We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will hopefully visit again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #40 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Will hopefully visit again”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

An excellent hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the Scottish breakfast cooked to order.

An ideal location for the Old Town - even though nowhere's too far to walk. The Grassmarket is THE place to be!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ansel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review - I'm glad you found my staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed your stay. Looking at your other reviews you appear to have managed to visit quite a lot of the attractions Edinburgh has to offer. As you quite correctly mentioned our location is great for sightseeing as most places are within easy walking distance.

As your title suggest - I hope you "will visit again" soon.

Regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    1,003
    231
    70
    16
See reviews for
297
1,298
79
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Lovely rooms very comfortable great TV's great location. It was a little pricy at £88 per night without Breakfast but staff very helpful and friendly and we got Breakfast for a special offer of £10 extra.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you found your room comfortable and enjoyed your breakfast. Hopefully you took full advantage of the varied selection on the cold buffet but saved enough space for some hot food as well?

Hope you will return again soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I have been to Edinburgh many times, but never stayed in the Grassmarket area or in an Apex hotel. The hotel is lovely, 10 mins walk from the station, up some steep hills if you have bags. The staff were very friendly and efficient, check in was swift. The room had all working amenities and complimentary bottled water and was quite clean. The bathroom was a bit worn and the carpet in the bedroom looked like it needs a really good hoover, or to just be replaced, this is the only reason it is not getting a full 5. As we booked through the hotel directly, we got a £10 voucher to spend on food or drink, not breakfast, which I thought was a little cheap! So our ten pounds got us a large glass of house red and a bottle of beer, with 5p to spare! Our room faced the staff car park at the back and was one of the quietest hotels I have ever stayed in, so I was very pleased. We didn't eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on the food, we did use the leisure facilities at the International, and it would have been lovely but was a bit over crowed, and the sauna didn't work, even though there was no out of order notices. There was no one around to ask if it had to be specially turned on.
Overall, a lovely hotel, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room if you like your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186394Jo_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that you "would highly recommend" the Apex City Hotel and found your bedroom to be particularly quiet at night. Our ‘book direct’ offer of a £10.00 voucher to spend on food and drink unfortunately does not include breakfast. Many of our guests pre-book and pay for breakfast in advance at the reduced rate of £10.00 and excluding breakfast from the offer avoids any confusion. The voucher can however be used as full or part payment against room service, dinner or drinks in the bar. I hope you enjoyed using it?

As a regular visitor to Edinburgh I am glad you have discovered the Apex City and I hope you will return here soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This hotel has a great location, in Edinburgh's Grassmarket. The amenities are also good. But it is the staff who lift it into another class; they are friendly, helpful and very good at what they do. We had a couple of minor dramas during our stay, but thanks to staff like Vinni, Robert and the two bar guys who share the same name (which escapes me) everything was sorted and we left having had a fantastic stay. The hospitality and helpfulness was above and beyond. Thanks guys, we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Guest

Having just read your glowing review of the Apex City hotel I will make a point of personally thanking those members of staff you have highlighted - I know they will be pleased. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and note that you plan to return in the future.

Thank you again for your review.

Lindsay sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel behind Edinburgh Castle. Stone throw's distance from Royal Mile, castle and other places of interest. Clean and well maintained. Staff was courteous and helpful. Will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belfasttraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for marking the hotel as excellent in all areas - I really do appreciate your kind comments and score. I do hope that you will find the time to stay with us again in the near future.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The Apex is in a great location right bang in the middle of the grass market we were there for just the one night and found our room very clean and well presented, the bed is very comfy and the bathroom spacious with a great shower. nice reception area staff were really helpful and friendly. we booked with breakfast included and that was just lovely too very nice quality food. the only reason I've dropped it from 5 to 4 stars was in some places the hotel a bit rough round the edges i.e. patchy paint work in our room, nasty looking grout in the shower, chipped table tops in the restaurant.. hyper critical I know but should be pointed out seeing as this is 4* rated by both the AA & Scottish tourist board. we had a stunning view of the castle after a room upgrade, all in all it's a lovely hotel and I would go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am glad you liked the hotel and would be happy to return to us again in the future. If you could possibly drop me an e-mail with a note of the room you stayed in I will make sure the hotel maintenance department have the walls painted to return the room to the original mark free condition. My e-mail address is lindsay.sturrock@apexhotels.co.uk

I look forward to hearing from you.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at the Apex City to start off the New Year. Price was pretty good, although to be fair most of Edinburgh seemed to be having a new year sale on rooms at the time, and the location is excellent.
Check in was smooth despite arriving slightly before official times due to an early train, and a ready room was allocated immediately. The room itself was nice and clean, and a decent size. Couple of little care points being the deadbolt on the main door wouldn't work, and self closer wasn't doing its job but apart from that I couldn't fault it. There wasn't a view (room was at the back) but it was nice and quiet - despite sleeping with the window open we didn't experience any noise at night. One nice thing that normally niggles me - the TV didn't have any additional 'hotel' menus - it was just a TV. This meant the menus and program guide worked properly.
Didn't sample breakfast or any of the food / drink offerings, so can't comment on them, but again on checkout the staff were excellent, asking if we would like to leave our bags for a bit before I managed to get in with the question.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparrie2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive review following your recent stay at the Apex City hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and would appreciate it if you could take the time to drop me a short e-mail advising me which room you stayed in so that I can ensure the self closer is repaired.

I look forward to hearing from you - my e-mail address is lindsay.sturrock@apexhotels.co.uk.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,306 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#48 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing