We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The prefect retreat”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #14 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The prefect retreat”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I kicked off our honeymoon in Scotland at ths boutique hotel. Without hint or request we were upgraded free of charge on check in. The room was delightful and the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. We ate in their restuarant and relaxed in their bar. The prices were slightly high but the quality of food and drink and interactivity of the bar staff made it worth the extra pennies. So impressed were we that we re-booked an extra night 6 days later after road tripping around the country. Again we were upgraded on check in and the friendly staff had remembered us from our last stay.
From a quality perspective the hotel is in an ideal location, we were able to walk to all tourist sites and restuarants. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were great. The rooms were serviced to a high standard and I had no hesitations in leaving valuables out. My wife particularly enjoyed the refurbished chocolate marshmellow biscuits daily! The restuarant has a polished feel to it and presents itself in a clean yet cosy manner.
This is my first review on trip advisor as I thought it was very important to sing the praises of this fantastic hotel. We will definately be returning in the future!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillJames2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hello PhilJames2

I am honoured that we at The Dunstane are your first Trip Advisor review! Thank you so much! It means so much to the staff that they are recognized for their hard work. We do like to make our guests stays special and recognize special occasions like honeymoons and anniversaries when we can. I am glad we were able to make yours that extra bit special.

I look forward to seeing you on your anniversary!!

Best wishes

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    323
    78
    25
    16
See reviews for
139
817
67
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The excellent service from the staff started from the minute I booked the room. I advised that my wife has coeliac disease when booking and they stated that they would be able to provide a gluten free breakfast and they had superb knowledge on cross contamination, which made the stay more relaxing for my wife as she always worries that it's is often misunderstood about what is acceptable. The excellent service then continued when we arrived. we arrived later than expected which messed up the eating arrangements as we were limited by time as we were going to see a show. The extensive knowledge of the young lady on the reception was invaluable. She did mention that she also suffers from coeliac disease and went beyond the call of duty to find somewhere we could eat, calling restaurants etc - but in the end as we were restricted by time, the chef was asked what could be made gluten free - which was almost everything on the menu but they had just had delivery of some fresh mackerel and that he could do this with some vegetables if my wife was a fan of fish. The same young lady also made enquiries to when the show was going to start as there was some misunderstanding on the tickets and website and also ordered a taxi so that we weren't late. We were very impressed and the rest of the staff were just as attentive and friendly making sure that we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable.
The room was huge and immaculately presented, the bed has to be one of the comfiest that I have ever slept in and was that big that my wife actually thought at one point that I had got up and gone for a walk (albeit in the middle of the night). There was everything you needed in the room; tea and coffee making facilities, comfortable chairs for relaxing in the bay windows - watching life drift past. My only negative would be the temperature of the room at night, it was hot even when we had the windows open. If we had been staying longer than one night, I would have figured out the heating arrangements and dealt with it. Other than that, the hotel staff made my first visit to Edinburgh one that I will remember for a long time to come and my wife and I are already planning our return trip to Edinburgh with the children and will I be booking our accommodation at the Dunstane again... YES I will.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hello there

Thank you so much for your comments, I am so pleased Lucy was able to help you iron out the creases in your stay! Our customer service is our key focus here at Dunstane and the staff are so happy to help with any questions or problems.

We would be more than happy to show you the workings of the central heating next time to make your stay even more comfortable!

Best wishes

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Myself and my husband stayed for one night on my 30th birthday in April.

This was our first visit to Edinburgh and we were not disappointed. The hotel staff were welcoming and attentive throughout our stay.

The room was spotless and comfortable and had a unique charm about it.

There was an Easter event taking place in the grounds of the hotel and a basket of creme eggs for the customers on the counter, a special touch that you rarely see in hotels now.

The staff at the hotel were happy to recommend things to do in Edinburgh and went out of their way to ensure we knew where we were going and felt comfortable in the area. We did not have much time to explore the area however the walk to Edinburgh city centre was a ten minute enjoyable stroll and there were plenty of sights to see and shops to enjoy, all amazingly open until 7pm which if you are from London like us is a novelty on a Sunday!

After a comfortable nights sleep and a lovely hot shower we had a cooked breakfast in the quaint restaurant in the hotel. The food was lovely and just what was needed on a cold Scottish morning.

We had a lovely stay here and with only one night to enjoy Edinburgh we could not have picked a better hotel.

Thank you to all of the staff at the Dunstane House Hotel for a truly lovely experience. We hope to return sometime soon.

Ian and Siobhan Pritchard

Room Tip: Swimming Pool and Fitness Centre NA
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuckoo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hello Ian and Siobhan

What a lovely start to the day! Thanks you so much for such great feedback. The Easter fun day was such a great day and I am so pleased you got to share in it! Everyone loves a basket of cream eggs on reception!!

Hope to see you again next Easter!

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Good location within easy reach of the city. Our room was spotless and stylishly presented.
The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Breakfast deserves a special mention, just about the best we have ever had in a hotel, all freshly cooked to order.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello John W

Thank you so much for your comments. What a compliment about our breakfast! I am delighted you enjoyed it - hopefully next time you can try the Skerries in the evening and let us know how we do!

Thanks again,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was a great experience, the staff is most helpful and always there for guests. The restaurant was superb in our opinion and the bar area very comfortable. Our room was exactly as advertised. We highly recommend Dunstane house and will stay there again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review on here to help future guests. We do like to provide exactly what we advertise and I am glad you found it so! The staff are excellent I agree and it makes their day when they get a mention on here so I will be sure to tell them!

Thanks again,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A relaxing break in a lovely hotel. rooms were in the basement which was very handy as there was a conservatory attached which we could relax in. Very peaceful but within easy reach to all ammenities of the city centre.Very friendly staff and knowelagable.

Room Tip: the basement rooms are great. nice and quiet. you can go outside without disturbing anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello Helen405

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your room in the Townhouse. The rooms on the Lower ground floor by the conservatory are lovely and peaceful. It is such a nice suntrap at this time of year! Although it feels like a 'basement' all the rooms have windows and access to the lovely garden conservatory is a bonus.

I do hope we can welcome you again to The Dunstane

Kind Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A bijoux hotel in the West End of Edinburgh. The main building is set back from the main road, so traffic noise is not a problem. Very difficult to find fault in any department. The restaurant deserves your custom. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lomondbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Property: The Dunstane Hotel
Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful corner of Edinburgh’s West End, a short walk from Haymarket and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, The Dunstane Houses is an independent, 35-bedroom boutique hotel spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Dating back to 1865, but inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, the family-run hotel combines heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors throughout Dunstane House and public ares of Hampton House have been stylishly redesigned to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. The newly opened Ba’ Bar & Lounge specialises in food made with local, seasonal Scottish produce from small suppliers, and hosts relaxed but refined all-day dining, including daily afternoon tea. It offers a wide range of fine wines, craft beers, artisanal spirits and one of the most extensive rare-whisky selections in the city, with more than 70 varieties in its vintage wall cabinet. All rooms include free WiFi, large Samsung smart TVs, Egyptian cotton bedlinens and ensuites with Noble Isle products, and many Dunstane House rooms include Nespresso coffee machines, hand-made Vispring beds and Roberts digital radios. Five unique and spacious suites are located in Dunstane House, with dramatic features such as four-poster beds, freestanding copper roll-top baths in the bedroom, or sweeping views over the Edinburgh cityscape. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing