We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ranked #60 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. We arrived late in the evening from a very long flight from Australia, on arrival we were met by a friendly and helpful staff at reception. Once up in our room we noticed two single beds, our booking was for a double bed. With evidence at hand I went down to reception to query the room allocation, a humble apology was given to us with the promise it will be fixed the next day. A complimentary breakfast was given to us due to the room allocation error, it was fixed the next day. We stayed in one of the “back rooms” away from the apparent noise, we can’t complaint about any noise disturbance throughout out whole stay. The room is standard as expected, neat and very clean. We enjoyed the bed after full days of exploration. A big plus for this hotel is the location, its right in the centre from all of the major attractions. I will happily stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but no view, we did not mind it as we were out until late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AA_Aus2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Vincent AMSOMS / Reception Supervisor at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Vincent Amsoms Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 2,250 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel Royal Mile for 4 nights. The location is very central and close proximity to the Edinburgh Castle and Camera Obscura, maybe just 10 minutes walk or even less. There are a lot of restaurants in the vicinity as well. The hotel is very modern and clean. The room was also very clean and did not have any complaints.

In addition to that, the room had a very good connection for free Wi-FI which for us was very important.

The only thing that I would change maybe is the breakfast. It was not very varied but it was good.

All in all, we had a very good stay at this hotel and next time we will for sure book this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALia21685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The room was basic but ok. Our main problem was the noise from the pub opposite which had live music and was very noisy until about 2 in the morning. I think that the rooms which face this direction should be treble glazed and have air conditioning as it was impossible to have the window open with the noise from outside which kept us awake with the windows shut.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay in Ibis Edinburgh Royal Mile. We have take note of your comments and hope you give us the opprotunity to welcome you back to our hotel.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I recently stayed here with a group of friends, hotel is in an excellent location on the royal mile which will be the reason of the high price for a basic room. We arrived too early to check in and the reception staff were happy to keep all our bags locked up while we explored. Upon returning we checked in and retrieved our luggage, I found the reception staff very polite and friendly but not very informative we were just given our room keys told our room numbers and that was that, no mention of how to get to rooms or any information about breakfast, I still to this day am unaware as if breakfast is included in the price or is an extra so we ended up eating at a lovely cafe just down the road for breakfast.

The room itself was very basic and I found quite small especially for two people to be getting ready in to go out for an evening meal. The bed however was very comfortable and I had a very good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis Edinburgh Royal Mile. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the lack of information on arrival, which we are addressing.
I look forward to welcoming back to our hotel again soon.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1812
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Room Tip: No extra charge for the family room - much bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank EKN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#48 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Address: 6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £52 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile hotel is located in the old town,just off the Royal Mile, Princess Street and its numerous restaurants are all within walking distance. 5 min from Waverley railway station and 12 km from the airport, the hotel has 99 rooms, including 6 adapted for disabled guests. It has a bar serving snacks 24/24 and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. Public parking is 10 min on foot from the hotel, with reductions for clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing