We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #44 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We booked an upgraded room 10 months before arriving, and confirmed this with their Central Reservations dept a week beforehand. No surprise then that they had no superior rooms available for us(it was festival time). Finally, the Duty Manager offered a couple of free breakfasts and a complementary bottle of wine We delined an offer to move rooms part way through stay. Thank you to Carolina, but all pretty amateurish. Our room was nice enough and quiet thankfully as Grassmarket can get quite noisy at weekends. However, it was stiflingly hot-there is no air conditioning but you do get a desk fan. There was no room safe or mini bar fridge to keep drinks cool.Room clean enough but housekeeping do need to pay more attention to detail eg replace toiletries when needed and vacuum better. The hotel is in a good position but you can get more for less elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulww99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Please accept my sincere apologies that Central Reservations failed to book a superior room for you. I can understand how annoying this must have been, particularly as you took the time to check your booking. I am pleased however that my Duty Manager arranged complimentary bottle of wine and breakfast as an apology. I will ensure that your comments are passed to the Reservations Manager for a full investigation.

Should you plan to return to Edinburgh for the festival next year please contact me directly so I can ensure you receive a complimentary upgrade to a Superior room.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,142
    1,046
    244
    73
    19
See reviews for
316
1,341
89
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

In general we avoid hoitel restaurants as we have generally found them very expensive and of very limited quality,

Apex is the exception that proves the rule. Choice of fixed price menu or a la carte or a mixture of the two, Particularly memorable were the cauliflower soup starter and - even more so - the chocolate parfait desert which goes straight into the category of our top 5 restaurant deserts of all time.

Great food therefore combined with an attractive and very comfortable environment and excellent service - all from a hotel restaurant right in the centre of Edinburgh.

Very highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonybennett900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

In the center of the city, in walking distance to the most prominent landmarks in Edinburgh. But that might be the downside - the Apex City is booked anyway, so they do not really care about the rest.
Actually, I'm hesitand to complain since I think it's always easy to find flaws. But it's the overall attitude which makes me write this rather negative review.
- Room service: Glasses in the bathroom not clean, overall cleaning so-so, Shampoo not refilled as I've seen in other 4 star hotels. Rooms have seen some guests; but overall still pleasant.
- Familiy room: the couch serves as an extra bed. Our 4 year old son is fine on it. But I would not ask anybody taller than 1.20 m to sleep on it - on the lower part there is only a very thin matress and you can feel the grate.
- Employees are not too attentive (breakfast buffet refill, service overall) or not able to help (e.g. access to public computer).
- Beautyful weather makes the rooms very hot. Unfortunately, there's no AC, and the fan provided is not up to the job.
- Hotel was repainted during our stay, so the smell of color was added to the heat in stairways.
- Gym and pool are complimentry, but are located in the Apex International, so you have to leave the hotel and walk a short distance to the other hotel.

Without being cynical: During the false fire alarm around midnight, the staff seemed to be up to the job and was very friendly.

To put it in a nutshell: We already stayed at the Apex City a few years ago, next time I would look for another place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Apex City hotel. I am sorry that we appear to have disappointed on this occasion. From your review I understand that you have stayed with us before and had an enjoyable visit, and as you can see from other reviews we do generally try hard to look after our guests and genuinely care if they are happy. I do hope you will still consider staying with us again the next time you are visiting Edinburgh and if you contact me directly I will ensure that your room is perfect and you have an enjoyable stay with us.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with husband and daugher, and we had an enjoyable stay, staff very friendly and efficient, very efficient with breakfast, good breakfast menu. Convenient to everything. The only fault that I would have is the heat in the room and corridor. But I would go back to it and recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandAnony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eire
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. I loved this hotel. It was very central - we were within walking distance to everything. The staff were very effiecient and friendly. The rooms were big enough and very clean. We had breakfast included in our package and I couldnt fault it. Also we ate in the bar and the food was very good and reasonably priced. The only downside is that the staff in the bar are very slow. I will definately stay here when in Edingburgh in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2nights as we always try and spend a couple of days for the festival. This hotel is in a great location, very central and a superb view of the Castle if you get the correct room! Our room was facing an alley way/houses, this didn't bother us as we knew it could get quite noisy during the festival if you room was at the front with all the bars etc. The staff were very friendly and always happy to help and give information when needed.

The room itself was a decent size and plenty of hangers in cupboard! That is one of our pet hates 2 hangers per room! The bed was 2 singles pushed together and slightly on the hard side. The room doesn't have air-con but they provide a big desk fan which does suffice in the Scottish "summer". The bathroom very clean and spacious with a walk in shower and a bath. Only thing was no free duck as advertised on site, gutted! :(

The corridors were very warm and feel yourself sweating needlessly walking to the elevator.

The rooms are a little pricey but guess that is the fashion to hike the prices during the festival. No real complaints and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McEwan1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

APEX is well situated for the centre of Edinburgh and is tidy and well decorated , although bed was a bit hard , breakfast was fine and service good , overall a nice hotel , although a bit expensive but it was Edinburgh festival

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thornabyfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,462 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#51 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,172 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#35 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,520 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,627 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 149 in Edinburgh
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing