We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #39 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Stayed in this hotel when in Edinburgh for my partner's birthday weekend over halloween. Arrived early 8.30am and asked to leave our bags. Instead the receptionist said that as there were no rooms available of the type that we had booked therefore she would upgrade us to a more superior room.
Once we went upstairs to the room the cleaner was still in there so we had to wait for another room to be prepared, not really a problem. We waited in the lounge area and at least 3 staff came to see if we were ok and to apologise which we thought was extremeley nice. After 10 mins we were in our new room just after 9am (ish) droped the bags and were reafy to explore, even though check in wasn't until 2pm (?).
Over the course of the weekend we found the staff really friendly and helpful.
The hotel itself is extremeley well located and well presented.
Highly reccomended if anyone is thinking about going up to Edinburgh

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

Dear Guest

I was very pleased to read that we were able to accommodate your early check in request and that you found my staff friendly and helpful. Although we advertise a check in time of 2.30pm we always do our best to accommodate early arrivals and I am glad we could assist on this occasion.

Thank you for your kind review.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,540)
There are newer reviews for Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,917 - 1,923 of 2,540 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2010

Stayed here with a large group on a weekend in the city and was extremely pleased with the hotel itself and the quality of the service. Would definitely recommend people to stay here for the fantastic location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCTravellers36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. As always it is good to read that our guests have enjoyed their visit. I do hope that you have a chance to come back and stay with us again in the future.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

My partner and I stayed here for a 3 day city trip. We had booked it through lastminute.com and got a great deal which we were very happy about. Unfortunately, one of the drawbacks was that the flight arrived in Edinburgh very early in the morning. So I emailed the hotel a few weeks in advance and asked if it was possible to check-in early. When I heard nothing back, I called them and was advised that although they could not guarantee it, they would do everything possible to get us an early check in. Now, I work in the industry, I know the pitfalls of making guarantees to customers so I could understand their reluctance but I didn't think it would be a problem seeing as we were arriving off-season and mid-week.

So we arrive up to the hotel at 9am, completely knackered and straight off are told that the room isn't ready yet but they will text us when it is... We were a bit disappointed to say the least but figured we'd go off for a walk, get some breakfast and surely it wouldn't be too long? By 11.30, we hadn't heard anything so thought maybe they'd taken the number down wrong and headed back to the hotel. Room still not ready. When asked if they had any idea when it would be, all we heard back was "we can't guarantee anything until 2.30pm" over and over again. Finally, at 1.30pm, at which point we were nearly seeing things with tiredness, my boyfriend spoke to another receptionist and was presented with the keys straight away! Not a great first impression I have to say!

Apart from the above, the hotel was fine. Tea & coffee making facilities, good shower (although the lack of a shower curtain was a bit strange - more of a wet room than a bathroom!) and a comfortable bed were all gratefully received. The lack of AC was a pain as the rooms did get very stuffy at night (even though it was 2 degrees outside!) and even though it was mid-week, there was a still quite a bit of noise outside so opening a window wasn't really an option. Yes, they did supply earplugs but not very good ones so they didn't block out any noise!

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Right in the heart of the old town, with fabulous views of the castle and lovely pubs and restaurants around, we found it hard to go anywhere else at night. Breakfast is extra in the hotel so we went out each morning and could always find somewhere within 5 mins. Although, don't bother asking reception for any recommendations or directions as you'll only be directed to the Internet upstairs with barely a glance up from the desk!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

Dear Guest

I am sorry we were unable to meet your request for an early check in on this occasion. We always do our best to assist, however, when we are full the night before with lots of guests selecting not to leave until the official departure time of midday it becomes very hard to accommodate. I do hope you will understand and will still stay with us again in the future.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Stayed here with my husband to celebrate my birthday. We were lucky enough to be allcoated a corner room on the Grassmarket with views of Edinburgh Castle. I particularly enjoyed lying in the bath with a glass of wine after a hard days shopping wathching the sunset over the castle. Lovely touches such as Scottish toiletries and fluffy bathrobes - heaven!

Buffet breakfast was very satisfying with lots of options, my husband particularly enjoyed the Eggs Benedict.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AberdeenMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Apex City. I am glad you had a good stay with us and found my staff friendly and helpful. My apologies that you found your room a little warm. I will make sure that my maintenance department review the hotel heating temperature settings immediately.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

stayed here for a quick weekend away for a rugby match/site seeing. for £100, it was a steal! quick walk (and a nice workout!) up to the castle. very friendly staff who really seemed to go out of their way to make us comfortable.
only complaint was that the rooms were kept extremely hot and we had to make sure we kept the window open all day/night and the doors were thin so you could hear people very clearly making their way back from the pub at 3am. not the best hotel sleep ever but for the price, location and staff, a minor detail.
not a half bad hotel bar/breakfast either.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Stayed here for our 1st wedding anniversary, room was clean and spacious. Bed huge! Food brilliant also drink reasonably priced for Edinburgh. Perfect location for Grassmarket and for the Royal Mile. Night shift staff most welcoming! Highly recommended and will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leisa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for selecting the Apex City for your special occasion. I am really pleased that you had a great time with us. Please don't forget us when it comes to celebrating a future wedding anniversary as I will always be pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed at the hotel for a mixture of birthdays and a hen weekend, everything was fabulous from start to finish.

The rooms were beautiful (we had a suite which was one of the nicest I hacve stayed in), if not noisy on an evening, but hey you are in the Grassmarket, if you want peace and quiet, stay on the outskirts of the city.

From our arrival to our departure nothing was too much trouble. Staff were attentive, and all queries were dealt with swiftly. We ate in the hotel on both days we were there and the food was outstanding (we ate in one of Edinburghs top restaurants on the Saturday and I would say the Apex City hotel restaurant beat it hands down), even the breakfasts were fab with a wide menu of options for breakfast.

we used the spa in the next hotel (residents of both hotels could use the spa in the Apex International). It was fine for the time we were there, but there needs to be more seating as there were only two seats in the pool area and this wasnt enough for the party at the time. No complaints on the spa though, a lovely little touch for an hours escape from the hustle and bustle of Edinburgh.

All in all a very pleasant stay in one of the loveliest hotels in Edinburgh. I cannot reccomend the hotel enough. Would I return....in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

Dear Guest

I was really pleased to read your review and that you all had such a good time at your hen party weekend. The Grassmarket is certainly a great location with so many pubs, restaurants and clubs within walking distance. Your comments regarding our restaurant are very much appreciated and I was thrilled to read that we compared favourable against one of Edinburg's top restaurants.

Thanks again for your review.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,524 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,190 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#56 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,657 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,537 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £75 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing