We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruthless & Unfair Billing Policies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #41 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Bottom Line: There are many other centrally located hotels and rental apartments in Edinburgh, so I do NOT recommend risking Apex City Hotel's billing practices.

PROs: The Apex City Hotel is located between all the top tourist attractions, restaurants, bars, and clubs. We loved the free internet and free computers. The rooms were nicely sized and well kept. The furniture was a little dated and worn. The reception staff were very nice, professional, and accommodating.

CONs: The reservation staff are ruthless. We booked our 2 night stay prior to starting our trip and turned down their offer to book a third night at half price. During our trip, we decided to stop at Edinburgh a night sooner. Apex City Hotel referred us to their offsite reservation staff to the book the extra night. (Weird that they can't do it at the hotel, but ok.) We called and were disappointed that the reservation staff would no longer offer us the third night at half price. Moreover, we found out AFTER we got home that they treated our addition of an extra night as a modification to our reservation and charged us $64!! We never authorized this charge. I learned of it for the first time when reviewing my credit card statement.

After several emails with their reservation staff, they are standing behind their charge. I couldn't believe it! We paid $455.96 for three nights at their hotel (not including the $64 charge)....in the OFF SEASON. I can't imagine what they charge during peak season. And I really can't imagine why they felt entitled to charging us for "modifying" our reservation by adding a night. We didn't get the rescinding of the third night at half off deal....but found the "modification" fee for wanting to stay a third night absolutely ridiculous. I had to contest the charge with VISA.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. I can assure you that I will ask the manager at our central reservations office to contact you immediately. As your booking was made through a 3rd party website and the special offer for a third consecutive night was their own promotion, we would have been unable to match the price. Rest assured however that our reservations manager will fully investigate any additional charges once she has spoken to you.

I am pleased that you otherwise had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciate your kind comments regarding the friendliness of my staff.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,119 - 2,125 of 2,709 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2010

If you want something right in the middle of Edinburgh, then this would be an option. It is a bit of a hike if you take the blue bus from the airport (runs every 10 minutes and is right outside the front door at arrivals) and wouldn't recommend it if you have any walking difficulties.
We like boutique style hotels and this one did not disappoint. I had asked for a nice room, as it was a bit of a special occasion and found we had been up-graded to a Superior Double, free of charge. Our window opened out onto the Grassmarket, giving us an uninterrupted view of Edinburgh Castle.
The staff were absolutely superb. Suki at reception, Craig and Tiffany in the bar, Izthair, Francis and everyone else in the restaurant, the housekeeping and maintenance guys, everyone was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was super - we managed to get three nights, with breakfast for less than Hotels.com, by booking directly with the hotel.
However, the big drawback is the noise. On the first night, we were kept awake until 4 am and 3.30 am on the following two nights - all due to the very late night revellers and this is why we've deducted two points for sleep quality and one for location.
If you are a sound sleeper, or late night reveller, then you'll be fine and you'll be literally five minutes stroll from the Royal mile.
If you like Italian food, then we'd recommend Gennaro's - directly across from the hotel, or La Rusticana in Cockburn (pronounced Coburn) Street. For a traditional lunch, the Dome, opposite the George Hotel is good, as is The Hub, the big black church just before you approach the Castle. The Hog Roast Rolls looked delicious in Victoria Street - we just never managed to get back before they sold out!
If you want to do the tourist bit, then get the rover ticket from the sightseeing buses next to Princes Street Mall. The tickets last for 24 hours and you can hop on and off as often as you like during this time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarneyMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

This hotel was clean and modern. The hotel more than exceeded my expectations. The hotel won me over with there extra ammenities, such as, in-room tea kettle, selections of tea, coffee, cookies, complimentry water and sparkling water bottles, Universal DVD player, and even an Easter Card and chocolate egg for my son. The stainless steel pool in your hotel next door was warm and clean. The sauna and gym were a nice start and ending to our long touring days. The location allowed us to look at the castle each morning and was only a short walk down to the city center and train station. Thanks once again for your top notch service and facilities!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsTravelDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Stayed for 3 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and very comfy with a lovely view of the castle.
Hotel is located in the old town of Edinburgh which was ideal for visiting all the attractions on foot.
Got a great deal on "Hotel club" £153 for 3 nights in double room.
Could not fault this hotel and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebbledash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Well we got off at Edinburgh Airport and got the Bus to the City Centre. From the Bus Stop the hotel in GrassMarket was abit of a puzzle to find, but we did get there before their check in time and we were checked in straight away... This was great! we got to our room which was clean, nicely set out bit on the small side but perfect for us, and we loved it! we made the most of the City the hotel and everything around it!

We went for 3 days and this hotel was perfect for sightseeing, eating, shopping you name it! The walls were abit thin so we could hear our neighbours but the over all abience of the hotel was perfect that we will definately be visiting again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We got a good deal online for this one, book two nights and get a third free which was pretty good. It is in a good location near to the castle in the old part of the city, walking distance from everything...in fact we stayed for three nights and never once got a taxi!(plenty of hills and steps around though)
The staff were nice and friendly, Hotel itself was very clean and quiet, despite our room being on ground level next to a road. The room was quite big with tv, hairdryer, kettle, armchairs, huge bed, shower, bath and even a rubber duck in there too!!
The bar downstairs is modern and quiet enough, got a few nice cocktails in there but we didnt sample the food as there were so many nice restaurants in the area.
Also the gym and leisure complex is located just a few doors down in their sister hotel 'the international' , so it is not on the premises.
Overall we had no problems, no fuss and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devlio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Room was spacious and clean. Really bad view of back alley. Noise travels easily from hallway and other rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walter6504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,746 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,722 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £69 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing