We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$847
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$681
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,893)
Filter reviews
2,893 results
Traveller rating
1,336
1,180
272
79
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,336
1,180
272
79
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationroyal milerubber duckwalk in showergrassmarket areaelemis toiletriespubs and restaurantsgrass marketcastle viewexcellent hotelmodern hotelwould highly recommend this hotelstayed here for nightsfull scottish breakfastbreakfast was excellentcomfy bedprinces street
Filter
Updating list...
2,152 - 2,157 of 2,893 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Our second stay in an Apex, and it didn't disappoint. Reception staff were courteous, helpful and friendl, as were all staff we came into contact with. Our room was on the 4th floor, on the corner, so we got a view of the Castle and the street below and it wasn't too noisy.

As previous reviewer, filling the kettle was a bit of a trick but not sure what could be done about that. A problem with our shower not draining away was fixed straightaway and without fuss as was the matter of the loud arguing couple in the room opposite at 2am Saturday night!

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel due to too much on offer outside during the Festival.

Room was very clean and the bed so comfortable. Again, as per previous reviewer, we did have a knock on the door for cleaning quite early on checkout day but guess we should have used the 'we are sleeping' note the night before.

Definitely recommended and would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Rang on the day to check location of our allocated room so was able to confirm the floor and position ahead of arrival.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bushbaby050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I've been coming to Edinburgh for the Fringe for a few years now, and know how hotels can range enormously for the same rip-off Festival-bumped prices. However, I found this hotel to be clean, excellently located and with all the service quality and facilities you'd expect from a UK 4* hotel.

The Apex City is located alongside its sister hotel, the Apex International, in the Grassmarket area of Edinburgh. Now, let me make this clear to people who've reviewed complaining about the noise, the Grassmarket is a square next to the footholds of the castle, filled with pubs, restaurants and takeaways. It is NOT a quiet little suburb. It can and does get noisy, especially during the Fringe festival (with the musicians and performers doing impromptu shows outside too!). However, if you get a room on the top floor, or facing off the street (but sacrificing the castle view), you can get around this, if you're a light sleeper. Ear plugs are provided for a reason! Even so, just shutting the window helps a lot.

The hotel is very modern, and well maintained. The decor is not at all tired, and our room was well proportioned. The bed was quite firm (obviously this is a good/bad thing to different people). The complimentary tea and coffee facilities were of good brands and ample, as were the toiletries and towels. The only point of concern was that the plug sockets were so strangely positioned (i.e. towards the floor to the side of the desk) that if you wanted to boil water, you had to either place the kettle on the floor to reach and poor your drink, or yank the cable out of the kettle to have enough cable slack to pour your drink on the desk. Also, the sink was so shallow you couldn't fill up the kettle and had to pour water into it by the glass!

The staff were very professional and patient. I personally saw a very unreasonable woman demanding 'you get me a room right now' at 11.30am despite it clearly stating that check in is from 3pm, and the receptionist behaved very calmly, despite the situation being out of her hands (due to, I presume the hotel being fully booked for the festival). My maintenance query regarding an issue with the hotel phone was resolved promptly.

Room service was excellent. Our breakfast order to our room arrived precisely one minute into our 1/2 hour slot for breakfast on both days we ordered it, and prices were reasonable for a change in an international hotel chain. The night porter we bumped into one night was very friendly and said hello to us coming back to our room.

The only bizarre moment was on our check-out day, when a maid knocked on our door to make our room up at 8.30am, despite check-out being permitted up to 12pm. Having been up until 1-2am the previous night watching shows, we were not impressed at having to keep the 'do not disturb' sign on before 9am!

Overall, I was very happy with my stay, and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clockworkcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for such a comprehensive and balanced review. It was good of you to mention the receptionist on duty as I know that the guest was being particularly demanding and we were still waiting for the previous guest to leave her room. I have made a point of thanking her personally.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and am glad you will consider staying with us next time you return for the festival.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Noisy outside but that is to be expected being on the Grassmarket - the hotel do provide earplugs which is good of them. Didn't need them though as the double glazing was good enough when sealed. However, with sealed windows to keep the noise out in the summer, the room was quite warm and there was no aircon but there was a desk fan which was good enough.

Comfy bed, nice bathroom and Elemis toiletries (makes the wife happy!)

Got a free upgrade when I told them in advance that it was my wife's birthday and there was a card left in the room.

Lifts are painfully slow and breakfast was nice but breakfast service was a bit disorganised and demeanour of some staff wasn't great. Receptionists were very pleasant though.

Would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshishSood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. It was pleasing to read that you would be happy to return and that you found my reception staff friendly. The Elemis bathroom products are very good and I am glad your wife liked them. Hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This hotel has a super location - right under the castle and near to all the sights. Rooms are good size and comfortable however the heat in the hotel was incredible. The corridors were stifling and - although they have hot air-con, they have no cold air conditioning. A fan was our only relief and the weather was not extremely hot when we were there. However in the spring, autumn and winter months this hotel is a good spot.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyceRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad you found the rooms to be a good size and comfortable. The weather now appears to have turned and the hotel has cooled down again. I am sorry that you found your room to be hot, however If you stay with us again please ask for a rear facing room, which you will find exceptionally quiet, and the open window will certainly make your stay more comfortable.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Once you conveniently park the car at the nearby parking for the other Apex hotel, it is simply the best location to explore Edinburgh on foot!
However air conditionning in rooms would really be appreciated. Although the weather was rather poor in early August, some parts of the hotel (corridors and rooms) were surprisingly and unpleasantly hot and the area is far too busy and noisy to leave the windows open to get some fresh air.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varanasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Thank you for your review.

Our location is indeed perfect for seeing all the wonderful sights Edinburgh has to offer - sorry to read you did not have better weather for enjoying them.

Our corridors can sometimes become warm and we are currently investigating methods of venting the heat from the building. By next summer when the weather improves again we should have resolved this issue.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews