We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, modern hotel in great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #38 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Aust
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice, modern hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

This hotel is in such a great location - across for some nice italian restaurants and traditional pubs, short walk to Royal Mile and the castle. Didn’t need public transport at all. Not sure why everyone is saying the rooms are small - we booked a standard room and it was spacious - queen bed, 2 armchairs, a desk etc. Heaps of room! Room was clean, modern and very quiet. Nice big bathroom. Service is the bar downstairs was really good. Friendly and polite. We used the free wireless with our our laptop which worked fine. Nice touch for a hotel to actually give you internet for free! All in all a good spot to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    960
    220
    67
    15
See reviews for
277
1,241
71
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

We chose the Apex after reading several reviews and looking at their website. We booked via last minute and got a deal for a double room.
The room is small but fine for a couple and good size bathroom. All the usual stuff in the room. Breakfast wasn't included in the price of the room so we had to pay extra. Normal price is £13 but we were offered £10 per person deal when we checked in. It's quite expsensive not really worth it, if hadn't paid at check in i'd have gone to a local cafe. Good location and pub across the road the last drop has a good atmosphere. Would stay there again , but next time take laptop as they offer free wireless in rooms.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curnisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Friendly staff. Room was fine although the view was none existent. Liked the separate shower and bath. Breakfast was included in the price and was good, especially the smoked haddock. Hubby thought room size was good (he was in New York last year and the rooms there are tiny), I however had been spoilt by a visit to Manchester in October and being given an upgrade but overall the room was a good size. Small things to find fault with - a tiny chip in the sink and paintwork not finished off particularly well. Good things - bottled water supplied (no charge), very comfortable beds. Efficient and polite service. Excellent location. Castle can be seen from the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nels35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

Booked this hotel with octopus travel and got an amazing bargain for 3 nights and full breakfast £100!
Could not fault hotel, location, value, staff! Def recommend to any1 after
much looking around you can't go wrong here!
Amazing!
X

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amybabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a Valentines treat, costing 95 for room only which i think is about wee bit above average pric, but average for a 4star. Hotel has a fab location, right in the middle of the grassmarket, round the corner from the royal mile and a easy 15 min walk to princess street, but the best highlight off the hotel is the view of the castle which can be seen from the hallways of every floor. We had a view of the castle from out room(301).

Our room wasnt the largest, quite tight infact, however it was clean, modern, and had all the amenities u needed, even bottled water and bisuits and hot chocolate!!! The size of the bathroom definately compensates for the small room, our room had a seperate bath and huge walk in shower, but wasnt very powerful unless u had it on ice cold!! beds are large and comfy for a good nights sleep, but there seemed to be an irrating noise from the air con...?? im just been picky...

and on that, my last quibble was the service from staff...not what i expected from readin reviews of friendly, excellent staff...they werent rude or unfriendly...just...dry...maybe its coz im Glaswegien...who knows...but i would defo stay here again but only if i got a room with a view....:)

There is parkin and leisure facilities at the Apex international which is literally 5 steps from Apex city...we never ate in the hotel so can not comment on food...

i have to mention a little cafe called SX, its just off the royal mile, next to pizza hut...does theee best ever coffee i have tasted and theyre staff are excellent.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weexdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURREY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

Stayed here for Valentines weekend, staff were welcoming and friendly, rooms spacious,clean and well equipped. Breakfast was great we ate far too much and didn,t eat again until the evening.
Fantastic location we walked all weekend and didn't need to worry about taxis' or buses.
Would definately recommend!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNDADEVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

Excellent location.Plenty of eating/drinking venues near.Staff at reception extremely helpful and pleasant particularly the guy from South Africa. Room lovely ,clean,well designed.all neccessities in it. Bathroom fine ,bath very small but shower excellent. Breakfast dreadful. We had the full scottish breakfast at 9.15am. It was so reheated that the beans were burned into the plate and we had to let it cool down for 5 mins before we would eat it. Rashers like cardboard. If they charged £5 maybe, but £13.50 for a very poor breakfast. We would not have minded paying £13.50 if it was a good breakfast. With the result we did not go near the dining room for the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,160 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, this contemporary hotel has 122 stylish rooms. Designed for comfort, rooms include HD widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include Agua Bar and Restaurant, event space for up to 80 delegates, use of leisure facilities a few doors away at Apex International including pool and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing