We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We stayed here for the hogmanay and couldnt have asked for a better hotel to be in. The hotel is modern,clean and the staff are so friendly and helpful. The hotel is right in the middle of the grassmarket with all its bars and 5 min walk to the royal mile.
We will back in Edinburgh for the festival and will definately without doubt be staying here..

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoopsHarwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,132 - 2,138 of 2,707 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2010

My daughter and I stayed at the Apex City for a two night break in Edinburgh. The hotel is in an excellent location, not too far from the city centre and plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Everything about the hotel was positive, extremely clean and tidy, comfortable beds, nice view of the castle from the front of the hotel and an excellent breakfast. Although the hotel was close to all amenities, it was quiet and peaceful inside, there is a nice bar for that late night drink/cocktail. It takes around ten/fifteen minutes comforatble walk to Princess Street but for the less energetic there were always taxi's outside the hotel. We didn't get around to using the leisure facilities at the Apex International, which is about one hundred yards away, but they are available to all Apex City guests. Definitely a hotel that I would recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

stayed at the Apex City Edinburgh for a weekend break. The hotel is brilliant, the rooms are lovely and clean , didn't eat in the hotel, but theres a lovely Italian restaurant across the road. We did drink in the hotel bar and found the bar staff and Receptionist staff very friendly
Wiil definately stay again and would highly recomend this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROCKYSeahouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

i booked this room as a part christmas present for my partner. it was great location and clean although i felt as i had booked it through another website that i got the room with a very bad view i.e looking onto a derelict building. i never asked to change rooms as my partner wasnt fussy as we were out and about but i felt very let down especially as it wasnt far off £100 for the room. i would maybe stay again but would be wary and asking about my room view. i think you should be told of this when booking. we went for tea to mariachis mexican just up from the hotel which is by far the best mexican i have ever came across. we never ate at the restaurant so cant review that.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amber412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We stay in this hotel every year just before New Year & never have any problems. The odd blip re no hot water etc but never anything to put us off going back.
However, this year we were put in a superior room & it was much smaller than any other rooms we have ever had. It was so cold I had to ask for a heater in the room. This was brought really promptly but wouldn’t reach into the bathroom which was unbearably cold. There was no way you could shower in the bathroom, you could practically see your own breath !!

The staff as always are brilliant but I cannot bare the cold & this has really put me off going back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllybScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I managed to get a hotel room for £70, which I thought was very good value. It was clean and modern with an excellent bathroom. The TV was not a new flat screen, but it was quite adequate. The hotel staff were tremendously helpful. The location is absolutey superb.

Just went to the restaurant for breakfast - the food was pretty average, so I wouldn't recommend dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyTequila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

We stayed in the Apex City Hotel for a weekend before Christmas. The hotel is perfectly located a couple of minutes walk from the Royal Mile, on the old side of the city. Edinburgh castle towers over the lovely area of grassmarket where the hotel is situated. I have been to this hotel twice, and the staff have always been friendly. You get the odd member of staff who isn't as good as the others, but this is common with most hotels. There was a bit of noise in the evening though from a party going on in the bar. When i rang down to reception about this i was told that they couldn't really turn it down too much, although they did lower the level of the sound slightly. Otherwise the hotel was perfect, and i'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conorm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,738 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,712 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £69 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing