We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very confortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ranked #51 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
1 review
“Very confortable stay”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Excelent location, very nice staff, good room, confortable bed, quiet and clean.
The only bad thing I have to say is about the internet, it's not free and if you don't have a laptop, only an ipad, like me, you can't use it, you have to use some tv internet that it's terrible.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments regarding your stay with us here at Ibis Edinburgh. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and have taken note regarding your feedback in terms of the internet.
We do hope this will not deter you and you will stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    980
    322
    64
    38
See reviews for
325
1,025
160
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Great location and value for money.
It is not modern but it is clean and has the basic stuff for travelers.
The hotel is located in one of the most central parts of the city with many shops, restauratns and coffee shops next to it.
Ideal for people who wish to take the bus that takes you to the airport since it is a 5 min walk from the hotel to the bus stop.
Highly reccomended

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Petros T
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay here with us at Ibis Edinburgh. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The hotel is very clean and up to date. We had a large group traveling with us so the size of the Lobby and food areas were nice. The Lobby has 2 computers you can use to access your email with minimal charge, (no free wifi). I only had to wait once in 3 days to use it. The rooms are average size with very comfortable beds. The bathroom is a nice size for 2 roomates to share. The location is very convenient to everything we did. We were even able to walk the whole Royal Mile from where we were. Traveling with teens, it was great to have a Starbucks two doors down. I felt safe letting the teens outside in the square area alone in a new city. We are from the States so it was a bit different, but loved it. We had ample space to get out tour buses to the front area to load our suitcases. I would definitely stay at this Ibis again. Oh, did I mention the bar area where us adults gathered after curfew. They were gracious enough to let us take up the tables in the lobby after hours with our own offerings from Scotland. Very friendly people there. The breakfast buffet had so much food and variety available. It was very good and fresh.

Room Tip: I went in several rooms and I never found a bad location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Julie H,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay here with us at Ibis Edinburgh. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us and do hope you will return in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

A slightly different Ibis, superblu situated less than 10 mins walk from Waverley Station, just over North Bridge, behind Tron Church on the Royal Mile. Castle , Princes Street and all major attractions close to hand. Clean and comfortable, full breakfast and exceptionally friendly staff. The new Ibis beds are very comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Glen B
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay here with us at Ibis Edinburgh. We appreciate your kind comments and do hope you will come back and stay with us in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Our initial reason for visiting Scotland was to attend a family wedding in Perth, however, as our parents very kindly offered to look after the children for a few extra days, we thought we would make the most of the weekend and visit Edinburgh. We therefore booked the Ibis at very short notice, five minutes before we were due to make our 7 hour trip to Scotland. We recieved first class service over the phone by Paulius who understood we were in a rush and we had a room booked and confirmation emailed to us within a matter of minutes.

When we arrived at the Ibis, my husband who is originally from Fife did not believe that I had managed to book a hotel just off the Royal Mile at a price we could afford.

We were lucky as we arrived on a Sunday therefore offstreet parking was free, however, as we did not want to wake up at the crack of dawn to move the car in the morning we took advantage of the NCP car park which the Ibis offered a 10% discount for. We were able to leave our bags at reception, but the car park was quite a long way from the hotel (about a 10 min walk, quite a way if you had suitcases).

Parking aside, the location of the hotel is fabulous! It is a minute walk from the Royal Mile and it has most of the tourist attractions on its doorstep such as Mary Kings Close, the Ghost Walks and the Auld Reekie tour all of which were great fun, including many pubs and restaurants within the vicinity. It is also very close to various cash points.

As we were only in Edinburgh for one night and had been out walking the cobbles of Edinburgh until late we decided to go to the Indian restaurant two doors down from the hotel called the Royal Spice. It has only been open a couple of weeks so was quite quiet, however, we had a fabulous meal and their Naan Bread was huge!!! Well worth a visit but remember to bring your own bottle!

We found the hotel room quite basic compared to the other hotels we had stayed in during our visit at similar tarrifs and did feel the cost was slightly more than what we would have liked to have paid for that standard, however, we put ourselves in check and reminded ourselves of the location and the friendliness of the staff and this more than justified the cost. Especially as due to a very comfy bed and a good security system we had the best nights sleep!

We would definately come again and bring the children next time!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Samantha G,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Ibis Edinburgh. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The best part of this motel is its position. Its virtualy on the Royal Mile.
The price was very good as was the breakfast. The room was quiet and clean.
Now the bad bit. Do not attempt to park your car in the car park unless you are a local or are fully informed of its location. I parked illegaly in front of motel to get instructions and you could see fear in the poor young fellows eyes at the front desk. He gave me the instructions and i eventualy found it. Then i had to drag all my bags up a hill. Girlfriend was not impressed. She gave the young fellow at the desk a blast as we went past and you could see he was embarrased but didnt know what to say. WiFi was available but a bit expensive for what you got but ok if you realy needed to get "on line" to do something important. Id stay here again but not with a car/auto/motor vehicle.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear John Anthony S,
Thank you for your feedback , I apologise that your stay with us did not start in the most positive way. I do hope that the remainder of your stay was enjoyable and that you do stay with us in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2012

The Ibis Edinburg is ideal for those who want the safety and surety of a 'chain' hotel, the location is excellent with the hotel being just off the Royal Mile, right next to the heart of the city.

The Hotel is within walking distance of the key monuments of this beautiful port town and practically in the middle of the famed Royal Mile. Equidistant from the Edinburgh castle and the parliament house, this hotel is close to most of the places of interest to eat and drinking. In fact most of the pub crawls start a mere 100ft away from the hotel.

All the tours to Inverness and the scenic parts of Edinburgh start from the four or five locations within 5 minutes from this hotel and with loads of tescos and other small chemist shops close by it is very convenient.

It is a no frill hotel with the rooms beings small but functional. The view is nothing to write home about but the location more than compensates for the lack of views.

The breakfast is sumptuous and comes true to the expectations from an Ibis hotel. Sausages, Eggs, baked beans, yoghurts, milk, fresh fruits, fresh juices, cereals etc. make the breakfast a healthy yet fulifilling option.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Look at rooms on the higher floors as the view is much better and the noise is much lesser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prashantdayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Prashantdayal,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Property: Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Address: 6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile hotel is located in the old town,just off the Royal Mile, Princess Street and its numerous restaurants are all within walking distance. 5 min from Waverley railway station and 12 km from the airport, the hotel has 99 rooms, including 6 adapted for disabled guests. It has a bar serving snacks 24/24 and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. Public parking is 10 min on foot from the hotel, with reductions for clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Lastminute, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing