We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sherwood Guest House
Ranked #26 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife, daughter and I spent four days at Sherwood Guest House in October and would certainly recommend it. Susan and David were very helpful indeed and went out of their way to find bus details, order a taxi and give us other details we needed to know as first time visitors to Edinburgh.
The room was large and was cleaned properly every day. Cost was moderate and we certainly felt we had value for our money.
Breakfast was very good.
We would stay there again if visiting Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest room in the hoose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voxviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you. You guys were a delight to have. Let us know if you ever plan to return Susan & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    46
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
68
117
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I had a lovely stay here at the Family run guest house. I was at a conference and still hadn't checked in by 10pm, I rang and it wasn't a problem at all. They were so accommodating. When I arrived at 10.30pm I was greeted and shown to my room. My room was lovely and warm, spotlessly clean and felt Cosy. The breakfast was great. And I would definitely go back with my partner or recommend this to others. It's good for conferences at the John McIntyre centre also (it's just round the corner). I felt really comfortable and nothing was a bother for either of the owners, both husband and wife were lovely and for a single travelling female (28) feeling safe and welcome was a big thing for me!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. Please come back anytime and we'll do our best to ensure you enjoy your return visit as much as your first. Thanks again Susan & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I had an absolutely lovely stay with David and Susan! The bed was comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathroom was small, but perfectly equipped. But really, a good B&B is about so much more than the room, and David and Susan excel at customer service and providing a comfortable and warm atmosphere. Susan knew we had an early start our second day, and was kind enough to not only pack us breakfast, but lunch as well! We were so touched that she took the time to see to our needs. We loved our time in Edinburgh, and it was made just that much better by having such a comfortable place to stay! My husband was smitten by Scotland, and we look forward to returning to Sherwood House in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburghsherwood, Manager at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thanks for a lovely review. Its really great that our wee effort are appreciated. Come back anytime
best wishes Susan & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have just spent two nights at the Sherwood Guest House and cannot say enough good things about my stay. The room was wonderfully comfortable with a beautiful bathroom and amazing shower. There was a large variety of tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc. provided in the room and the fridge was an added bonus. The hosts were kind enough to provide a packed breakfast to accommodate an early start one morning but the breakfast provided in the dining room was great. Huge choice of cereal, fruit, yogurt, breads, cheeses and meats with additional bagels, crumpets, waffles offered as well. I would have no hesitation in booking this guest house again if I ever return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpiderMonkey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. Please come back anytime. Susan & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Wonderful, friendly staff. Cozy rooms (complete with tea, coffee and kitkats!). Delicious varied breakfast. A great place to stay, 15min walk from the centre, quiet in the evening. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah374travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. Please come back anytime. Susan & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a short city break to visit all the tourist attractions in Edinburgh. The b&b is around a 25 minute walk to the main attractions, however just outside is a bus stop with regular services. The greeting we received was warm and welcoming but not over baring. The room was quite small but everything you needed was in there. The drink and self service area in the bedroom had a fantastic selection with nice touches such as toffee's and biscuits. The only point to improve would possibly be modernising the bedroom - this is a personal taste point as the room was immaculately maintained. The breakfast was second to none with a fantastic selection. The croissants were the biggest I have seen. The hosts were again very tentive but not hovering. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this establishment. Thanks James & Sarah

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. Sorry for taking so long to respond but it has been hectic of late. Please come back anytime. Susan & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with my family of four as this was our third visit to Scotland mainly Edinburgh to attend to the Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo to see our friends from Malta to take part in the tattoo.

Tha Wallace Pipes & Drums.

Sherwood Guest House and Excellent place to stay, friendly staff and very clean. Definetly to be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSTR1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. You folks were the lovliest guests to cater for. Dave & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Salisbury Hotel
The Salisbury Hotel
#77 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#35 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Thrums Edinburgh
The Thrums Edinburgh
#296 of 389 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dene Guest House
Dene Guest House
#20 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheridan Guest House
Sheridan Guest House
#22 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#37 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Guest House

Property: Sherwood Guest House
Address: 42 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 2BR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sherwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing