We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Value at a Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #40 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
399 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“good Value at a Perfect location”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

located centrally with good view on castle and with many tourist places in closest environment. good service.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    1,022
    239
    70
    18
See reviews for
304
1,318
83
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed 2 nights. Lovely staff. Good central location

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat658662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Hotel is in a great central location close to Royal Mile etc. Nice hotel - couldn't fault it. Would recommend. Perfect base to explore Edinburgh from.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed hear for 2 nights in August for the fringe. Superb location in the heart of the grassmarket with great bars and restaurants close by and near to all the tourist attractions. Rooms excellent very clean, big bathroom with large walk in shower & separate bath - top quality products nice touch. We arrived early & Staff were very helpful offered to look after our bags and ring when the room was ready in order that we could maximise our stay.I had emailed in advance advising that we were celebrating a couple of special occasions - we got a castle view room which was wonderful, a birthday card and fruit & wine FANTASTIC TOUCH!! Free internet so we used laptop to check out comedy near by - excellent show in the hotel Laura Hayden what a hoot!! Previous reviews mention the noise - when you stay in the heart of a city you are going to get city noise - try Barclelona - and the ear plugs provided are a neat touch- all in all an excellent stay & wonderful friendly staff

Room Tip: Ask for a Castle View - however there are bars opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2bHappy2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed here in the first week of Sept for a Short break and found the hotel pleasant. The staff were helpful and the room was very clean.

The free wi-fi in the room was a bonus as we were able to use the laptop to find out what was happening locally. We did not get a chance to check out the restaurant but from the reviews it appeared good and looked well presented.

The room was spacious and we were fortunate to have a room view of the Edinburgh Castle which at night was beautiful!

The city centre was very near to the hotel approximately 5 mins walk to Princes Street (main tourist area) and there is a Sainsburys Express withing 5 mins walk as well which was handy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naeem P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed here in 2009 and were very impressed by the hotel and staff. It was our first choice on our return to Edinburgh, and we booked months in advance via the website.
For an average of £200 pn we felt that the whole experience was overpriced and lacking in 4* amenities.
The room was tiny (they had had a regrade of rooms since our last visit apparently) and had no air conditioning. The window could only be opened a fraction so the ventilation was poor - there was a portable fan in the room. No fridge, although one was supplied when we requested it.
The Agua restaurant / bar was crowded and the staff run off their feet - it is advertised as 'An award winning Restaurant'.
The reception staff were brilliant and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable but as stated earlier VERY small.
It is very centrally located on Grassmarket and close to the main attractions that Edinburgh is famous for.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BorntotravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed for sat and sun nights in a castle-view room overlooking the grassmarket. The room was nice and modern with a large flat screen tv, nice large bath with walk in shower and separate tub. All amenities provided, including an ironing board and plenty of electrical outlets near the desk. The bed was a little soft, but that's clearly a matter of preference. The grassmarket area was very busy on a sat night and was rather loud, but the hotel provided earplugs, nice touch! The staff were friendly and accommodating with restaurant recommendations. Free internet access and computers on every floor for those traveling without a laptop. Location is very central and close to all the tourist stuff, with many bars and restaurants close by. No security issues observed. We did not eat any meals at the hotel or visit the bar, so no opinion on these items. I would recommend this hotel for price, location, comfort and service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NulGravitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,373 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#46 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,094 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,567 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing