We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent staff at front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #41 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent staff at front desk”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I wanted to especially recognize one member of the staff at the front desk. I don't know his name, but he was of Indian ethnicity and was on duty on Friday. He helped us store our luggage and offered to hold some perishable food in the hotel's refrigerator until we left late Friday afternoon. There was a very heavy rain that day and the friend picking us up showed up completely soaked. Said employee immediately brought our friiend a towel to dry off and also an umbrella. He also helped us take the luggage out to the car in the downpour. All of this while graciously declining a tip. We very much appreciate his outstanding service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred_in_seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding a member of my staff. I was pleased to read that you found his service to be outstanding and will make a point of thanking him personally.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return in the near future.

Lindsay Sturrock
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    1,024
    240
    71
    18
See reviews for
306
1,319
84
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This hotel was not what I was expecting at all.
According to the other reviews here, this hotel is just the bees knees. Unfortunately, it is not. Despite being upgraded to a master suite, with a view of Edinburgh castle, upon check-in, we still had an awful stay here.
The hotel was so warm & stuffy, there was no air con in the rooms & when you opened the bedroom windows, you were subjected to the noise from the stag & hen parties outside on the street.
If you're looking for a hotel that is stuck in the middle of the action & you're not planning on sleeping much, well this is for you. Otherwise, AVOID!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juleskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read that our complimentary upgrade to a suite did not meet with your approval. Unfortunately our suites are at the front of the hotel, offering a great view of the castle, but can suffer from a little more noise at the weekend due to our location in the heart of the Grassmarket. I am not aware if you requested to be moved as we would have happily arranged a quiet room at the rear of the hotel had you done so.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future and I can assure you that Edinburgh is not normally as warm as you experienced, and apart from a few days during the summer our bedrooms are usually much cooler.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We arrived at the hotel and much to our delight on check in we were upgraded to a master suite for free. We made our own way up to the room and we were absolutely blown away - the room was very impressive. The living area featured a desk and dining table as well as a couch and coffee table with entertainment systems and a 32" LCD. The bedroom featured a large kingsize bed adjoined by a wetroom style bathroom with a large walk-in shower and bath. The bedroom also had its own 32" LCD.

All of this was perfect. We were delighted.

Unfortunately, the problems started the very first night.

The noise from Grassmarket was incredibly loud and as the room had no aircon there was no choice except to leave the windows open. Sleep was very difficult to say the least. I was therefore extremely thankful come morning that I had taken the time to order breakfast in bed. Unfortunately the crispy bacon and pancakes with Maple Syrup was awful. The thick cut rashers that I was served were tasteless and overcooked. The pancakes were soggy and the Maple Syrup was actually Golden Syrup. The coffee was burnt and the apple juice was neither cold nor real (made from concentrate). All of this was totally compounded by the fact that the meal was very expensive.

The worst didn't come until the second morning when I realised that the bed had ruined my back.

In short I would not recommend staying here at all. Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chews23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Christian

Thank you for your review. I am glad you were "delighted" with the complimentary upgrade to a suite that we arranged for your recent stay with us. Unfortunately the weather was warm during your visit and I am sorry you were disturbed by the noise from the Grassmarket. Occasionally this can be a problem at the weekend and is the down side to our central location and stunning view of the castle. Should you stay with us again please let us know that you would prefer a rear facing room where I am confident you will have a peaceful night.

With regard to your bed, I have personally checked the king size mattress in each of our 3-suites and can find no fault with them. I can only assume that they may have been a little firmer that your normal mattress and am sorry you had an uncomfortable sleep.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Very handy hotel in Edinburgh's Grassmarket. Family rooms a good size. Hotel far too hot and no air con but reception staff were very friendly and the facilities were good. Parking available at the Apex International a few door s away, swimming pool available to use also. Free wifi and use of laptop was appreciated, shower powerful, room clean and bed comfy. Price for time of year reasonable especially when booked through Laterooms.com.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review - I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive feedback. I do hope you will stay with us again in the near future when I am sure the weather will be back to normal and you will find the room a lot cooler.

Lindsay Sturrock
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We paid £237 for our room for 1 night without breakfast. The hotel has the potential to give its guest a great stay but unfortunately no air-con in the rooms meant an awful night’s sleep. There was already a fan in the room when we arrived which we had on the whole time blowing hot air round! The window did not open and honestly I've had better night’s sleep in Travelodge, could not wait to leave the hotel the next morning even checking out before checkout time just to get fresh air. The view was awful – avoid room 3130!

For the price we paid being a 4 star hotel the least we expected was air-con. I would not recommend on this basis.

Other than the air con the room was modern with good facilities water, tea/coffee and nice but limited toiletries. Was very central in the glassmarket. Hotel Management please address the matter of air-con in rooms!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeveragaininKavos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Guest

I'm sorry that the temperature of your room spoilt your recent stay with us, particularly as you suggest that you would have otherwise had an enjoyable visit.

Unfortunately we have just gone through a particularly warm spell and I appreciate that the high humidity has been uncomfortable. As you mentioned we have placed a fan in each room to help cool the temperature but appreciate that occasionally during the summer it does not offer enough relief against the heat.

Should you stay with us again in the future please let reception know upon arrival that you would prefer a room with a view and they will do their best to allocate you a street facing room. The room that you stayed in during your recent visit lacks a view but offers a particularly peaceful night.

Thank you again for your review.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Not impressed, room too hot, no room in the car park, lamp and clock did not work, reception staff unhelpful of alternative parking, pricey for what you actually get, which isn't very much!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_heesypeas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Guest

Before you selected to stay at the Apex City hotel you probably read some of the many positive reviews that we have received, particularly about our staff. Your review is very disappointing and I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss the problems you encountered, and to identify the room you stayed in so that I can ensure the faults are rectified. If you have a spare moment I would grateful it if you could kindly contact me on [--].
Thank you in advance.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallaght, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The hotel was clean and efficient, we had a nice view of the castle from our window, if you looked to the right, and the fan provided in the room was very useful as it was very warm at night when we stayed. We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the food. We got a good price considering the time of year and the general expensiveness of Edinburgh hotels. The location is excellent, comfortable walking distance to everything and we had everything we needed for our three night stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passinginterest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,375 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,096 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,568 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing