We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #40 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Reasonably priced hotel, which came with the added bonus of a £10 voucher to spend within the hotel! Location was perfect and the rooms were clean and well equipped. Only downside was the noise (outside the hotel) in the early hours of the morning and the inability to adjust the air con.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Columbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you found the opportunity to use your £10.00 food and beverage voucher. It is just our way of saying "thank you" for booking your stay with us directly through our website.

Next time you stay please let us know when you make your booking that you would prefer a quiet room to the rear of the building rather than a street facing room. Our rooms at the back of the building may not enjoy the view of the Castle but are extremely quiet. We will of course then do our best to accommodate your request.

I appreciate your review and hope you will book to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    1,006
    231
    70
    16
See reviews for
297
1,300
79
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Firstly location wise this was perfect. The rooms were great with the added bonus of splash room instead of bog standard shower. The staff were a credit to the hotel particularly the bar staff we only had a couple of coffee's in there but they were so friendly and helpful about the local area - even going off to print a map for us on his own accord without us having to ask. What a gent!

The rooms were fantastic too, the breakfast was very good quality too. We would definitely stay here again and with the added bonus of parking it will definitely be on our list to re-book when we visit again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel looking out onto Grassmarket. The rooms at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very nice review of the hotel. I was pleased to read that you found my staff helpful and you liked our central location. It is great to know that we are on your "list to re-book" and I do hope that means you will come and stay with us again very soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the weekend. I was disappointed with the location of the room as it had views of the bins and car park and not the castle. I did enquire if there was any rooms available with the castle view but there weren't any. We paid a lot more than we would normally for 2 nights as it was a birthday celebration but thought that the room did not live up to the 4 star rating. The finish in the room was tired and nothing like the pictures on the website. However the bathroom was nice and it was clean. The breakfast was good with a nice selection of hot food and continental too. I would recommend this hotel as a great base for sightseeing but would suggest contacting the hotel to book a room with views of the castle.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building have views of the castle. The top floor would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParmaViolet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Guest

I am sorry we were unable to offer you a room with a Castle view for your recent stay with us. Unfortunately we do have a limited number of rooms on the front of the building and we always recommend guests to let us know their preference at the time of making their booking so we can do our best to avoid any disappointment. I trust you had a peaceful night however as the rooms to the rear of the building are particularly quiet.

I am pleased you liked your breakfast and found our location good as a base for enjoying Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Reasonably priced hotel where we got a relatively large room at the back of the hotel, since we asked for a quiet room. It was spotlessly clean and spacious indeed. The first hotel where we found two luxury chairs and a coffee table in a standard room. The ladies at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Park your car behind the hotel for only 10 punds a day. Walking distance to all attractions in Edinburgh, being only five minutes from the castle and the Royal Mile. We did not use the fitness centre. Breakfast is perfect!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a room at the backside of the hotel. The front at Grassmarket can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Guest

I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, found our rooms to be spotlessly clean and my staff helpful. I will make a point of passing on your praise to my reception team.

Thank you for your review and I do hope you will stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the apex city for 3 nights and had a great stay. The bed was one of the comfiest beds I have slept in. The room had everything we needed including elemis toiletries, fridge, and an ironing board!

We didn't have breakfast or a meal in the hotel but the cocktails were good and it was nice to have a £10 voucher from the hotel to spend on them!

The location was perfect and the only slight downside about the hotel was the heat. As soon as you step out of the lift it is really hot in the corridor but we were fine in the room as we turned off the heating and kept the window open the whole time we were there.

Would definately return and recommend booking direct with the hotel to get the £10 voucher for food and drinks.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WakingUpSideways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review of the Apex City, and for booking directly with us through our website. I am glad that you enjoyed using the £10.00 food and beverage voucher that guests that book direct are rewarded with - cocktails are always a tempting use for them!

I appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and I do hope you will stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for a weekend away treat. Really pleased with the hotel's location, it was a perfect base for exploring all of the city's highlights on foot. Room was comfortable and clean (although the times of housekeeping cleaning the room were a little odd during the late afternoon/evening). Breakfast was excellent - a good selection and plenty of options and even better value if you reserve the night before. Would happily recommend this hotel, you can't beat its location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whoopsacook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kind recommendation. Reviews like yours are very important to me as they help potential guests make an informed choice of hotel.

With regard to the servicing of your room, sometimes the rooms are indeed serviced a little later in the day. This can be the case if we have a lot of departures as we try to service these rooms first so they are ready for guests arriving. If you stay with us again, and would prefer we serviced your room a little earlier, please just let reception know or hang the sign on the back of your door.

Once again, thank you for your review and I do hope you will return soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel 25th to 27th October for weekend away with the missus. Great hotel. All the staff were friendly and made our stay relaxing. Excellent service. Clean rooms and facilities. There is a swimming pool approx 2 minutes away at the other apex hotel in the centre. Location of the hotel is great in the old area of the town. 10 minute walk from the station and loads of really good restaurants and bars around the hotel in the grass market. 5 minute walk from the famous royal mile and 10 minute walk from princess street. Shopping on princess street is great so the wife says!! Credit card has been hit! If you stay here you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay and your wife managed to get lots of shopping on your credit card!! I hope she remembered to buy a little something for you as well?

Reading your review I am very pleased that you feel that guests will not be disappointed if they book with us and I hope you will find the time to come back and stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,308 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing