We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ranked #56 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Brilliant location”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Brilliant location, very friendly staff. Lovely hotel, Very clean and tidy.But we were in room 102. It's right over the main entrance. So only about 12 feet above street level so very noisy. We will stay again but ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sending your comments about your stay in Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I will share your feedback with my team.
I look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    999
    327
    64
    41
See reviews for
334
1,049
163
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
doncaster yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

i stayed at this hotel because I was in Edinburgh for 3 days to deliver training. Excellent location, walking distance to the station, shops and surrounded by a wide variety of places to eat. It is in a quiet spot and the staff are pleasant and helpful. Although the rooms are small there was ample room to hold suitcases and training equipment. I had a double room and really appreciated the quality of the mattress which enabled me to have a good nights sleep. The room was spotlessly clean. I really couldnt fault it and if I am in Edinburgh in the future I cant see any reason why I would want to book somewhere else, unless of course I wanted to pay an extortionate price for a sofa in the room, dressing gown and 'luxury' mini bath products!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faydaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience in Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We're still here but didn't want to forget to review! I was expecting something similar to the box rooms you would get in city centre hotels in London, but no! Great size room, huuuuge bed and very comfortable. They have a 15 minute service target to get you anything you ask for... The only request I've had so far was for a couple of extra tea bags and the guy knocked on the door practically before I'd hung up the phone. For the price (£44 and £59/night) it's ruddy good value! Free tea and coffee, hairdryer, shower gel, etc as often you don't get in budget hotels. And it's perfectly placed for exploring the sights of Edinburgh... I'd definitely come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kindatheartuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel, organised by England Rugby Travel, for the weekend for the 6 nations rugby match between Scotland and England. The hotel was centrally placed for sightseeing and close to Waverley Station. The rooms were very comfortable and there was an excellent breakfast with a varied choice. The only complaint would be that there were no hand towels in the room. I would recommend anyone staying there if they want to be close to the tourist sites and good restaurants.

Room Tip: There did not appear to be any particular favourable location for rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dajtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assitant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the towels.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I have stayed at several Ibis hotels before, because you always know exactly what you are going to get: nothing fancy, but clean, modern rooms with at least a minimum level of amenities (unlike cheaper budget hotels or hostels). This one is no exception. The rooms are small, but clean; they look very new, so I think they have been renovated recently. The bathroom is small, too, but has a very nice shower (only shower gel provided, though; no separate shampoo). Internet is decent enough, and free, and there is a small kettle to make tea or coffee. Be sure to ask for a room on the sixth floor for a very nice view and less street noise.
There are negatives, too: there is almost no space to hang jackets etc., the bed is quite hard and only has a thin duvet, towels are very thin too (more like tea-towels) and only two are provided in a double room, and the heating system does not work very well (even at the maximum setting, it takes a long time before you even start noticing the room getting warmer). Housekeeping does not seem to do very much: used cups were never replaced, the bin was not always emptied, and the bed was quite shoddily made up. Checking in also took much more time than necessary, because I had to fill out a form with all my personal details (address, etc.), which I had already provided at the time of booking.
Still, the central location, close to the airport bus, train station, and major sights, makes up for a lot. If you can get a good deal, this hotel is worth considering.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sixth floor have nice view and are quieter. Rooms at the back are quieter too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewah564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we have taken note of your comments.
I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel cost £350 for three nights. The rooms are small with no storage as such. The room was that small the tea making facilities were situated away from the sockets. The enough suite was that small you have to sit at an angle on the toilet.
The breakfast was that cold we refused to pay and ate out the other two mornings.

The positives are that it is clean and in a good spot for sight seeing. However, there are cheaper options.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terri0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very well located, 10 minutes walk from the station. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, self service and plenty of choice. Good service in the bar. We found the staff very polite and efficient. Overall were impressed,and thought the hotel was excellent value for money. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,519 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Property: Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Address: 6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile hotel is located in the old town,just off the Royal Mile, Princess Street and its numerous restaurants are all within walking distance. 5 min from Waverley railway station and 12 km from the airport, the hotel has 99 rooms, including 6 adapted for disabled guests. It has a bar serving snacks 24/24 and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. Public parking is 10 min on foot from the hotel, with reductions for clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing