We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location. average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ranked #61 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2008

The main thing about this hotel is the location. Right on the ryal mail you are a stones throw away from the grassmarket, and the new town. With shops and banks, and restaraunts all around there is no need for a taxi or bus anywhere. The staff were helpful, however not english/scottish but did speak very good english. They were pleasent but I didnt have any ptoblems to test them! The hotel is what you expect. Clean, comfortable and at a good price. I have no problems with the hotel. They have new TVs installed aswell with music, internet and tv all on one. I would reccomend this to someone on a budget or away with a group of people but would reccomnd paying a bit more for a better hotel for someone wanting a romantic get away

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank albusstubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,463 - 1,469 of 2,254 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2008

Booked a last minute trip to Edinburgh, needed a cancellable hotel as we flew standby. Ibis had a cancel-by-6PM-policy. Got off the bus at Waverley Bridge, the driver pointed up the hill, and we we literally walked right into the hotel lobby 5 minutes later and were able to get a room at 10AM. I would call it a European Motel 6. Small room, utilitarian. But very clean, good elevators, friendly staff, broadband, plenty of hot water, efficient housekeeping. The location was right smack off the center of the Royal Mile, just perfect. Enjoyed our stay, would go back. Ibis is not charming or luxurious but we literally just slept there and made pit stops during the day!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LesterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2008

In general I prefer B&Bs to hotels, but I couldn't find any in Edinburgh that met my needs, so I "settled" on the Ibis hotel. When I booked, I had an idea that it was close to the center of things, but it's practically right ON the Royal Mile. The hotel itself was fine and what I would expect for what I paid, but no complaints at all. It was clean, comfortable and quiet, and the staff went out of their way to help...so long as they understood your question. My husband went to explain that our outlet adaptor was too big to plug into the outlets, as they were too close to the ground, and might they have a smaller one we could borrow for our stay? Apparently he was met with blank stares. But, other than that, it was fine! I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone looking for affordable accomodations smack in the middle of Edinburgh action.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelasseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

A excellent location. Clean with good facilities. Would recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank anotherjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

This hotel is perfect for a budget stay without cutting corners.
Brilliant location, friendly and helpful staff and everything you need is on hand.

There is a 24hr food and bar service - which is modestly priced. For £9.99 per day you can have unlimited internet access (using your own laptop or the pc/tv in the room) and access to all premium channels/movies - total bargain! The lobby has pay as you surf internet access.
Breakfast is available for £5.50 - but there is plenty choice from surrounding pubs/cafe/subway's

The room was spacious, comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities. Shower room was a bit on the small side - but big enough.

Perfect for a cheap get away - I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank geordieontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2008

Situated in a quiet square just off both the Royal Mile and the Bridges the location is perfect. The cost is about half of the neighbouring Bank Hotel and about a third of the near by Raddison SAS, so for a short break it can't be beaten.
Alll the staff were exceptionally friendly and very helpful,
The hotel is nearing the end of a refurbishment and the new rooms are very clean and functional. however they have been designed with value engineering in mind, such touches as only one waste basket, one chair, one towel per person (no hand towels), no toileteries, hair dryer and ironing board available on request. But there are tea and coffe making facilities, plus, for a charge, Internet and in room films.
Clearly designed down to a price the Ibis is excellent for a short break, but I would hesitate to spend a week there unless on a tight budget.
Overall excellent value for money

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2008

I give this Hotel 4 for its location. This is right on the Royal Mile, about a 10 mins walk up hill from Waverley Station, not a hard walk.
We stayed here just for 1 night, the hotel is clean and of a basic standard. The shower was powerful but the bathroom was slightly worn looking.
We received no hand towel, just 2 medium size bath towels. The bed is abit thin but this wasn't an issue for us.
The staff were friendly at all times. Overall yes i probably would stay here again, it is in a great location and cheap compared to other hotels in Edinburgh...and most important they don't bump you even if you are staying just for 1 night - unlike the Radisson the last time we were in Edinburgh!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocalllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#47 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Address: 6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £51 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile hotel is located in the old town,just off the Royal Mile, Princess Street and its numerous restaurants are all within walking distance. 5 min from Waverley railway station and 12 km from the airport, the hotel has 99 rooms, including 6 adapted for disabled guests. It has a bar serving snacks 24/24 and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. Public parking is 10 min on foot from the hotel, with reductions for clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing