We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfactory hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #41 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here for a week with my daughter on a scouting trip for her upcoming Edinburgh University course. Everything was satisfactory: the room and facilities met all our needs.
It's right on the Grassmarket which has lots of good (if slightly "touristy") restaurants and pubs, and is very central & convenient for the city (closer to the old town than the new, by the way).
We ate breakfast in the restaurant once: it was good but quite expensive, there are more economical breakfast alternatives nearby.

Room Tip: Some rooms apparently have a view of the castle: ours did not since we had not thought to request th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtenkfarpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I do hope your daughter managed to get everything arranged for her time at Edinburgh University? With the hotel being situated so close to the University, and your review suggesting you enjoyed your stay, I do hope you will return to us should you find the time to come all the way from Florida to visit your daughter during term time.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,446 - 1,452 of 2,826 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Bright clean yet cosy boutique hotel in the middle of old Edinburgh outstanding location next to pubs, restaurants and sights. Food was outstanding!!! Caters to groups flawlessly . Service helpful, friendly yet unobtrusive. Spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Could use more hooks to hang items in bathroom . No idea why bathroom door is glass (opaque but light shines through possibly disturbing partner during night time bathroom breaks) but minor complaint. Sad to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Barbara

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you were "sad to leave". I am particularly pleased you enjoyed the food in our restaurant and I will make a point of passing your praise to my kitchen team.

I do appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback and hope you will come and stay with us again in the future.

kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

It was my boyfriend's birthday and we spent two nights in this lovely hotel mid week. When booking I explained this and requested a room at the front of the hotel and we weren't disappointed. We had an excellent view of the Castle. The manager even placed a card in our room treating the birthday boy to a drink at the bar, which was a lovely touch (thank you). The hotel is very well placed to explore Edinburgh, and is easy to find by car. It has parking charged at £10 per day, which we didn't think was too bad for city centre parking. Our room was an ample size, clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. It had a decent hair dryer, iron and board, a good powerful shower, and tea and coffee making facilities (scrummy biscuits). The Wifi was free and worked well in our room. We found the hotel staff to be efficient, friendly and polite. The Edinburgh tour bus stop is close to the hotel so if it is your first visit this is a good way to familiarise yourself with the city. We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the restaurant. As others have mentioned there was some noise from the street at the front of the hotel during the night, but this really can't be helped. The hotel is in the popular Grassmarket area with lost of lovely bars and restaurants, and so there are people and traffic noise day and night. If this bothers you perhaps ask for a room at the rear (although the views won't be as nice) but it really shouldn't put you off staying here. We were told we could use the pool and gym at the nearby Apex International (where I have stayed previously) but we ran out of time on this visit. We will definitely use this hotel again, and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Gina

Thank you for your very nice review - I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would "recommend" the hotel. It was good to read that your boyfriend enjoyed his birthday treat and managed to find time to enjoy a drink at the car. Edinburgh is a great City for special occasions and hopefully you will find the time to come and stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in a suite at the top of the hotel, this was great, so clean and good amount of room for money paid. You do have to remember that this hotel is in the city centre so there will be some noise at night at the weekends, but to be honest, being high up, not that much noise was heard.
The bar prices was a little too expensive for what the hotel is, but it kept out the party goers !
The best part of this hotel is the breakfast and staff service, they did everything you wanted, if you wanted something extra, you got it. The staff was brilliant....except the guy who showed you to your seat, cheer up man, it can't be that bad !!!.....I gave this stay a 5, the staff deserve that.

Room Tip: just spend the little extra for a suite...go on you deserve it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazzer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaCameronDGM, Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear gazzer333,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on the Apex City and whilst I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and the service from the majority of our team, I was dissapointed to hear that we had someone on shift who obvisouly had not had a coffee to kick start their day and I would be greatful if you could drop me a note so I can see who was on shift.

I appreciate your feedback on the bar prices, we do regularly check our prices again other 4 star hotels, quality bars and we are still competivley priced.

I note from the title of your review to watch the parking, we do have limited car parking at the City which is charged at £10 per day which for a central hotel is a very good price, should we not have spaces available there is additional parking at the Apex International which is charged at £12 per day.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and if you do have the time available I would be greatful if you could drop me a note regarding our non-smiley member of staff. Lisa.cameron@apexhotels.co.uk

Many thanks
Lisa
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just back from a two night stay at the Apex City and will only repeat what has been said before. Its perfectly located, (with great views of the castle), offering a wide choice of pubs, bars and restaurants, (Black Cat, Bow Bar and Last Drop were particularly good), spacious and clean rooms and a wide choice for breakfast. Special thanks go to Justina at breakfast, who went out to get a pint of skimmed milk for me on the first morning, and then slipped out again the following day to do the same. What great service!

Room Tip: I wouldn't want to stay looking out onto Grassmarket, simply because the opposite side of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-happyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaCameronDGM, Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Travel-HappyLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on the Apex City and I'm pleased to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed the services and facilities that we offer. I am glad to see that you made time to visit some of Edinburgh's best known bars which offer some great local brew and the odd whisky or two. I have shared your fantasic comments with Justyna and the Agua team on her great service.

Once again many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback

Kind regards
Lisa
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is the best place to stay in Edinburgh. You are close to everything. All within walking distance. The rooms are very good with lots of room. Tea and coffee and biscuits always available. Grassmarket has many many places to eat and drink and they are all good. We decided not to take the buffet breakfast and went to the local supermarket instead. The view is beautiful with Edinburgh Castle right in front of you. Easy walk to the Royal Mile or Prince's Street through the park.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back since Friday and Saturday night can get noisy in Grassmarket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powaytricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaCameronDGM, Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Powaytricia,

Many thanks for completing a review on the Apex City and it was great to hear that you had a good stay and that you found our location perfect for your needs, we are very fortunate to have such great ammenties on our door step.

You are quite right that the rooms at the back of the hotel are so quiet and you would not even know you were in the heart of a busy City centre.

Many thanks again and I do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kind regards
Lisa
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Me and my boyfriend have just came back from a stay in this hotel, when we arrived we weren't able to check in so we left our bags and had a walk around the shops and stuff, however when we got back our room still wasn't ready so we were given complimentary drinks and were told to wait 15 mins, 45 mins past and one of the staff came over and explained to us that they had upgraded us from a normal suite to the master suite with fantastic views of the castle and also put some credit on a card for us to spend in the restaurant/bar downstairs (which i must add was beautiful) the staff were so so caring and apologetic about the situation but who cares when you get such brilliant service! So not only did we get free drinks we also got a master suite for the price of a standard suite.
Amazing hotel, lovely staff and wonderful food and drinks, ALSO a fantastic location, an easy 10/10!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaCameronDGM, Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Rebecca,

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review on the Apex City hotel and I was so pleased to hear that you had a great time. I'm very sorry that your room was not ready for your arrival and that our staff dealt with it to your satisfaction. Our Master suites are fantastic and make you not want to leave the hotel but there is so much to see in Edinburgh I can imagine it was a tough choice! Some days it is hard to try and get all the rooms ready for arrivals when some guests don't leave until very late and with lots of early arrivals at the moment we do try our very best to get all guests into rooms as soon as physically possible.

Thank you for your understanding in this matter and hopefully we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Apex City in the near future.

Kind regards
Lisa
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,885 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,891 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £65 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing