We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ranked #65 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The location of this hotel is super for visitors to Edinburgh. It is easily accessible from Waverley station, and staff will happily look after luggage for a modest fee of £2 per bag. The rooms are very spacious and clean, with large shower rooms attached. Windows can be opened or closed, and the blinds ensure that as little or as much light can be let into the rooms. Our room looked out over the square, and although many people went by, and there were several pubs around, we were not disturbed by any noise. The "eat as much as you like" breakfast was true to its word - there is a massive choice of both hot and cold, including fresh fruit and juice, continental and English. All the staff are helpful and friendly, and we were most impressed by the way the hotel let us know about local coach day tours around the highlands, which we then booked in advance. A super and relaxing break - thank you, Ibis!

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed and have excellent sound proofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,010 - 1,016 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

My girl friend and I stayed for two nights. We arrived early (8:30am) on our check in day as we had travelled up by the sleeper. The receptionist was extremely helpful which made a good start to the day. Our room was a very good size, well prepared and had all the facilities we required, the bed being exceptionally comfortable. The breakfasts were well prepared with plenty of choice.
We like the idea of a “no frills” hotel where you pay for any extras you require because we were using it as a base. The £2 left luggage charge seemed very reasonably to us considering the day before we had paid £9 per item at Euston station.
The hotel had sent us a couple of mails before we arrived with useful information in particular the one day coach trip of the highlands by Rabbie’s Trail Burners which is well worth doing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickwick53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was a great location and a very fair price. 5 minutes from the station (leave through the Market Street exit and go up the Flesh Market steps). Staff were friendly. Rooms were very clean. Shower ace. The rooms did remind me of up market student accommodation though. The first two mornings, we were rudely awoken by the fire alarm - the first time was a fault and the second time we were told it was the mistake of a guest. It didn't happen a third time so I believe the staff! If the hotel is part of the holiday experience, then may be this isn't the place for you but if you just want somewhere clean, reasonable and honest that's right next to all that Edinburgh has to offer then give it a try. One complaint - £2 to store a suitcase after checkout? Come on Ibis/Accor, that's a bit tight!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireBells21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the £2 charge for left luggage.
I look forward to welcoming you back again the near future.
Kind regards,
Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

3 days of relaxation in Edinburgh !!!!!!! 1st impressions good...nice welcome.... room small but clean. No view..window looked out on a wall......fabulous pub next door .the advocate.great meals and deals..worth a visit.. mon morn woken by fire alarm..everyone evacuated stood outside in pj s till fire engines arrived.......7 .30 am....tues morn ..repeat of monday morn.....oh well these things happen.....on checkin out no apology....no refund or complimentary drink ....no nothing...even had to pay 2 pounds for luggage to be secured.....would have been a nice guesture not to have been charged....or at least an apology. Because of this the ibis wont get my custom ever again ......there are plenty more hotels in Edinburgh. In fact your spoilt for choice ...ibis you really need to learn that manners are essential in the hotel trade.......relaxing break ??????? Not at the ibis

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ANGIE2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.
Yours sincerely,
Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank batleysunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Fernando d
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#62 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,738 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Address: 6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £43 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile hotel is located in the old town,just off the Royal Mile, Princess Street and its numerous restaurants are all within walking distance. 5 min from Waverley railway station and 12 km from the airport, the hotel has 99 rooms, including 6 adapted for disabled guests. It has a bar serving snacks 24/24 and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. Public parking is 10 min on foot from the hotel, with reductions for clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing