We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ranked #52 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hertforshire, UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

A good value 'chain' hotel, excellently placed just off the Royal Mile, within walking distance of most of the sights. Plenty of places to eat and drink within the immediate area. Clean and just what you'd expect of an Ibis. Not too many frills, but very comfy bed and a decent breakfast for the price. If you wanted to be very picky you could say the bathroom was a little on the small side, and the window looked out onto a blank wall, but this didn't spoil my stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurotraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Eurotraveller58,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay here with us at Ibis Edinburgh. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our new beds to be very comfy. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    978
    320
    64
    38
See reviews for
325
1,022
160
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My wife and myself spent a weekend in Edinburgh (for the rugby match against the All Blacks) and went to the Ibis Edinburgh Centre for the second time in a couple of years.
The location is amazing since you are about forty steps from the Royal Mile and within walking distance from the Waverley Bridge and Station where you are likely to end up if you arrive there by train or plane.
This time the room we had was not as good as the first time: a little smaller (not a problem for such a short stay), the bathroom looked a little old, and the bedsheets were not pristine (a large number of small spots in a region around the middle of the bed). All in all not huge problems or setbacks but something, in my opinion, that could be easily taken care of with not too much effort (especially the bedsheets bit) increasing at the same time the customer satisfaction

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acorsi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Acorsi71,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Ibis Edinburgh. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay but apologise that we did not meet your expectations this visit. We have taken note of your comments regarding the bathroom and bedsheets which we are addressing.
I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The Hotel has an excellent location for the old town. Everything is a walkable distance. Princess street is 10 minutes walk which where the shops are there.
The Check in wasn't that good. Waited for approximate 35 minutes to check if our rooms ready although we arrived at 2:15 PM.
My double room wasn't has a view. Only concrete blocks. The room was very small and a very tiny place to walk through. On the opposite side, the twin room has a generous space and excellent view to the main street.
The beds are very comfortable and the staff was very helpful and friendly.
Totally, it was a good stay.

Room Tip: twin rooms on the street are big and having a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habib_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologise that you were kept waiting , we do try to allocate rooms as soon as possible to keep waiting time to a minimum.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and our new beds and I do hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Edinburgh.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our short stay in edinburgh and the ibis hotel proved to be a great base for exploring the city and the royal mile. Staff were helpful and the hotel had a good overall appearance.

Only negative: Our room had a door that linked up with the one next to us. This meant sound from next door were more noticeable. Fortunately we had quiet neighbours.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear Mattfal,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

10 Minute walk from Waverley station up a steep hill or steps.
Dropped bags off at 10.30am and checked in at 13.00pm.
Staff very polite and friendly.
The new beds are great and slept quite well, afterall it was saturday night and you are always going to get street noise.
All in all, great price and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copleycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear Copleycop,
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay here with us at Ibis Edinburgh. We are really pleased you had good time and hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,452 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Property: Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Address: 6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile hotel is located in the old town,just off the Royal Mile, Princess Street and its numerous restaurants are all within walking distance. 5 min from Waverley railway station and 12 km from the airport, the hotel has 99 rooms, including 6 adapted for disabled guests. It has a bar serving snacks 24/24 and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. Public parking is 10 min on foot from the hotel, with reductions for clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, ACCOR, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing