We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dunstane Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$251
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$325
US$258
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$328
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$347
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$169
US$137
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,453)
Filter reviews
1,453 results
Traveller rating
991
339
81
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
991
339
81
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskerries restaurantmolton brown toiletriessister hotel across the roadcity centremain buildingboutique hotelluxury roomlovely hotelbus stop rightfour poster bedminute walknespresso machinehaymarket stationkippersbusy roadhonesty barbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
829 - 834 of 1,453 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed in the Dunstane for 10 nights.
The hotel itself is a lovely building situated around 20 minutes walk into the heart of Princes Street. Taking the route into the centre from the one of the side streets is recommended as some very nice buildings and a nicer walk to the main attractions. Also situated very close to Haymarket station.
The staff were extremely friendly and although we had no issues I am sure they would have assisted had it been required.
The room itself was clean and tidy but slightly compact which was the only let down to our stay but I wouldn't let that put me off returning.
Overall a very nice stay in a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello Andy R

Thank you for taking the time to review us! Its was a pleasure having you to stay for so long - it really is nice to get to know our guests who stay with us for longer periods.

Next time why not book a deluxe for some extra space? This may make it slightly more comfortable for you. We do hope to see you again soon!

Thanks

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The decision of my husband and myself to splurge on ourselves with a Luxury Room paid off in a big way, when we walked into the Blue Room and it took our breath away! We had been tasked with putting together the "trip of a lifetime" for some elderly friends we were traveling with, who wanted to see Scotland and Ireland. The midpoint of the trip was to be two nights in Edinburgh before we flew out to Ireland, and we decided to do something special for ourselves for those nights.
On checking in, we found out that their room had been upgraded at no charge, so that they were next to us in a lovely deluxe room, and we had the Blue Room at the very front, off the lobby. I can only say that the photos do not do justice to this room! From the high cove ceilings to the big front windows to the meticulously coordinated room decor, this room is spectacular! So also is the large marble bathroom with heated floor, full tub, and a shower we dubbed "the Transporter." Lots of amenities, from the toiletries to water and glasses on a table.The size and furnishings allowed us to entertain our friends in our room for hours, savoring the view of the front garden. And the bed was incredibly comfortable!
The staff were all attentive, and we also enjoyed the selection of single malt scotch in the bar. They allowed us to take drinks to enjoy with our friends in the lovely Blue Room.
The food in the dining room, like everything else, was impeccable, and breakfast was the best of our trip.
Parking was cramped, but we managed to find a space behind the hotel. And it came with the bonus of meeting up with some folks who were taking out their '29 Bentley (stored beyond the parking lot wall) for a ride. As that is one of my favorite antique autos, that was a real treat!
The handy location of the bus stop was a real boon, as our friends are 82 and 77, and not up to long walks. And I will NOT drive in downtown Edinburgh! I have noted that the airport bus also stops there, and intend to take advantage of it for a return visit, as I have decided there definitely will be one, when we return to Scotland again!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with a luxury room! Ours was fantastic!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

WOW thank you so much for such a glowing review! It means so much to us when we hear how much our guests enjoy our fabulous luxury boutique bedrooms. I am so pleased you treated yourselves to one, they are so worth it! The staff will be delighted you found them obliging and I am glad you got to see a lot of Edinburgh!

We do hope to welcome you back to The Dunstane soon - why not try the Luxury townhouse or the City 19 suite next time!

Thanks
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Dunstane for two nights during a recent trip to Edinburgh. It was lovely. Well-kept with a friendly and helpful staff. They helped us book tours and find our way around, and were consistently cheerful and pleasant. The breakfast was reliably good and the accommodations very comfortable. It's a bit of a walk to the city center and main attractions, but we're used to walking and enjoyed the exercise. It was, overall, a great place to stay.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank JCoopMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Dunstane for,two nights. We were placed across the street from the main hotel. Rooms were perfectly clean and adequate but furnished with no charm whatsoever. Main hotel has more character. . Breakfast was good and served in a lovely setting. Not as close to city center as we had believed based on previous reviews. About 30 minute walk and the bus, while convenient, took even longer. I'd rather stay closer to,the center in a place with more comfortably decorated rooms. Again, service and cleanliness were just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our stay at The Dunstane was exceptional. A beautiful room with a king size bed, wonderful food for both breakfast and dinner, and wonderful service! Caroline is a treasure as you check in and helpful to ensure you have everything you need. If you are planning a visit to Edinburgh this is THE place to stay. Just a short bus ride into town and not far from the airport with the transportation just outside the door. Not to be missed!

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi Kim

Thank you so much for that, Caroline will be so chuffed at the name mention! I'll tell her as soon as she gets in! Thank you for taking the time to let other travellers know where we are and what we do! It is so useful to us at The Dunstane - word of mouth does so much!

I hope we can welcome you again

Thanks

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews