We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth staying!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #38 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth staying!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights just after Hogmanay had finished. Wonderful service, well greeted and the rooms were lovely. Great walk in shower/wet rooms and spacious wardrobe storage. Large tv in the room and very comfortable beds. Value for money was fantastic and it's location meant easy access to attractions

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannymck18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Guest

It is always good to start the New Year receiving good comments and I really appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I hope you will stay with us again soon.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    960
    220
    67
    15
See reviews for
277
1,241
71
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

This a lovely, modern hotel with a great view of the castle. The staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel and the rooms are exceptionally clean and finished to a high standard. The Royal Mile and many of Edinburgh's attractions are only a short walk away. We also made use of the 'Yu Time' spa in the neighbouring Apex International Hotel which was pleasant and we enjoyed a set Hogmanay Meal in the Agua Bar, the food was amazing.

The only negative was the noise of the heating/air con throughout the night but it didn't impact our stay and we will certainly recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KM0JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Apex City hotel. Your feedback was very complimentary and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. If you have a moment to spare please let me know which room you stayed in so that I can have the heating system checked as it should not be noisy. My e-mail address is lindsay.sturrock@apexhotels.co.uk

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Couldn't really complain at this hotel, Nice family room, Nice big TV, very comfortable. Breakfasts where very nice. Very central location for both the castle the shops. Would recommend. Staff where friendly. Only slight concern is that they share the car park with the neighbouring hotel - we got a parking space but it was luck more than good judgement!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELMIFFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Apex City hotel; I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We actually have a small car park at the back of the hotel, which is on a first come basis. Once that is full we have an arrangement with our sister hotel - next door, whereby our guests can use their car park. Should that also be full we have negotiated a discount at the local NCP car park for our residents to use.

Thank you again for your review and I hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

My sister and I visited this hotel in early November to celebrate my birthday. We arrived early (around 10.30) and, as expected, our room wasn't ready but the very helpful receptionist put our luggage in storage for us and even offered to take our mobile number to give us a ring when the room was ready. When we returned to check-in the process was very quick and we were allocated a room at the back of the hotel on the 3rd floor - we'd requested this after reading Tripadvisor reviews about noise if staying in a room at the front. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. We obviously didn't have a view of the castle being at the rear of the hotel but we did get 3 very good night's sleep.

The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and the main course was served to you at your table - a welcome change to the usual hotel buffets. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on the food there, but we did have a sandwich in the bar which was very enjoyable. The cocktails were also excellent and we probably had a couple more Mai Tais than we should have!! Because I'd booked directly with hotel we were given a £10 voucher to spend on food and drink and this was happily acccepted in the bar.

The location of the hotel is excellent and just about everything is in walking distance. The only time we used taxis was to and from the station, and this was only because we had luggage with us. If you purchase a ticket for the sightseeing buses, 2 of the lines (red and green) stop across the road from the hotel. We got the 48 hour Grand Tour ticket which covers all the sights you could wish to see and you can hop on/hop off wherever you wish. Grassmarket is great on an evening and you're spoilt for choice of restaurants and bars.

Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel as a great base for exploring the wonderful city of Edinburgh. It's clean, well located and with lovely staff - what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GAS1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kind review of the Apex City Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will recommend us to your friends and family. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

It is located within close proximity to all the major attractions and the area itself is very nice and quaint. The castle is 3 minutes away and it is a short walk away from the university of Edinburgh. Princes street is a 5 min walk away and it's where all the shopping and restaurants are. Staff was very nice and helpful. I ordered food to my room as there were no restaurants open at night and the meal was good. The only downside would be that the rooms are a bit "tired", scratches here and there....which to me takes away from the freshness and cleanliness of the room. Otherwise all was good, not a bad choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BEYLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Apex City hotel; I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you have a moment to spare I would very much appreciate it if you could advise me as to which room you stayed in so that I can arrange for maintenance to have the room painted. My e-mail address is lindsay.sturrock@apexhotels.co.uk

I look forward to hearing from you and appreciate your review.

Lindsay Sturrock
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Stayed here while attending a birthday party in the area, room ok, but one chair had a huge tear in it. Chipped furniture. Reception, bar and restaurant areas are nice. Had breakfast, my only complaint was the way the potato scones were cooked. I'm a bit of a potato scone connoisseur and get unhappy if they are not cooked in butter, Think theses ones were semi toasted. Good selection on offer for breakfast.

Good location, for visiting historic parts of town and fringe festival. however bit tricky to find walking from Waverley station. Once you know the short cuts it's ok. Lots of roads works in area, which is not great for car use. Hotel offers car parking, but it's first come first served. So you might end up parking elsewhere as we did. We hired a car for one day to take in sights. Getting out of Edinburgh was dreadful, due to traffic diversions etc. Grassmarket area not really served well by public transport. You need to walk to Bridges or George St for that. At the time Princes St was closed due to tram works.

Staff friendly and helpful and there is a little duck waiting for you to adopt it.

Room Tip: Ask for Castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amia_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the chair in your room had a tear in it and will instruct my Head Housekeeper to check all the bedroom chairs and replace any that are damaged or marked.

I do appreciate your complimentary comments regarding the friendliness of my staff and am glad the Apex Duck in your room has found a new home for Christmas.

Regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stayed here for one night in November on my first visit to Edinburgh. The hotel was not easy to find walking from the station so more detailed instructions on the website would be helpful.
The hotel itself is in a great postion in the Grassmarket area with lots of pubs, restaurants and shops close by. There is even a convenience store accross the road where most things could be picked up.
The room was comfortable and we were allocated a room at the back of the hotel so did not hear the noise from the street at the front which can apparently be noisy.

The lamps could do with replacing and the shower as already mentioned is not powerful at all and the bath is not full length but overall a nice hotel.

We ate in the restaurant which was very good and very reasonable 2 courses for £14.99 and the staff were very nice especially the Spanish lady (sorry I don;t remember your name)

Great location near the castle and an easy walk to the shops on Princess Street.

Overall an excellent value hotel in a great location would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyson_cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review; I’m glad you had an enjoyable stay and found my staff and the location excellent. I appreciate your comments and feedback and will make a point of passing on your praise to Alba ("the Spanish girl" in the restaurant.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,165 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, this contemporary hotel has 122 stylish rooms. Designed for comfort, rooms include HD widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include Agua Bar and Restaurant, event space for up to 80 delegates, use of leisure facilities a few doors away at Apex International including pool and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing