We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #39 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My daughter attends Edinburgh University. I have stayed at various hotels in the city that were over rated, over priced and the more up market the more attitude with staff. Thank goodness into her second year we found the Apex City a true gem. Lovely staff, clean, comfortable in every way and the area is perfect! A big thank you to Vincent a true Scottish gentleman who knows the customer service with a genuine smile.

Room Tip: See for yourself. The accommodating staff will help you with your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for the compliments - it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and my staff, particularly Vinni, have been of service to you.

As your daughter is attending university in Edinburgh, and you have enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully will see a lot more of you. If this is going to be the case please drop me an e-mail with your details and preferred room number and I will add them to your profile. This way we will be able to ensure you are allocated a room that you like. My e-mail address is lindsay.sturrock@apexhotels.co.uk

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,430 - 1,436 of 2,654 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed for the weekend and were impressed with the high standards throughout. The room was plush and we felt we were getting value for money. We didn't use the restaurant but we did have bar snacks and drinks which were excellent and we are quite fussy! The staff were very polite and helpful. When we go back to Edinburgh, we'll definitely be staying here again. Edinburgh is a fabulous city, lots of history!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Wellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review. As always it is great to read that, not only, has a guest had an enjoyable stay, but they plan to return again in the future.

Your very complimentary review is much appreciated and I do hope you stay again soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Very good attendance, very clean, beautiful and everything seem to be very well maintained. The bathrooms were very good and it is very well located, nearby the castle!
The hotel restaurant and bar is good and the food is delicious. Prices are a little high.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FelipeSeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Guest

Rio de Janeiro to Edinburgh is a very long way to travel and I am glad that once you got here you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found your room to be clean and well maintained and the restaurant food "delicious".

Thank you for taking the time to place a review I do appreciate it.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at the Apex city hotel – it for me is the place I want to stay when I visit Edinburgh. This time, the hotel booking was a very belated birthday gift to my dad to celebrate his 60th. He was delighted with the hotel, the luxury of our rooms and the value for money the breakfast offered (£10pp for a full Scottish breakfast and continental breakfast).

Hotel staff and restaurant staff can make or break a holiday – and I was seriously impressed with the standard of service that we were offered by all staff, the reception we were greeted with on arrival was very warm and welcoming, and each approach to the reception staff was professional and friendly. I also want to thank the Apex city for the allocation of our rooms – which were really lovely and luxurious!

As an aside we were only in Edinburgh for two and a half days – but we used the tour buses to explore Edinburgh – which presented great value for money – and we wouldn’t have realised this without the leaflet we were given by a male receptionist. I have to say – the amount of walking we did whilst in Edinburgh meant I could barely walk when I got home – and I took a day off to recuperate from our exertions in Edinburgh!

I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Em T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Guest

It was great to read that you have now stayed with us 3-times and still enjoy your visits. Repeat customers are extremely important to me and I always want to personally know if anything ever changes or our standards drop. In addition, so that we can continue to look after you, please feel free to contact me by e-mail with your details and room preference so I can add them to your profile thereby ensuring you receive the type of room you prefer. You can also let me know if you have any special requirements. My e-mail address is lindsay.sturrock@apexhotels.co.uk.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. The hotel is in a great location in the Grassmarket. It's very close to the castle and some boutiques and pubs. The rooms are well equipped. The breakfasts are good, especially the a la carte menu. I did not find the reception staff very friendly. They did not seem to be local and we're not very welcoming. Although breakfasts were hearty, they did not have the smoked haddock two mornings in a row. Room make up seemed to be taking a long time. When I tried checking in at 4pm I was asked to wait for 30 minutes. There is free internet access on a single PC on the second floor which was a nice touch. The key winning factor is the location. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back. Facing the Grassmarket could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAJR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We normally pride ourselves for offering a friendly welcome and I am extremely disappointed to read that you did not feel this was the case when you arrived. Should you have a spare minute to e-mail a note of the date you stayed and your room number I will be able to determine which member of my staff checked you in. I can then ensure they are provided with additional customer care training. My e-mail address is lindsay.sturrock@apexhotels.co.uk and I will be very pleased to hear from you.

My apologies for the disappointing welcome, but I am pleased that you wrote that you would still stay with us again.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Myself and Wife had our whole entire wedding here at this hotel, the staff and the preperation the guys did to make our day even more special was absolutely amazing.

A special mention to Claire and Lisa for organising our day - both a credit to the company

Our guests who travelled from far away stayed at the hotel and were all impressed with the rooms

I would rate this hotel very highly.

Keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for trusting us with such an important event - it was a pleasure to be able to look after you both.

I am very pleased that it all went so well and that my staff, particularly Lisa and Claire were a credit to the hotel. I do hope that you enjoyed your honeymoon and married life is working well for you.

Many thanks for posting your review and all my best for the future for you and your wife.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was a nice hotel. Clean, quiet and perfect location. It's in Old Town. The restaurant was very good and Robert "aka" Ginger was a very good waiter with a sense of humor. You can walk up the hill to the castle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaCameronDGM, Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Your positive comments are really appreciated and I would like to thank you for taking the time to inform us about your recent visit to the Apex City. I am particularly happy to read your comments about Robert and I agree with you 100% he does have a great sense of humor and he passes his thanks for him getting a special mention.

It is our service that makes an experience at Apex City as memorable as many others on this site and others have described it to be.

Thank you again and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the City in the near future.

Kind regards
Lisa
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,686 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,640 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,701 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#49 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,585 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £70 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing