We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base from which to explore Edinburgh”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #9 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed at Dunstane House for three nights and were very impressed. I decided to choose this hotel because of the good trip advisor reports and the fact that it had car parking and a bus outside that took you straight into the city. It did prove an excellent choice. Parking is limited but there is also a lot of free street parking just outside, we started off there and moved into the car park as soon as there was a space, after that we did not use our car until we left. Our twin, en-suite room was a good size and very comfortable, the staff were all very helpful and the whole ambiance was one of quiet elegance, very suitable for a building of this character. The breakfasts were very good and we ate in the bar each evening, the menu was not very extensive but the food was good and a reasonable price. We would certainly stay here again if in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
There are newer reviews for The Dunstane Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,258 - 1,264 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2009

Stayed here for two nights week before Edinburgh festival. Was a surprise trip for spouse who was reaching a milestone birthday so was careful to try get nice place. Reviews were generally good so was happy with choice before going. Good stuff first........ Staff very pleasant and helpful, always a smile inclusing cleaning staff - management are lucky to have them I'd say. Very clean and bathroom a good size with good shower and bathroom products. Bed very comfortable and sheets cotton and crisp. Tea and coffee making facilities good. Breakfast standard but good.. The downside for us was the size of the room. I'll take a bit of the blame for this as I probably should have booked a superior double but to be honest the rate paid(which I was told by a staff member was a special rate - the normal rate is £37 more expensive per night!!!!!!!) was excessive for the room size. No view out of window and the ceiling really low, I'm 6' 2" and could easily touch ceiling by reaching up. Asked at receiption for upgrade if available - obviously was willing to pay but was quoted another £40 per night so decided not to. The room we had was downstairs and the noise from room above us was very audible. Thankfully the occupants didn't rise too early or it would have been a real problem. We went accross to the bar at the Dunstane House Hotel accross the road to have a drink and a look as I was considering booking a meal in the restaurant for the night of my wife's birthday. The bar is a nice small size but furniture, decor and cleanliness certainly not what you would expect in a 4*. It'll take you 20-25 minutes to get to Princes St. on foot so take the buses that stop just outside the hotelook a quick look into the restaurant but for us the decor and general feel of the place not to our liking. Would I stay at the Dunstane City again? Maybe... but would not book standard double, and would need a better price to be honest for the standard. Have decided to give thumbs up for recommendation but with the caveats outlined above and for the niceness of the people working there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

I stayed here with my husband and our two sons (15 and 4). We arrived in the early evening and were made to feel most welcome on check in. We'd had to park the car across some gates in the car park but the staff said it was no problem and just leave the keys so that they would move if needed. We were shown to our rooms (a double and a twin). Both were lovely rooms, traditional and warm. The boys had room service whilst we dined in Skerries. The food for both was excellent. I can thoroughly recomend the monkfish and my husband, a steak connossieur, reckoned the fillet was one of the best he's had in a hotel restaurant. The only complaint was that it was so hot in the rooms and the beds had very thick quilts and bedspreads! Im sure needed for most of the year in scotland but not on our visit. The next day we had a lovely breakfast and checked out. We were able to leave the car at the hotel and spend a lovely day in Edinburgh before heading home that night.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scouselova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights whilst in edinburgh. The hotel was nice but for the price of it I do not think it is of a high enough standard. The reception area is beautiful but on reaching our room I was quite disappointed. Although ok they were v small with such a low ceiling and really dark. The view outside the window was so ugly that I had to close the blind!! There was a funny lingering smell in the room also, I hated it. The molton brown products were tiny and they were not replaced in the morning which greatly disappointed me!!! The breakfast was not too impressive- it was ok but you had to be down early enough or you might not get much- I got the last crossiant one morning!! Long walk to city centre but bus service was excellent. Overall ,just ok but not good enough for the price of it- I wouldn't put it as 4 stars- no way!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Button27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights in one of the rooms with four poster beds in, the room was fantastic and very romantic. We arrived lunchtime and were able to check in to our room straight away, before walking into the city centre (about 20 mins away). The Hotel was clean and tidy with very good service given by the friendly staff. Breakfast comprised of cereals, toast, fruit juices and cooked breakfast which sets you up for the day. There is a restaurant and a bar. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the food and service were very good in the bar (also the bar was well stocked with close to 100 whiskies to choose from). Car Parking is a bit of a squeeze but we found a space. Overall a great place for a romantic stay in Edinburgh

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brockers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We have just came back from a weekend in Edinburgh. We had previously been in February and stayed at the Dunstane City Hotel. It's lovely and the first time we went the service was great, staff were friendly and the hotel was a good location for getting to the city centre.

We decided to book the same place again since we enjoyed it so much the last time. However, having booked a similar room on Laterooms we ended up getting a smaller room (with only a shower - when Laterooms had said that it would have a bath and a shower) and there was also no access to the free wi-fi to check the local attractions and restaurants (the hotel has specified that there is wi-fi throughout the whole hotel!).

Apart from that the room was lovely decorated as it was the last time we went. We also got breakfast in bed again which was nice.

The only disappointment to the hotel was the lack of communication between the Dunstane City hotel staff and the stuff at the Dunstane House. When we had checked in we had given the receptionist our vehicle registration plate. Within 10 minutes of being in our room we were phoned and asked to move our car which was apparently parked in a space that was blocking an entrance. This wasn't a problem, however when my boyfriend went to move the car he realised it wasn't parked anywhere near an entrance and was in a parking bay opposite the hotel - he also told the receptionist this!

Later that night we went out for a meal and a few drinks - later on in the night i was left with two missed calls from the hotel and a voicemail saying that it was our car that was blocking the entrance and could we come back and move it as soon as possible!!! Panicking because we had both had a drink and were quite far from the hotel I phoned and told them that we were unable to move the car and to make sure it was definetly our car - turns out that it was a different car and there was a mix up. I told the guy to tell the other receptionist so that there was no other confusion for the rest of our stay.

Later when we had returned to our room there was a note telling us that "it is" our car and we have to move it by 9am the next morning!!! We ended up having to go out the hotel about 1:30am to check that our car was definetly not blocking any sort of entrance.

At around 9am we received a phone call (which woke us up!!!) to tell us to move our car!!! By this point we were fed up and annoyed and had to tell the guy that it wasn't our car and that the registration plate wasn't even the same as ours!

When we were leaving the hotel the receptionist (who was lovely) apologised and hoped that it didn't ruin our stay at the hotel. We wanted a relaxing weekend but we were pestered and interrupted due to "this car". If only they had checked our details in the first place and had actually listened to us the first time we had told them that it wasn't our car there wouldn't have been this problem!

I would recommend it as it is lovely for a weekend away and maybe this was only a on-off!! It is a lovely hotel (which is the reason why we went back!) but this has kind of put us off going back again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emsmclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotel, Owner at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2009

Thank you very much for your comments. We are definitely aware of the situation and we apologise again for the inconvenience caused. The fault was totally ours, however more than a lack of communication it was the incompetence of a single member of staff who was incapable of reading a registration number off a registration card after being asked repeatedly to check and double check.

It is not our policy to contact a guest during their stay on their mobile phone unless in an emergency, this should not have occured and again we apologise.

The member of staff in question has been reprimanded appropriately and is undergoing further training and closer supervision by our management.

Once again Dunstane City Hotel apologises and we do hope you take up our offer of a free upgrade on your next visit to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Excellent accomodation - room on small side but very modern and clean - Moulton bath products replaced regularly as they ran out - Room slightly warm but fan provided instantly. Would definatly recommend this Hotel. Beautiful evening meals across road at sister hotel which also had friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maturecoupleNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,855 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
980 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £112 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful corner of Edinburgh’s West End, a short walk from Haymarket and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, The Dunstane Houses is an independent, 35-bedroom boutique hotel spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Dating back to 1865, but inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, the family-run hotel combines heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors throughout Dunstane House and public ares of Hampton House have been stylishly redesigned to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. The newly opened Ba’ Bar & Lounge specialises in food made with local, seasonal Scottish produce from small suppliers, and hosts relaxed but refined all-day dining, including daily afternoon tea. It offers a wide range of fine wines, craft beers, artisanal spirits and one of the most extensive rare-whisky selections in the city, with more than 70 varieties in its vintage wall cabinet. All rooms include free WiFi, large Samsung smart TVs, Egyptian cotton bedlinens and ensuites with Noble Isle products, and many Dunstane House rooms include Nespresso coffee machines, hand-made Vispring beds and Roberts digital radios. Five unique and spacious suites are located in Dunstane House, with dramatic features such as four-poster beds, freestanding copper roll-top baths in the bedroom, or sweeping views over the Edinburgh cityscape. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing