We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #40 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at apex city from 4th February for three nights with friends. The rooms were clean warm and comfortable all the staff we came in contact with from when we walked in until we left were lovely and very helpful. Nothing was too much troubled even went over to the shop for semmi skimmed milk for me at breakfast. Thank you to the man on the desk who did this sorry I didn't get your name.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Karen

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found my staff to be friendly and helpful. I'm also glad that Jacob was able to assist with your request.

I do hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon, and trust that your friends enjoyed their stay as well.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    1,022
    239
    70
    18
See reviews for
304
1,318
83
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
inverclyde
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Had a pleasant stay at this hotel recently. Staff generally friendly and helpful. Location is excellent,
Had dinner on our first evening which was generally disappointing.Freshness of ingredients could be questioned ? Room was good with all you would need and clean. Breakfast was fine, complimentary am newspapers, and the bright star of service was Angelica from Spain who was soo efficient and genuinely such a lovely person - a credit to this hotel !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crerand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words regarding the service you received from Angelica. I will make a point of passing on your praise.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us but have noted that you did not enjoy your meal in Agua. This is disappointing as we normally receive favourable feedback and have been awarded a rosette by the AA. I will ensure the Chef is aware of your comments and if you stay with us again please let me know so I can personally make sure you have an enjoyable meal.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, our room had a view of the castle on the second floor. Very nice hotel, centrally located, nice views of the Grass Market and the Castle. Their breakfast was lovely, not a buffet breakfast but with a good variety. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Overall a very nice stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Nikki

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. I am glad you had a good stay with us and enjoyed your breakfast and the view from your room. We are very lucky to be able to offer our guests such a great view of the Castle as it is a major attraction for anyone visiting Edinburgh.

I do appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Spent 2 nights at this hotel as soon as we arrived were made very welcome, Our room was on the third floor street view which we asked for as it was nice looking out the window in the evening before going out watching the people going about in the Grass Market and a good view of the castle,The breakfasts were very good with a great choice and the waiting staff were very pleasant this is our second time staying at this hotel,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Ann

Thank you for your review - it was great to read that this was your second stay with us, and once again you had an enjoyable visit. Next time you stay please remember to let us know if you would like the same room and we will do our very best to accommodate your request.

I do appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed here 24th-26th January as a birthday celebration for my wife. Check-in was excellent with the very friendly and professional Sarah, (would sir like one key) hope it still makes you laugh. That was just the beginning of an excellent stay. Our room (3117) was spacious and clean with a side view of the Castle. The hotel has a well-stocked bar with a decent area for sitting down and relaxing. As you would expect from a 4-star hotel, the breakfast is plentiful and very tasty and the staff were attentive but not intrusive. We made the mistake of not booking a restaurant for our evening meal on the Saturday night. Everywhere we tried could not accommodate us so headed back to the hotel to try the restaurant. Well, what a decision that was; the guys managed to squeeze us in but to be honest, we had a large area to ourselves at the back of the room, it was perfect, thanks. We chose the 3-couse meal option and the food was excellent. Well done kitchen staff for producing great food. We chose (well, my wife did) a £25 bottle of white wine (I prefer red so don’t ask me what it was) and it was very good indeed, not like some of the vinegar sold as “good wine” in some places. So overall, as a birthday dinner, it was a hit. All in all a great hotel, in a great location with very friendly and professional staff. Special thanks to the Dufftoon Loon Vinny, The Irish Loon, Sarah, Justina (hopefully go that right) and all other bar, kitchen an waiting staff. You are a credit to the hotel, keep it up.

Note: - You can get to the castle by walking up the path and stairs directly across from the hotel. It will take you under 10 minutes if you are fit; the stairs are a bit steep in places.

Room Tip: We had a side room on the third floor but could still see that castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-Buddy-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of the Apex City hotel following your recent stay. I have passed on your praise to the "Dufftoon Loon" and the others and they were all very pleased.

I do hope that you will come and stay with us again soon and really appreciate your review.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIldare, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

From the moment we walked through the doors we felt totally at home.The ladies at reception were very pleasant and couldn't have been more professional,especially Sarah.
The room was very comfortable & clean.
The menu was very good & the food was very tasty & well priced.
Breakfast was excellent,perfect for setting us up for the day.The ladies that served us went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our meal.One lady that served us,I have forgotten her name, but she was from Spain,was excellent. A great ambassador for the hotel.
Over all, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the square,a great view of the castle,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Apex City hotel. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for marking us so highly. I will make a point of passing your thanks to Sara - I know she will be really pleased she was mentioned.

Please don't leave it too long before you come back and stay with us again.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

A fantastic modern hotel with high standards. Rooms are spacious & very comfortable. Breakfast is lovely and couldn't ask for a better view!! The loacation couldn't be any better for Edinburgh & you even get a rubber duck to take home :) Overall great stay!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest

I do hope you are looking after 'Bobby' - our little green duck? He is always looking for brothers and sisters to join him and each time you stay at a different Apex Hotel you can add a new colour to your collection!

On a more serious note I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and marked us 5-stars. I really do appreciate your kind feedback and hope you will return soon so we can add to your duck collection...

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,373 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,095 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,567 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing