and tastefully decorated! We had breakfast there which was stunning! The staff were so helpful and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for them! We plan to return on our first wedding anniversary! We are so glad we chose this lovely hotel to help us celebrate our special time x thank you x Mr and Mrs Guy.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrannMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Mr & Mrs Guy!

How lovely of you to review us after your honeymoon. I am really glad we were able to add to your special occasion. Our luxury Townhouse (previously the Dunstane City) is a lovely addition to our main house, the rooms are much quieter and our guests have the space and freedom that many people want on their holidays! You can always come and see us for breakfast in the main building!

If you do decide to come back for your first anniversary please let me know and i would be delighted to ensure you get a great deal and a lovely room.

Thanks again,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A very comfortable, stylish and enjoyable hotel that really does provide you with a pleasant stay. The staff are extremely professional, yet approachable and willing to accommodate your needs where possible. We will most definitely look to re-book in the future.

Room Tip: Room 210 (Deluxe Double) is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We went to edinburgh for 3 night break and could not fault anything from check in to leaving , staff were very attentive , room (20 ) and quality of food were excellent , as was location to city centre will use again next time in edinburgh .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Good Morning Ian R

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review! Room 120 is proving very popular at the moment! I am so pleased you agree! Our Luxury Blue Room is definitely one to remember!

Let me know if you wish to come and stay again and I will make sure you get it again!

Thanks and hope to see you soon!

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

One beautiful hotel offering great luxury and ambience. We stayed in room 20 which again matched the rest of the place with its size and quality of the decor. Although we didn't have dinner here the breakfast was cooked to order and tasted great too! Just to add the staff where amazing, always polite and always with a smile, a credit to the hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BS_LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello BS_LS

What a lovely review - the staff love to be mentioned they are such a friendly bunch!!

The Luxury Blue room is such a treat - I am so pleased you were able to enjoy it. We had so much fun designing that room and it has become a bit of an icon of the hotel!

I hope you can come back and sample some of our other stunning rooms - we would love to see you again

Best Wishes

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went to Edinburgh for my daughters 21st birthday last weekend. On arrival at the hotel we were made to feel very welcome, shown to our room which exceeded our expectations. It was immaculate and pristine with a larger than average bathroom. It also had an extra room as it was a suite. Very stylish decor.
There is a bus outside every 5 minutes which takes you straight into city centre about a mile in distance, taxi back to the hotel cost £6.00
The staff were extremely obliging and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel had a very relaxed and cosy feel to it. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a weekend break.
Our first time in Edinburgh and definitely not last!! Would love to go back summer time and Christmas time. A lovely place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Stephanie B

Thank you for taking time out of your day to review us! City 19 is indeed a treat of a room - as our suite you can enjoy a lovely boutique bedroom with super-king bed and a separate living area with second television and a large bathroom with a separate power shower and bath.

Ideal if you want some extra space and luxury!

I do hope we can welcome you again on your next visit!

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codsall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We are currently staying at Dunstane House for the fourth time, the first was for our honeymoon in 2009. The staff are very welcoming, very easy to approach and nothing is too much trouble. Some staff remembered us from our previous visits and we were welcomed like family members.

We are in a deluxe double room this time (room 108) and it is simply stunning. Very spacious and luxurious and the bed is so comfortable. The decor is lovely and no expense has been spared - I wish my bedroom at home was this nice!

The housekeeping is to a very high standard, as is the food in the restaurant. Breakfast always fills us up for the whole day and the evening menu is fabulous.

We wouldn't ever consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello Ann!

Thank you so much once again for coming to stay with us! It is so lovely to see people coming back year after year - it makes my day! I am glad you got to sample a different room this time - we have just redone most of the rooms so it is nice to have feedback from our regulars who know our high standards and have something to benchmark against!

Looking forward to seeing you next year - let me know when you would like to come and I am sure I will be able to organise another lovely deluxe for you!

Best Wishes

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Property: The Dunstane Hotel
Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful corner of Edinburgh’s West End, a short walk from Haymarket and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, The Dunstane Houses is an independent, 35-bedroom boutique hotel spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Dating back to 1865, but inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, the family-run hotel combines heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors throughout Dunstane House and public ares of Hampton House have been stylishly redesigned to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. The newly opened Ba’ Bar & Lounge specialises in food made with local, seasonal Scottish produce from small suppliers, and hosts relaxed but refined all-day dining, including daily afternoon tea. It offers a wide range of fine wines, craft beers, artisanal spirits and one of the most extensive rare-whisky selections in the city, with more than 70 varieties in its vintage wall cabinet. All rooms include free WiFi, large Samsung smart TVs, Egyptian cotton bedlinens and ensuites with Noble Isle products, and many Dunstane House rooms include Nespresso coffee machines, hand-made Vispring beds and Roberts digital radios. Five unique and spacious suites are located in Dunstane House, with dramatic features such as four-poster beds, freestanding copper roll-top baths in the bedroom, or sweeping views over the Edinburgh cityscape. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing