We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scam”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #10 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Scam”
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Beware that although the cancelllation policy stipulate 7 days, you will not get a refund for even 30 days notice for a cancellation for medical reasons. Too bad - we're rebooking for next year but certainly not staying here.
Susan from Toronto

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank angusoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotel, Owner at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2009
I am terribly sorry to hear that you feel that you have been badly treated by our hotel. Unfortunately there seems to have been some miscommunication between our reservations team and yourself as you were refunded your money (as per the terms and conditions of the booking) today as agreed by email. You were refunded the amount that we managed to resell your room for, unfortunately this was slightly cheaper as the room was only resold on the day to a walk in guest. Once again, Dunstane Hotels apologies for any inconvenience or distress caused and we do hope you enjoy your stay in Scotland next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    328
    80
    25
    16
See reviews for
148
835
72
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I booked this hotel as a romantic trip with my girlfriend as i had pre planned to prpose to her whilst staying here. I contacted the hotel 1 month previous to our stay to request something special to celebrate our engagement. The lady i spoke to said that it was not a problem that we would recieve a complimentary upgrade of our room, and prehaps some flowers. She stated that she make a note of it on our booking and it would all be arranged on arrival. Once we arrived at the hotel i spoke to the lady and she had no clue of this, and stated that she needed to speak to the management across the street at the Dunstaine house. The management with no hint of an appology stated that they did not give anythin complimentary without charging us. This would not have been a problem, as i would have been more that willing to pay for any services, but was extreemly annoyed that i had been informed otherwise. Plus i had been informed that it would cost a stupid amount for anything extra! I took the mind that it would be worth spending that money elsewhere, such as a nice meal instead, and as a result did this and recieved excellent service,and a complimentary bottle of champagne at the brilliant GUSTO restaurant in Edinburgh. We have stayed at many 'Boutique' style hotels for similar prices and recieved standards of service that far exceeded this hotel. We did not even have our bed made properly after the first day, and the miniture toiletries were never replenished, even though you used them all in a day due to the size!! Overall i would not reccomend this hotel to anyone wanting somthing special for an ABOVE AVERAGE price. This hotel spolit what should have been a very special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blakey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capital
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We arrived from london and we were anxious to find this hotel. And we were right!!
It s a nice hotel, very comfortable, very clean, and good service.
It s a bit away from the center but you can get to the center via bus or taxi for 6 pounds
great place! if you are going to edinburgh, stay there!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonikaCapital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Arrived at 3pm to a welcoming reception. The hotel is very bright and modern with all mod cons that you may need.
The room was very clean, airy and bright. The Molton brown produces in the bathroom is what made it for me as I had a long soak in the lovely bathroom.
The bar has everything you need and as long as its sunny the outside has a lovely little sun trap to enjoy a nice glass of wine.

Recomended!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatandJo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I've just return from 5 nights stay in Dunstane House.We have stay me and my family (2 kids) in Large Four Poster room which was very nice and traditional. I have to say that the staff is very helpfull and very kind,the location of the hotel is excellent. Arriving at the airport you take the bus number 100 and the stop is just outside the hotel. Is not far from city center walking but they have alot of buses going there. The breakfast is good not excellent
I have no complains for this hotel I think is very nice stay (you think that you live in your own house) and I definately will stay there next time I am going to visit Edinburgh. By the way Edinburgh is a very beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,120 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,833 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
957 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Property: The Dunstane Hotel
Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful corner of Edinburgh’s West End, a short walk from Haymarket and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, The Dunstane Houses is an independent, 35-bedroom boutique hotel spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Dating back to 1865, but inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, the family-run hotel combines heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors throughout Dunstane House and public ares of Hampton House have been stylishly redesigned to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. The newly opened Ba’ Bar & Lounge specialises in food made with local, seasonal Scottish produce from small suppliers, and hosts relaxed but refined all-day dining, including daily afternoon tea. It offers a wide range of fine wines, craft beers, artisanal spirits and one of the most extensive rare-whisky selections in the city, with more than 70 varieties in its vintage wall cabinet. All rooms include free WiFi, large Samsung smart TVs, Egyptian cotton bedlinens and ensuites with Noble Isle products, and many Dunstane House rooms include Nespresso coffee machines, hand-made Vispring beds and Roberts digital radios. Five unique and spacious suites are located in Dunstane House, with dramatic features such as four-poster beds, freestanding copper roll-top baths in the bedroom, or sweeping views over the Edinburgh cityscape. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing