We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically a noisy hostel with a nice lobby.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ranked #51 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basically a noisy hostel with a nice lobby.”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

First night was a nightmare. Despite double glazing, street noise kept me awake until 3am and as the hotel was at capacity I couldn't change rooms until the next day. Moved to a smaller room the next day with assurances I could get a refund if I remained unhappy. The manager was cooperative and helpful but we didn't get an apology. Had I been able to I would have changed hotels as the noise from other rooms continued to be a problem.


My main complaints include that their website indicated that they had parking available which was deceptive. The street parking was limited to a few spots and 4 hour limits. The recommended car park was quite a distance away and closer one (attached to the Radisson) was £19 per night. Had I known any of this I would not have booked this hotel.

On top of this I thinks that guests should be aware that only a few of the free to air TV channels are available, presumably to encourage you to buy their entertainment package for £10 per night. I resented this.

The free wifi was slow, patchy and at times required continual logins.

The worst Ibis I have stayed in and I won't return. Don't be fooled by the location, it isn't worth it.

Room Tip: If you do stay here do not accept a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we have taken note of all your comments regarding your stay in our hotel.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    978
    320
    64
    38
See reviews for
325
1,022
160
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Perfect location for a family with a toddler. Spacious and clean room. Big enough to hold 2 buggies. Middle of royal mile. Walking distance to the national museum of Scotland where your child can spend the entire afternoon! Shortcut to Waverley station and princes garden! Near the castle! Near the bus stops going to botanic garden and yacht Britannia. Near sainsburys and tesco if you wish to do groceries. The only complaint I must say is the noisy lads opposite from the pub. But because we were tired we almost forgot them!

Room Tip: Choose a room not along the road for good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkingmuminEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
149 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Typical ibis hotel:
-little rooms
-same furniture as in all ibis hotels all over the works
-clean but simple rooms
-poor breakfast (for the price you pay in the hotel, there are some nice places in the surroundings where you can have a better breakfast
-excellent location in Edinburg

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rguerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about our breakfast.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I chose this hotel initially as it was cheap and in a good location. I have stayed in Ibis Hotels before and found the rooms to be a little small but I was pleasantly surprised as the twin room we had was an excellent size. the hotel has a bar and a breakfast buffet which, if you are seeing the city is all you really need. There was a great pub next door but loads more pubs and restaurants within spitting distance. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsteph91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

A great budget hotel , no frills but clean and very well situated for a weekend break in the Scottish capitol . lots to see and do , plus many good restaurants nearby . A visit to the castle is a must as is the parliament building . I will stay there again

Room Tip: great location , all atractions within walking distance . Very helpful staff . clean good budget hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamish b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

A ideal base for a trip to the city, located in the centre of the Old Town. Rooms very clean, and no noise from the outside with windows closed.
Rather warm at night, so had to sleep with the window open.
WiFi coverage is good, and basic service is free.
Some staff were exceptionally helpful, others left me with the feeling that I was bothering them.
Breakfast buffet had a good selection of traditional cooked and continental, at £8.00 I thought this was good value for money. Overall, I was pleased with my stay and would consider it again should I return.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReviewChamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,452 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Property: Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Address: 6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile hotel is located in the old town,just off the Royal Mile, Princess Street and its numerous restaurants are all within walking distance. 5 min from Waverley railway station and 12 km from the airport, the hotel has 99 rooms, including 6 adapted for disabled guests. It has a bar serving snacks 24/24 and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. Public parking is 10 min on foot from the hotel, with reductions for clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing