We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The kindest staff at a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ranked #54 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
A Coruña
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The kindest staff at a great location”
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Upsides: Big and nice double room, clean and modern facilities.

Downsides: Breakfast is OK but not included (+5.5 pounds per person per day). LAN internet connection (no WiFi) available, but not included either (+9,99 pounds per day).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _luaraviajera_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    993
    325
    64
    38
See reviews for
332
1,038
161
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

*The hotel is only 2** but definately deserves 3!!!
*VERY NICE STUFF, especially Lukasz and Ryszard!!! at Front Desk
*Breakfast was fantastic
*Rooms clean, nice, ours was a bit dark as sort of in the corner, but nice, only batroom was quite small with no tub - only shower, very nice and strong current, we thought the bathroom floor should be tiled maybe.
*Everything new and perfect though
*Internet in the room (on Tv, plasma tv's btw)
*Anything you need
*Location - u can't find better one!!!if u had a room facing Hunter's Square - u could easily not come out of it - the best street performences would come to u :D

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAdvis0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Over my travels, I have come to rely on budget chains such as Citadines, Ibis, Travelodge etc as they have been consistent throughout my various trips in various cities.

The Ibis Hotel in Edinburgh is exactly what I have expected. Location is excellent. Just off the royal mile in the Old Town and five minutes off the train station, 10 minutes to Princes Street . It's practically in the centre of EVERYTHING. Lobby bar was undergoing renovation, but it didn't affect our stay much, as we were out most of the time. Didnt hear any renovation noise in the room, but at night we could hear some of the people walking and talking on the streets. Room was basic, but sufficient, as we were just in the room to rest and shower.

Would recommend this for the budget traveller looking for a place to rest at night.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetawayJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

If all you are looking for is a place to sleep after a night out then this hotel is ideal. Rooms were clean although a bit small. Staff were polite and friendly. Location is great - just a few minutes walk from the castle. If booked in advance then this can be a really cheap way of staying in the heart of the city centre. Next time we are staying in Edinburgh, it will be here!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBinannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Average hotel but good location. Near to the Castle & Princes Street.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Have stayed here half a dozen times - which says something! Have had consistently good experience, and choose to stay in the Ibis (rather than some other more expensive alternatives which I have loathed) because of the quality of its rooms, the decor, cleanliness and location. Service has been consistently excellent too.

Breakfast is fine (continental), and the new-look bar and reception area is an improvement. Two small gripes: the air conditioners in the rooms don't work (a notice in the room booklet explains that there is central control of temperature but I don't see how: my room was warm). And on two of the occasions there has been an early-morning fire alarm.

Best place I know to stay in Edinburgh (and have tried quite a few), regardless of price. I just hope that saying this won't mean it's always booked solid...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoHumAnotherTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

i needed a place to stay my last night in Edinburgh, coming in on a train from Glasgow in the evening and leaving ungodly early in the morning for the airport. i chose this hotel because of the location, and because i needed more services than a small B&B could provide, and i was very happy with my choice. it was exactly what i expected.

even with three bags and a light rain, the walk from Waverly to the Ibis was not long or difficult. the late check-in was not an issue, and the reception staff were incredibly patient and helpful with my 20 questions, even though they were not about the hotel (what time do i need to be at the airport for a 6:10 a.m. flight? should i take a shuttle or a cab? how much will the cab be? etc...). they set up a 3:30 a.m. wake up call and 4:00 taxi reservation for me. i paid my bill when i checked in. in the morning, my wakeup call came, i dressed and packed up, left my room, dropped my access card at the front desk and walked out to my waiting cab. worked like clockwork.

rooms were nothing special, but comfortable and more than adequate for my non-luxury needs. and the location can't be beat. ten steps from the front door to the Royal Mile. made it easy to grab a nice dinner my last night in town and a few final photos. i am very sensitive to noise, and there was absolutely no street noise in my room; based on other reviews, i might have got lucky on that one.

anyway, i'd definitely stay here again if i needed budget accommodations in Edinburgh, and wasn't looking to have a cultural "B&B-style" experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,485 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Property: Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Address: 6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile hotel is located in the old town,just off the Royal Mile, Princess Street and its numerous restaurants are all within walking distance. 5 min from Waverley railway station and 12 km from the airport, the hotel has 99 rooms, including 6 adapted for disabled guests. It has a bar serving snacks 24/24 and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. Public parking is 10 min on foot from the hotel, with reductions for clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing