We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ranked #59 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This motel was in a great location close to everything you would want to see in Edinburg . The staff vere excellen, good security and lifts. Our only concern was we stayed in a twin room and the beds were smaller than the average single bed. However they were very comfortable beds. I think I would stay there for the convienience of the location just a short walk from Waverley station.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Winternites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about our single beds.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 2,223 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Ibis Royal Mile is a good hotel to stay with friendly helpful reception staff - in fact very helpful with all tourist information and more. The hotel location is perfect, you can walk to the Edinburgh Castle, walk the royal mile and walk to Greyfriar. 20 min bus ride to the Royal Yacht Britannia very worthwhile. Lots to explore close by. The hotel is clean and quiet. We didn't eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on the cafe.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Carri_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Hotel is just off the Royal Mile so ideally placed for exploring Edinburgh. Rooms were clean, staff friendly and helpful. Only thing I can't vouch for is the breakfast as never surfaced in time for it! Could not ask for more in a budget hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bex_M08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank RBXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I was very very disappointed with my stay at the above hotel. I was only in town for 2 nights and decided to stay here due to the great location, reasonable price and having stayed at ibis's before knew what to expect. However it was not what I expected. BOTH mornings at 730AM there were fire alarms and the whole hotel was evacuated but the procedure was very unprofessionally handled. There was no explanation or reassurance as to why we were all standing in our pyjamas on the street and no apology. Staff just stood around waiting for fire services to arrive while some guests wandered in to sit down and didn't engage us. When I was eventually allowed back to my room housekeeping began hoovering right outside the door and on the floor above which disturbed me even more. You can hear lots of noise from passing guests as well as guests in the next room - TOO noisy. I was tired and very annoyed and the service at the hotel ruined my trip to Edinburgh. Upon checking out I raised these points to the reception manager however she only told me WHY the alarms went off (2 different reasons, set off by guests but at the exact same time both days - coincidence??) She didn't offer any form of compensation or apology. I have since read online that this thing has happened before in the hotel and I can't help but wonder why nothing has been done about it? Previous guests have also received part-refund as well after suffering the same problems but I was offered nothing?? Overall very disappointed, will not be staying with ibis again and urge people not to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IslaLou92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Please note that the security and safety of our guests is always paramount and in the event of a fire alarm we are obliged to ensure the alarm is sounded to alert the guests to evacuate the hotel.

This is the normal procedure regardless the time of the day or night and the meeting point is at the square in front of the hotel.

Should you like to discuss this further, please contact the General Manager on 0131 240 7000.

Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The location of this hotel is super for visitors to Edinburgh. It is easily accessible from Waverley station, and staff will happily look after luggage for a modest fee of £2 per bag. The rooms are very spacious and clean, with large shower rooms attached. Windows can be opened or closed, and the blinds ensure that as little or as much light can be let into the rooms. Our room looked out over the square, and although many people went by, and there were several pubs around, we were not disturbed by any noise. The "eat as much as you like" breakfast was true to its word - there is a massive choice of both hot and cold, including fresh fruit and juice, continental and English. All the staff are helpful and friendly, and we were most impressed by the way the hotel let us know about local coach day tours around the highlands, which we then booked in advance. A super and relaxing break - thank you, Ibis!

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed and have excellent sound proofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My girl friend and I stayed for two nights. We arrived early (8:30am) on our check in day as we had travelled up by the sleeper. The receptionist was extremely helpful which made a good start to the day. Our room was a very good size, well prepared and had all the facilities we required, the bed being exceptionally comfortable. The breakfasts were well prepared with plenty of choice.
We like the idea of a “no frills” hotel where you pay for any extras you require because we were using it as a base. The £2 left luggage charge seemed very reasonably to us considering the day before we had paid £9 per item at Euston station.
The hotel had sent us a couple of mails before we arrived with useful information in particular the one day coach trip of the highlands by Rabbie’s Trail Burners which is well worth doing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickwick53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,561 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Address: 6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £58 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile hotel is located in the old town,just off the Royal Mile, Princess Street and its numerous restaurants are all within walking distance. 5 min from Waverley railway station and 12 km from the airport, the hotel has 99 rooms, including 6 adapted for disabled guests. It has a bar serving snacks 24/24 and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. Public parking is 10 min on foot from the hotel, with reductions for clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing