We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Nearby Hotels
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$487
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$379
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,397)
Filter reviews
2,397 results
Traveller rating
839
1,085
355
72
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
839
1,085
355
72
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshunter squareroyal milegreat locationrooms are smallcentral locationtrain stationstreet noisetwin roombuffet breakfastpubs and restaurantsshort staycomfy bedprinces streetcastleearplugspoundshairdryer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
944 - 949 of 2,397 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel has a great reputation and I'm not sure why. We each had one scrawny towel, no Kleenex anywhere in the room, one waste bin in bathroom so all of the tea fixings had to be carted off to the loo... and nothing but liquid soap dispensers, one roll of toilet paper, tiny plastic cups and spoons,no extra coffee tea or milk, everything was bare minimum, like they are really into cutting corners, big time. Decor was bland and drab and so one did not want to hang in the room any longer than you had to. Beds were okay, lamp light was lacking. We stayed there twice as we already had reservations and the second time was no different. It's ok, which is why it gets an average rating. Nothing to write home about. For the price, one can do better, I'm sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with big windows. Back side rooms are like dungeons.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay in Ibis Edinburgh Royal Mile. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you gives the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The room was clean and nice except for a big stain we saw on the mattress. The hotel is close to so many great restaurants and a few blocks down from a cheap shuttle that takes you to and from the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilyfisher86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manger at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to to tell us about your recent visit to our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the matress which we are addressing. Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

After spending 1 night earlier in the week at ibis south Bridge, this Ibis had high standards to beat.

This hotel although more welcoming on the ground floor with a bar at the entrance, it is ageing. The rooms wallpaper and carpet reminded me of homes from 90s with brown carpets. Practical colour I suppose, but not as nice as the wooden floors of South Bridge. There was also a random door in my room; I expect it was an adjoining room. The door was locked, but it did take a minute to adjust to the idea for security reasons being a female in the room alone.

I found the room very hot and didn't mention it at reception during my stay. Instead, assuming the air con was broken, I just opted for the fan. But as the windows don't open, it was a stuffy night. When I mentioned it at checkout, it turns out there's a way to reset it if I'd just asked.. I know for future now.

Breakfast pretty much identical to South Bridge, though the dining area is half the size and it was more informal it felt.

Lifts have a similar security system to South Bridge.

Location ideal for the Royal Mile. You feel at the centre of it all.

All in all a fair stay, probably got my moneys worth.. but you feel you get more for your money at South Bridge.

Room Tip: Try and get higher than the first floor just to avoid any noise from the lorries or bars; not that you hear much through the triple glazing, but you see it all.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willowette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us and please note that we will be updating all our rooms very shortly.I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Good location within walking distance of bus and train station and most tourist sights. We were not bothered with noise and the staff was friendly and helpful. However this Ibis is beginning to showing its age with dingy carpet and sagging mattress and cannot compare with the newer Ibis located a short distance away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly1548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to ibis Edinburgh Royal Mile. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments and suggestions.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews