We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff who made us so welcome and provided lovely food.”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #13 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great staff who made us so welcome and provided lovely food.”
Reviewed 11 July 2010

we held a small family wedding at the Dunstane at very short notice. The Hotel couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Especially thanks to Sam for her organisation. All our guests loved the setting and the delicious evening meal. Breakfasts were very good with room service where needed.
Many of the guests have the Dunstane earmarked for a return visit.
The hotel is in an excellent location to visit the city with a bus stop at the front door for both city and airport buses.
Don't pass up the chance to sample its hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anneZ1683VF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    320
    78
    24
    16
See reviews for
137
809
66
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

What a nice hotel this is. The staff must be the friendliest in Edinburgh, especially Gemma on reception. Our bedroom was small and up two flights of stairs but we only had hand luggage and they did offer to help. We had dinner elsewhere in Edinburgh but breakfast in the hotel was great. The kippers were the best we had ever tasted! The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre but I have difficulty walking and it was just a short taxi ride away. I would certainly recommend the hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We enjoyed our break away, this was our first time stay in Edinburgh, Hotel is well located, convenient bus stop, pleasant walk into Edinburgh.
Found the room was small particularly the bathroom but apart from that was perfect.
We ate in the restaurant on our first night, menu was unusual , not really to my taste and I didnt really enjoy we ate in the bar the next two nights, great value and choice, would really recommend.
Great toiletries, Moulton Brown, not replenished on one occasion but that was soon rectified when mentioned to the reception staff
Would use again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twosomeHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Stayed her for a weekend break. It was great the staff especially Gemma on the front desk who was very welcoming and friendly.

We stayed in the larger 4 poster room and whilst not disappointed I am 6* 3" and there was what I can only describe as a filler between the matrass and the bed end at the top, it meant that my feet dangled over the end to get a goodnights sleep.

The room was nice but for the price I would have expected digital TV . Not the end of the world as the only thing that would have been on was the election.

Had the set meal in the restaurant on the first night and this was OK. The desert was lemon crepes and whilst I don't want to insult the chef I think they were Auntie Bessies !!

Would I stay here again ....... absolutely thoroughly enjoyed it nice friendly hotel where you are made to feel welcome and not just another paying customer.

Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gibbsy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Located a 10 min walk from Haymarket station, this hotel is modern and cute. It has a little bar area downstairs and uses the restaurant at its sister hotel over the road. The food over the road is fairly modern howveer a bit tasteless when i went. Had a great nights sleep which is always a good sign. Would stay again if i was in that part of town.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkBustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Booked this the day before we arrived and absolutely delighted we did. Hotel is within touching distance of Edinburgh's main attractions with excellent transport links (bus stop right outside / Haymarket train station a 5 minute walk). We stayed in a ground floor room at the back of the hotel which was excellent as it sits on a main road but absolutely no noise pollution at all. Room had everything we needed satellite t.v., hair drier, iron, toiletries & was spotless. Had full cooked breakfast in the hotel / lunch at sister hotel across the road & both meals were excellent. Service was also spot on with the staff being really friendly & always willing to chat. Overall, staying at the Dunstane City really added to our weekend away & would not hesitate to recommend to anyone looking for a value for money stay in Scotland's capital city.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryDFife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We stayed for 2 nights whilst on a sight seeing stay in Edinburgh. Although slightly out of town there was a car park (not large but we got a spot straight away) and then a bus stop outside which whizzes you into Princes Street in about 5 - 10 minutes for £3 a day or £1.20 a go. Despite being on a main road we had no trouble from road noise and actually it was very easy to find missing most of the tram works and congestion. Check in was quick and easy, the staff were really welcoming and all local which was nice. We had originally booked into the Dunstane City Hotel across the road but because of some refurb work were moved across to the House and upgraded to a Four Poster Delux room.

Despite not being the largest room it was well equipped and had a beautiful four poster and everything you need (although no hairdryer!). Good bathroom wtih Molten Brown products and a nice full tea/coffee/hot chocolate tray complete wtih shortbread.

We ate in the hotel both nights choosing to sit in the bar where the menu although not huge had some lovely dishes on which were all excellent and prices not too bad either. Drinks in the bar were standard really £3.30 for a Guinness and the same for a Gin and Tonic. Again service was excellent and it was nice to see the same staff each night making it more personal.

Breakfast was good, we were alone in the dining room both mornings probably as we chose to eat quite late but there was a good selection of cereals, fruits, yoghursts, croissants etc and then porridge, full scottish and kippers could be ordered.

Overall a great place to stay, nice not to be in a chain were all are the same and not much service. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Property: The Dunstane Hotel
Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunstane dates all the way back to 1852 to a design of William Playfair, one of Edinburgh's most famous architects. Now a boutique hotel privately-owned and managed by Derek and Shirley Mowat, each of our bedrooms offers a fresh take on country house charm. You can look forward to restful nights in four-poster beds with subtle accents of current style. Or stretch out king-size and enjoy all the period details and in-room features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing