We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel with an extensive Malt Whisky range”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #9 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This charming hotel is impressive from first sight as one passes through the gate and the front garden towards the imposing entrance porch. And inside, the hotel continues to delight. Each member of staff that I met was both friendly and professional, from the ever-smiling Lucy on reception, who doubled up as a waitress, to her colleagues in the bar and restaurant. My evening meal of steak and ale pie was both well-presented and delicious, as was breakfast the following morning. My room, on the ground floor opposite reception, was very comfortable and well-appointed. But I save the best 'til last; as a whisky enthusiast and a huge fan of Highland Park Single Malt Whisky from the Isles of Orkney, I was most impressed by the range of malts presented alphabetically behind the bar. I started, and finished, on the letter 'H', Highland Park 18yo. Quite simply, Malt Whisky doesn't get any better than that. As a final thought, the city centre is easily walkable or there is even a bus-stop just outside the gate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ50B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,386)
There are newer reviews for The Dunstane Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

828 - 834 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

All the staff are professional, friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are plentiful and delicious, particularly the porridge. We stayed for 3 nights and ate at the hotel on one of the evenings. The meal was extremely enjoyable. The hotel is immaculately clean, well positioned and we would definitely book to stay again on our next trip to Edinburgh. Loved it. The staff are just lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Dunstane House Hotel is quite simply, a gorgeous building. The welcome we received was warm, and our interactions with staff was friendly and professional.

A few days before arriving, we received an email offering to upgrade to their four-poster bed room for an extra £40. We jumped at it, and were excited when we walked into a very spacious room, with arm chairs, a beautiful bed and a lovely ensuite bathroom.

Lying down on the bed, however, we had a bit of a surprise in the form of mirrors all over the bed "ceiling". It was funny and we enjoyed a bit of naughty banter about it, but it was a very weird addition to what was otherwise a really love period-style room.

Hotel location is fine, although the "10 minute walk" to Edinburgh city centre (advertised thus by staff) turned out to be more like 30. Still, it's a nice location, very comfortable hotel and worth the money we spent.

Room Tip: Do upgrade to the four-poster bed room if you can, and are ok waking to mirrors above you.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RinnyWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear RinnieWee

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! You are correct one of our four posters does have a mirrored bed which is quite a talking point amongst our guests! Not all of them do though so there is a choice to avoid this if you wish on your next visit!

I am so pleased you took the option to upgrade, it is so worth it if we have the larger rooms available - our luxury bedrooms are so special!

We do hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This gorgeous hotel has the most amazing staff. Extremely high level of customer service. The best that I've experienced in the 10 European countries I've visited. The rooms are absolutely charming, clean & comfortable. And it is quite a lovely walk to the city center. We loved our stay at the Dunstane that we cancelled an extra day in the highlands just to come back and enjoy the Dunstane and city of Edinburg one extra night. Hats off to their amazing staff. Great job ladies & gents!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delinahlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

WOW! Thank you so much for that wonderful praise - I am just going into a staff meeting so I will make sure that they all know what you have said. It really does make it worth while for them.

I really hope we see you the next time you are in Edinburgh - please let me know if you are coming again, I am sure I can organise you a special deal!

Best Wishes

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Randomly selected the Dunstane from Trip Advisor and so glad I did! All the staff we very friendly from the start. A special mention should go to Samantha and Kirsty who were smiling so much every time I saw them or asked for advice, I thought they may have just been given a pay rise? ( although in my opinion they should have!)
Rooms were spotless and clean, the breakfast very tasty and the location just right for the city centre £1.50 or a 10 minute walk. No lifts in the hotel which is why everyone looks so fit!!! Great experience and would recommend thoroughly.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BadBob100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hello!

It is so nice to hear your review after your stay! I am absolutely delighted that we impressed you and I do hope if you are ever in the area again you will remember us!

I look forward to seeing you in the future

Kind Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed in the main house – Room 14.

Arrived with mother at gate to find stairs – a struggle with 3 suitcases. Left my 60 year old mother outside and went in – the lovely Kirstie and James offered to help without any hesitation – James even delivered them to our room.

Check in very efficient , very friendly staff. Tour of dining room and then shown to room which was a great size, clean and nice amenities.

Breakfast was great, buffet and table service. Gluten free bread available!!! Fresh fruit also on table.

Nothing was to much trouble for the staff at these hotels. Kirstie was happy to book us into a day bus tour as we didn’t have a phone. We were also given maps, tips of where to go etc.

Ate dinner downstairs 3/5 of the nights we stayed. Met Jamie on the first night. Awesome guy – extremely helpful, very funny and all round lovely. Nothing was to hard for him.

Chef was able to modify dishes to suit dietary requirements.

Staff were calling us by name and always greeting us and asking how our day was.

Second dinner – they had run out of the two dishes that we had ordered. We had our first experience of a rude staff member (hadn't met her before) who just shrugged her shoulders at us. We requested a different waiter…all was good.

Laundry service was good also! Bathroom was very hot even with the fan on. Might just be us Australians!!

Check out was easy, Samantha very friendly and booked us a taxi and helped with luggage as did James again!!!

Would definitely recommend this place to family and friends, it is close to everything, 5 minutes from the train station and 15 minutes from the main city center.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosey-Rose123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hello!

thank you so much for remembering us upon your return home! And thank you for sharing your photo on Facebook also! Every little helps!

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we were happy to help you with the planning of your trips and luggage etc. Unfortunately because we are a listed building we don't have lifts but the staff are always on hand to help with bags! Don't hesitate to ask us!

I hope you remember us if you are ever in the UK again, it would be so lovely to have you back.

Thanks,

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have just returned from three nights at this hotel. It was excellent, the rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable, well furnished and serviced. Although on a busy road, the rooms were very quiet.
The food at the hotel restaurant was also very good, well prepared and presented. Breakfast excellent. Staff were welcoming and helpful . Just a few minutes by bus to Princess Street, the Dunstane is idea for the visitor to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyon1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear StKevins

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We are so pleased that you liked our hotel. Please come back and see us again soon, let me know when and I will be happy to sort out a great deal for you!

Kind Regards
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,856 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £114 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful corner of Edinburgh’s West End, a short walk from Haymarket and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, The Dunstane Houses is an independent, 35-bedroom boutique hotel spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Dating back to 1865, but inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, the family-run hotel combines heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors throughout Dunstane House and public ares of Hampton House have been stylishly redesigned to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. The newly opened Ba’ Bar & Lounge specialises in food made with local, seasonal Scottish produce from small suppliers, and hosts relaxed but refined all-day dining, including daily afternoon tea. It offers a wide range of fine wines, craft beers, artisanal spirits and one of the most extensive rare-whisky selections in the city, with more than 70 varieties in its vintage wall cabinet. All rooms include free WiFi, large Samsung smart TVs, Egyptian cotton bedlinens and ensuites with Noble Isle products, and many Dunstane House rooms include Nespresso coffee machines, hand-made Vispring beds and Roberts digital radios. Five unique and spacious suites are located in Dunstane House, with dramatic features such as four-poster beds, freestanding copper roll-top baths in the bedroom, or sweeping views over the Edinburgh cityscape. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing