We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly and accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sherwood Guest House
Ranked #35 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly and accommodating”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a short city break to visit all the tourist attractions in Edinburgh. The b&b is around a 25 minute walk to the main attractions, however just outside is a bus stop with regular services. The greeting we received was warm and welcoming but not over baring. The room was quite small but everything you needed was in there. The drink and self service area in the bedroom had a fantastic selection with nice touches such as toffee's and biscuits. The only point to improve would possibly be modernising the bedroom - this is a personal taste point as the room was immaculately maintained. The breakfast was second to none with a fantastic selection. The croissants were the biggest I have seen. The hosts were again very tentive but not hovering. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this establishment. Thanks James & Sarah

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. Sorry for taking so long to respond but it has been hectic of late. Please come back anytime. Susan & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    47
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
70
120
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with my family of four as this was our third visit to Scotland mainly Edinburgh to attend to the Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo to see our friends from Malta to take part in the tattoo.

Tha Wallace Pipes & Drums.

Sherwood Guest House and Excellent place to stay, friendly staff and very clean. Definetly to be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSTR1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. You folks were the lovliest guests to cater for. Dave & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were in Edinburgh during the festival and the location was excellent. We are Orthodox Jews and also wanted to be close to the only synagogue - which this B&B is. The owners, Susan and David, were extremely accommodating to our needs in terms of providing us with something we could eat for breakfast; also with lighting candles and hiding our keys on Shabbos. The only drawback is that our room was very small and that the Guest House doesn't have a place where one can just sit and relax/read, which we missed very much on Shabbos. (The room is basically only big enough for the bed.) In terms of parking, there are only three spaces in front of the house so if you get back late, you have to find street parking around the corner and then be out by 8:30 to buy a ticket at the meter (make sure you have the right coins).

Sam B

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opabech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was our second stay at the Sherwood, which was highly recommended to us by a friend in Edinburgh. We find the premises elegant and well-maintained, and the rooms clean, comfortable, and well-appointed. The rooms and bathrooms are converted from Georgian rooms, so a triple like ours is a bit close but not crowded, and the bathrooms small but efficient, with all of the supplies one could want. The breakfast service is probably the best we've encountered in a guest house, whether one wants a cold cereal, a continental breakfast, or one of several hot choices offered from the kitchen. Hosts Susan and bare-foot David are present and helpful at all times, without hovering, and the house is conveniently located on a main bus line only a few minutes from the city centre. A great value if you're staying in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you. it is nice to be appreciated. Susan nags me constantly to wear shoes but once an old hippie its difficult to change. come back anytime guys, we'd love to see you
dave & sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived late, but the host was there to warmly meet and greet us. Location of this B&B is great, just walking distance from city centre. Breakfast is an ample and continental style, so no hot dishes. Our room was clean (except for the bathroom fan) and adequately appointed, but somewhat cramped as a result of transforming a single room into a 3 person room with a bath. Our room had one very nice double bed and one less nice bed, where you could feel the springs coming through, but probably ok for a light child. Overall good, but perhaps a little pricey for the standard offered.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smbjerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My wife, adult daughter, and I stayed at the Sherwood Guest House for 4 nights in June 2013. We were immediately struck by the simple elegance of the house. Our triple room was beautifully made up and the room had plenty of space. The bathroom, although small, was functional and smartly organized. The breakfast room was elegantly set and we thoroughly enjoyed the variety of breakfast foods offered. David and Susan were wonderful hosts, attending to our needs and regaling us with stories of their adventures as hoteliers. We couldn't have been happier with our stay and plan to stay there again on our next visit.

Bruce and Corinne, Germany

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. you guys were a delight to have stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashkelon, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We state at the sherwood guest house for 6 nights. Exept for the very small room the first 3 nights,the place is wonderful .you feel at home. Susan and David the owners, are wonderful,helpful,make you feel at home. Breakfest is great especially for us
because we eat kosherfood. They help as much as possible.They make you feel
at home. We definitly recommend the sherwood gust house in Edinburgh

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eli1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
The Salisbury Hotel
#89 of 148 in Edinburgh
819 reviews
The Thrums Edinburgh
#287 of 393 in Edinburgh
187 reviews
Highfield Guest House
#38 of 393 in Edinburgh
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barony House
#3 of 393 in Edinburgh
689 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 393 in Edinburgh
751 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 393 in Edinburgh
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Guest House

Property: Sherwood Guest House
Address: 42 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 2BR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Sherwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing