We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure relaxation in a well located hotel”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #14 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pure relaxation in a well located hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here last month while meeting friends in Edinburgh. The hotel location was ideal as was only a short walk into the city centre. The hotel was clean staff very attentive and the food excellent. As other reviews have said the attention to detail was second to none. Staff could not do enough for us. Well located and made for an excellent stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creview11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    323
    78
    25
    16
See reviews for
139
817
67
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed with a group of friends Monday to Thursday. The rooms were clean and comfortable with good bathroom facilities. We had not appreciated that we would be in the smaller hotel across the road from the main hotel. It is very pleasant but as we were visiting during a very hot week, those of us in the front of the hotel found the traffic very noisy with the window open. Those in the back of the hotel had a very hot room, but suitable fans were provided on the second night. The staff could not have been more helpful. The breakfast was excellent. There is a bus stop immediately outside the hotel which is convenient for a trip into the centre if you don't want to walk. The airport bus also stops there.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the smaller hotel are noisy if you need the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueShr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello SueShr

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your coments about our hotel in Edinburgh! You are right we did suffer with the heat that week but I hope we did all we could to make you comfortable. We are not used to such weather up here! Took us completely by surprise but at least you were lucky enough to experience it during your stay and not the usual rain!

The brand new fans we have purchased on your suggestion seem to be working wonders!

Thanks

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. Staff was friendly and the room was beautiful. Within easy walking distance to city centre, as well as being near the airport. Would definitely recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the dunstane city hotel for 2 nights. We were a bit unsure when we first booked in because we were sent across the main road from the reception but when we got to our rooms on the ground floor we found them to be very clean, comfortable and well equipped. The staff were superb, very friendly and helpful. The hotel is well situated with good links into the centre of the city but far enough away to make it quite. Our room was at the back of the hotel so this may have helped. We came to see Tom Jones in concert and had a great time in Edinburgh itself. What a great city to visit and the dunstane helped to made it a great few days.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello Michael C

thank you so much for taking the time to review us on here! It is so beneficial for us that future guests have the chance to hear from yourselves about your stay. I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves and had the benefit or our quiet and well presented Townhouse rooms.

Come and see us again soon!

Thanks

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I am torn with this hotel, my partner booked this hotel as a Christmas gift to me and he had booked the Dunstane HOUSE hotel however upon arrival we were sent across the road to the Dunstane City, maybe my partner was mixed up but the booking did say Dunstane house. Anyway... The receptionist at the City hotel was friendly but we were shown to a basement room with a lovely view of a brick wall and a tiny window which we had to climb to reach we were disappointed with this. The room was clean the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was also clean with the usual toiletries etc. the room was nicely furnished with enough space for our things and a suitcase. we never ate at the restaurant so cannot comment on the food. I understand over Christmas it is busy but for what we got it was too expensive. Sorry but there are better hotels in Edinburgh for the same price and we won't be back. Would have loved to be in the House hotel but it was not meant to be?

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank targaryenfire_blood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascade, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was definitely a delightful place to stay. Glad we had three days there. It's a few miles out from Inverness near the sweet little town of Dores right on Loch Ness. The lane down to the house is narrow and in June was lined with foxglove wildflowers...big and beautiful. Cows across the road from the house and horses and a donkey just below. Wonderful place to take a walk along the country lanes. The hosts were delightful and very helpful. Breakfast was in a very thoughtfully attractive room and was really good. Couldn't have been any better. Glad we chose Antfield House.

Room Tip: Dores Inn just down the street is an excellent pub with award winning food. We ate there twice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sondra27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Loved the location and value of the Dunstane - 10 minute walk to the city, perhaps 25 minutes to Edinburgh Castle. Also on bus lines. Service was perfect and the bar and restaurant were good. After some juggling with the front desk, I was assigned comfortable room. Because the Dunstane is an older hotel, made up of two very different buildings, I do recommend getting detail on your specific room when making your reservation or at check-in to make sure the size and comfort-level are right for you. Some of the rooms are unusually shaped with challenging navigation and a tight w/c.

Room Tip: Get detail on your specific room at booking or at check-in. Some of the rooms are of unusual shape a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello there

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. Other guests find it so useful when choosing a hotel so reviews are so important to us.

I am glad our reception was able to find you a lovely room, you are correct all our rooms are different shapes and sizes - one of the wonderful parts of having a 160 year old building! You really do get the character.

i do hope we get to welcome you again and you can sample some different room catagories. If you are planning on spending a lot of time in the room then we do suggest a deluxe room or a luxury room as these are our more spacious room types.

Thanks again,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Property: The Dunstane Hotel
Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful corner of Edinburgh’s West End, a short walk from Haymarket and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, The Dunstane Houses is an independent, 35-bedroom boutique hotel spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Dating back to 1865, but inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, the family-run hotel combines heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors throughout Dunstane House and public ares of Hampton House have been stylishly redesigned to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. The newly opened Ba’ Bar & Lounge specialises in food made with local, seasonal Scottish produce from small suppliers, and hosts relaxed but refined all-day dining, including daily afternoon tea. It offers a wide range of fine wines, craft beers, artisanal spirits and one of the most extensive rare-whisky selections in the city, with more than 70 varieties in its vintage wall cabinet. All rooms include free WiFi, large Samsung smart TVs, Egyptian cotton bedlinens and ensuites with Noble Isle products, and many Dunstane House rooms include Nespresso coffee machines, hand-made Vispring beds and Roberts digital radios. Five unique and spacious suites are located in Dunstane House, with dramatic features such as four-poster beds, freestanding copper roll-top baths in the bedroom, or sweeping views over the Edinburgh cityscape. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing