We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Breakfast but Avoid the Garden Level”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #14 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast but Avoid the Garden Level”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This is very nice place with two distinctly different personalities. The traditional side is across the street from the modern. The modern room we had was below ground and quite dark and claustrophobic. The tradional side ( where the breakfast is served) is bright and beautiful. Make sure you bring your own adapters; they say they have them but they do not.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hi there

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments. I am sure it will help inform guests in the future. Just so as they are not confused to clarify about the room types, the Petite double rooms and Standard doubles are smaller in size than other rooms types but we have all room types in both buildings so it really depends what you book as to whether your room will be large/small etc not really on the building. There are some lovely spacious room with high ceilings over at the Townhouse too!

We do certainly have adapters at reception however we dont have one per guest unfortunately so if they are all being used it is difficult for other guests. We always encourage you to bring your own so you are not inconvenienced at all

Thanks again,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    323
    78
    25
    16
See reviews for
139
817
67
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

hotel staff very friendly and accommodating . great breakfast, lots of choice . hotel situated within walking distance of city and attractions .Also bus route right outside .quite location .all as stated on the web site.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snaith
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed in the Dunstane for 10 nights.
The hotel itself is a lovely building situated around 20 minutes walk into the heart of Princes Street. Taking the route into the centre from the one of the side streets is recommended as some very nice buildings and a nicer walk to the main attractions. Also situated very close to Haymarket station.
The staff were extremely friendly and although we had no issues I am sure they would have assisted had it been required.
The room itself was clean and tidy but slightly compact which was the only let down to our stay but I wouldn't let that put me off returning.
Overall a very nice stay in a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello Andy R

Thank you for taking the time to review us! Its was a pleasure having you to stay for so long - it really is nice to get to know our guests who stay with us for longer periods.

Next time why not book a deluxe for some extra space? This may make it slightly more comfortable for you. We do hope to see you again soon!

Thanks

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The decision of my husband and myself to splurge on ourselves with a Luxury Room paid off in a big way, when we walked into the Blue Room and it took our breath away! We had been tasked with putting together the "trip of a lifetime" for some elderly friends we were traveling with, who wanted to see Scotland and Ireland. The midpoint of the trip was to be two nights in Edinburgh before we flew out to Ireland, and we decided to do something special for ourselves for those nights.
On checking in, we found out that their room had been upgraded at no charge, so that they were next to us in a lovely deluxe room, and we had the Blue Room at the very front, off the lobby. I can only say that the photos do not do justice to this room! From the high cove ceilings to the big front windows to the meticulously coordinated room decor, this room is spectacular! So also is the large marble bathroom with heated floor, full tub, and a shower we dubbed "the Transporter." Lots of amenities, from the toiletries to water and glasses on a table.The size and furnishings allowed us to entertain our friends in our room for hours, savoring the view of the front garden. And the bed was incredibly comfortable!
The staff were all attentive, and we also enjoyed the selection of single malt scotch in the bar. They allowed us to take drinks to enjoy with our friends in the lovely Blue Room.
The food in the dining room, like everything else, was impeccable, and breakfast was the best of our trip.
Parking was cramped, but we managed to find a space behind the hotel. And it came with the bonus of meeting up with some folks who were taking out their '29 Bentley (stored beyond the parking lot wall) for a ride. As that is one of my favorite antique autos, that was a real treat!
The handy location of the bus stop was a real boon, as our friends are 82 and 77, and not up to long walks. And I will NOT drive in downtown Edinburgh! I have noted that the airport bus also stops there, and intend to take advantage of it for a return visit, as I have decided there definitely will be one, when we return to Scotland again!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with a luxury room! Ours was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
WOW thank you so much for such a glowing review! It means so much to us when we hear how much our guests enjoy our fabulous luxury boutique bedrooms. I am so pleased you treated yourselves to one, they are so worth it! The staff will be delighted you found them obliging and I am glad you got to see a lot of Edinburgh!

We do hope to welcome you back to The Dunstane soon - why not try the Luxury townhouse or the City 19 suite next time!

Thanks
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Dunstane for two nights during a recent trip to Edinburgh. It was lovely. Well-kept with a friendly and helpful staff. They helped us book tours and find our way around, and were consistently cheerful and pleasant. The breakfast was reliably good and the accommodations very comfortable. It's a bit of a walk to the city center and main attractions, but we're used to walking and enjoyed the exercise. It was, overall, a great place to stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JCoopMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Dunstane for,two nights. We were placed across the street from the main hotel. Rooms were perfectly clean and adequate but furnished with no charm whatsoever. Main hotel has more character. . Breakfast was good and served in a lovely setting. Not as close to city center as we had believed based on previous reviews. About 30 minute walk and the bus, while convenient, took even longer. I'd rather stay closer to,the center in a place with more comfortably decorated rooms. Again, service and cleanliness were just fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our stay at The Dunstane was exceptional. A beautiful room with a king size bed, wonderful food for both breakfast and dinner, and wonderful service! Caroline is a treasure as you check in and helpful to ensure you have everything you need. If you are planning a visit to Edinburgh this is THE place to stay. Just a short bus ride into town and not far from the airport with the transportation just outside the door. Not to be missed!

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Kim

Thank you so much for that, Caroline will be so chuffed at the name mention! I'll tell her as soon as she gets in! Thank you for taking the time to let other travellers know where we are and what we do! It is so useful to us at The Dunstane - word of mouth does so much!

I hope we can welcome you again

Thanks

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Property: The Dunstane Hotel
Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful corner of Edinburgh’s West End, a short walk from Haymarket and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, The Dunstane Houses is an independent, 35-bedroom boutique hotel spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Dating back to 1865, but inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, the family-run hotel combines heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors throughout Dunstane House and public ares of Hampton House have been stylishly redesigned to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. The newly opened Ba’ Bar & Lounge specialises in food made with local, seasonal Scottish produce from small suppliers, and hosts relaxed but refined all-day dining, including daily afternoon tea. It offers a wide range of fine wines, craft beers, artisanal spirits and one of the most extensive rare-whisky selections in the city, with more than 70 varieties in its vintage wall cabinet. All rooms include free WiFi, large Samsung smart TVs, Egyptian cotton bedlinens and ensuites with Noble Isle products, and many Dunstane House rooms include Nespresso coffee machines, hand-made Vispring beds and Roberts digital radios. Five unique and spacious suites are located in Dunstane House, with dramatic features such as four-poster beds, freestanding copper roll-top baths in the bedroom, or sweeping views over the Edinburgh cityscape. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing